We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel(Bay St. Lawrence)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornerstone Motel(Cheticamp)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert's Motel(Cheticamp)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
212
83
19
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
83
19
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog roomprivate beachcontinental breakfasthalibutcabot trailcape bretondining roomnova scotiaremote locationshort walksconesmeat covefabulous foodbeautiful view of the oceanstayed longeron site restaurantsized bed
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Location is the most important thing the Markland has going for it. Under new ownership for a few years, some much-needed improvements have been made and continue to be planned. Nevertheless, we noted a few things that needed to be fixed in our "log room". However, nothing could overshadow the pleasure of being right by the ocean.
We ate at the restaurant twice. The first time, the food was wonderful; the second time it was decidedly mediocre. But as this is a review of the hotel rather than the restaurant, I'm still giving it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first trip to Nova Scotia. We traveled on motor cycles in a group of 10 (6 bikes). The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights in the cabins facing the ocean. Absolutely beautiful view and also very clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent!! We had some of the best food here! Fresh Halibut and fresh scallops! We also enjoyed the complimentary "continental breakfast." If you are heading to Dingwall or anywhere near the north part of Cape Breton stay here you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: No televisions in guest rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived the evening that Hurricane Arthur was to arrive. Not only was the staff welcoming and efficient as other reviewers have noted, they went out of their way to let us know the ways they had prepared should the hurricane cause damage. Fortunately it by passed us and we were able to enjoy area kayaking as well as the special meals Pat prepared. We appreciated all the attention to details that made the stay here so special. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you are renting a cottage ask for the best water view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DorothyArm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, beautiful views, wonderful atmosphere and the food is amazing. Prices are also very reasonable. Had the halibut literally caught from the water I saw from our table and it had to be the freshest fish I've ever tasted. Will be recommending friends come here if they are ever through this area. Bravo!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DoctorLivingstone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

It's first time I stayed in Dingwall, or in north part of Cape Breton. Actually it turned to be a wonderful experience. The cottages are located in the Dingwall fishing village, facing the north ocean.

The beach was stunningly beautiful; I discovered some nice rocks :). The restaurant was a true surprise, because the seafood there was better than many restaurants in cape Breton area.

Overall it's a pleasant stay. Staffs were friendly and we are definitely going back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dandan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews