We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de la Riviere
Ranked #1 of 6 Esperaza B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Esperaza and its immediate surroundings are a dream. Roy and Jo are the perfect hosts and all the rooms are beautiful. Walking, cycling and fun on the river in the heat of the day was met by the very warm welcome and Roy offering cold beer or a glass of Rose on our return. Quite exceptional. The perfect B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

As well as agreeing with what others have said about large rooms, good location, modern bathrooms, etc., I'd like to add that one of the real benefits to me was the knowledge of the area that Jo and Roy are willing to share.

Their information, for instance, about Resistance activities in the region gave my visit, and my hiking, a new and important dimension.

When I get the opportunity to do so (not easy for someone living in South Carolina), I plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caromex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Stayed here while visiting nearby Rennes-le-Chateau. The building is exquisite, tons of personality, with a great location right on the town square, and a regular street market just outside the door. The "Table d'Hotes" was excellent, both for the food served and the conversation with the hosts, who were well acquainted with the legends and lore of the area.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank GamerGirl-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This was our first visit to the area and the location was spot on.
Roy & Jo are perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank we_get_around038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Being a regular to the area, we were on one of our scheduled visits.

We really enjoyed the stay at La Maison de la Riviere. The rooms are excellent, as is the breakfast. You couldn't ask for more .....

I would definately recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This family holiday to this beautiful scenic region of France was made extra special due our wonderful hosts Jo and Roy. We could not find fault with this welcoming, comfortable and relaxing hotel/guest house. Everything we could need was available, great breakfast's, local maps, internet access, picnic accessories, etc. Our hosts knowledge of the local area was really helpful in enabling us to really enjoy our time away and relax. Also, a definite highlight was Jo's wonderful evening meal!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry_jd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts, with good local knowledge. Lovely spacious room with balcony/flowers overlooking river. Village location with historical interest/museums. Free parking available nearby. Central for sightseeing mountain areas and gorges, with quite breathtaking scenery. Breakfast and dinner to be recommended. Good food and excellent service. Would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Maison de la Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de la Riviere

Address: 29 quai Jean Jaures | Esperaza, 11260 Esperaza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Esperaza
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Esperaza
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison de la Riviere, a classic "Maison de Maitre", is situated in the peaceful village of Esperaza, nestled in the foothills of the Pyrenees, 40km south of Carcassonne. The house was constructed in the mid-19th century and has been tastefully restored to its original splendour with many of the original period features preserved, giving the house a grand, yet warm character. The accommodation is excellently located for parking, access to amenities and regional attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Maison de la Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing