We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cosy cottage, wonderful experiece”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Perfect stay. Pleasantly surprised. Cottage was clean and spacious. Good spot for relaxation. The location is superb. Friendly staff. Reasonable priced. Would stay again. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Markland for 3 nights of 5 while visiting Cape Breton. Not far to Ingonish or Cheticamp - we travelled easily to both to golf and hike. It was early June so we got the low season rate which made it very affordable.

The continental breakfast was fruits, breads, cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee/tea/juice. The owner made something special each morning, always different - omelettes, bacon/eggs, pancakes. It was much more than we expected. We had dinner one evening, fresh halibut that was perfectly prepared.

We stayed in a log room. Gorgeous view of the ocean and a short walk to the beach. Our room was simple, clean and comfortable. Queen bed, love seat, small desk, bathroom, vaulted ceiling. There's no tv but if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway we recommend the Markland. Wi-fi worked well. We hope to visit again sometime!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Don't let first impressions fool you. Your first view of the Markland, from the parking lot, is less than stunning. But, this little gem of a resort, tucked off the Cabot Trail in the hamlet of Dingwall, Cape Breton, has a lot to offer. Not the least of which is the absolutely beautiful grounds and a spectacular beach (on an island with many incredible beaches)!

We had a family reunion at the Markland this past July. We booked it sight unseen. There were twenty of us, and we were not disappointed! There were options of motel-type (log) rooms and cottages - and the prices are very reasonable. The most impressive attribute of this resort, however, is the incredible view.

We had dinner twice in the restaurant, and were impressed by the quality and freshness of the menu offerings. They really made an effort to satisfy all the diners. We really enjoyed having a delicious meal, without having to take time out of our festivities to stop and cook for a group.

There were some shortcomings, but I believe these are growing pains that the new management will address. The pool was needing maintenance when we arrived (liner was damaged, water was cloudy), but my sister-in-law visited later in the summer and said those issues were fixed. The A/C in my parents room was not working (it was 38 degrees Celsius one of the days), and some guests were having issues with keys. I am sure these issues are easy fixes - hopefully they have already been addressed.

One thing to be aware of -- there are no TVs in the rooms at this resort. There may be wifi in the rooms (my son says there was), but I can't say for sure. But, this is a great place to get away from it all, and immerse yourself in the tranquility of an oceanfront property.

We will be back to the Markland this summer!

Room Tip: The log rooms have the best views. The one and two bedroom cottages are modern and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripCaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Markland is well up there on Cape Breton, but we rented a small cabin and it's a wonderful base if you want to explore some of the more unvisited areas of the island. The cabin was comfortable, the small kitchen had what we needed, the staff was friendly, attentive and helpful, and we treated ourselves to a wonderful dinner at the resort before leaving. There is a wonderful beach for swimming and walking and the views are spectacular. You won't stumble upon Dingwall and the Markland by accident, but it's worth your time and effort to make it a destination. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJB-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. We had a log room which was very large and facing the ocean. Food in the evening was fabulous. A walk along the beach was really breathtaking. It is a great location positioned along the Cabot trail.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AneleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked this place because of its location on the cabot trail coupled with good reviews.
We stayed B&B, the cabin was well made, spacious and clean. It faced out over the inlet and away from the prevailing wind.
The food was local and fresh, I had trout sourced locally which was amazing. They bake their own scones for breakfast.
The walk down the beach was great although the weather wasn't all that good but at least it didn't rain on me, on a clear day the view must have been amazing

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy201071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After reading the reviews we booked this place, we were not disappointed. The cottages are rustic cabin style with lots of storage, a full kitchen complete with oven, dishes, pots and pans etc. Clean, with comfy beds and a high pressured shower (perfect after a long ride through the trail) We woke to the most amazing sunrise on their private beach. Quiet and clean, a perfect hidden gem!

Room Tip: If there are only 2 of you just over nighting than a one bedroom cottage maybe more than you need, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Haligal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
14.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
54.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
57.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
7.3 mi away
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
#1 of 1 in Bay St. Lawrence
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages

Address: 802 Dingwall Road | P.O. Box 47, Dingwall, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Markland Coastal Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range: £59 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Markland Coastal Hotel Dingwall
Markland Coastal Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing