We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison de la Riviere
Ranked #1 of 6 Esperaza B&B and Inns
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best In Area”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

This was my first visit to this area of France. Having only 4 days (far too few,) I decided to stay in Esperaza as it's central to the area with a good road network to all areas of interest and yet is set far enough away from the main highway for the village to retain its charm.
What a find 'La Maison de la Riviere' was. Spotlessly clean with large well-furnished rooms (all en-suit), and endless cups of coffee (of tea) pastries and breads for breakfast. This B&B’s location just off the main square and across from the village church was ideally located with ample parking.
The owners were both very friendly and an endless mine of information about anything to do with the area.
Enjoyed every minute of my stay here and was worth every penny.

Cheers

Phil

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
34
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Taking advantage of a 4-day weekend in Barcelona, we came to Esperaza for a rest and to get away from the heat back home. We couldn't have asked for better weather; there was a bit of rain, a bit of cool, some wonderful wind, incredible clouds and lots of sun. Also, there is so much to see in the area, that after numerous trips here, we still haven't seen it all.

However, this B&B is what made this trip extra special. Jo & Roy couldn't be more gracious, hospitable and knowledge about the area, it's history and legends. Dinner on Friday evening began with a glass of blanquette in the parlor: Actually, the wonderful smells wafting up from the kitchen had been teasing us all afternoon and when we did sit down at the table we weren't disappointed. Clearly a lot of attention was paid in preparing the meal but also, the ingredients, from the fresh local vegetables to the perfectly roast meat, were first rate. Some of the guests had a postprandial card game but my pillow was calling. It was only 10:30; I can't remember the last time I went to bed so early.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank juzybcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2008

If you have the very good fortune to spend time in the Languedoc and you are as fascinated by the Cathars as we were avoid Carcassone and stay in the center of it all: Esperaza. Not a lot of accommodation choice in Esperaza but you will be very comfortable in La Maison de la Riviere. Try to get a room in the back overlooking the owners patio garden, it is prettier and quieter. All the rooms we saw had ensuite with good showers. Met lots of other friendly travellers, mostly Brits, but the highlight is your host and hostess. They have a great knowledge of the area (listen to them when they hedge on Andorra!!) and serve up a wonderful Franglais Breakfast. Their new, in July, puppy provided lots of fun entertainment as did a quiet glass of wine in the late afternoon with our hosts on our second evening. We had a great stay in the area and in no small part it was because of where we were laying our heads at night...ENJOY!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyraff63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2008

The Maison de la Riviere is simply a fantastic place to stay if you are in this part of the country. It is a beautiful property which overlooks the river Aude, and the hosts Jo & Roy can't do enough for you. They are both incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about the local area, its history and attractions, and they always took the time to help us with things like route planning, maps, where to eat, etc. We have visited twice now, and the level of service Jo and Roy have given us has been magnificent. Our rooms were extremely pretty and comfortable (see photos) with wooden flooring, tasteful furniture, great en-suite, and unbelievable views! (River Aude, town square, Rennes-le-Château, etc.) They have a computer with internet access which they let us use at any time (for free!) Breakfast is lovely and the hosts are always ready to top up your glass in the evenings!
We found the town of Esperaza itself very pretty in both summer and winter, and it has a wonderful market every Sunday morning (very nice and French-cheeses, meats local wines etc.) The town is well situated in the heart of Cathare country, and is also within easy reach of several beautiful lakes (which we loved this time as the weather was so hot!) The Walled City in Carcassonne was our highlight-amazing! must see it!
This Chambres d'hôtes is fantastic value for money and we really can't recommend it highly enough! (we have stayed in hotels that are twice the price and half as pretty). We are already planning our next trip!

  • Liked — The quality of service, food, cleanliness & quality of the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

If you are intending to come to this area of France, you will not be dissappointed by booking this hotel. The hotel is in a lovely village with all amenities and is very central to all the attractions. The property is beautiful, decorated very thoughtfully, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Jo and Roy are always very helpful and have many suggestions of where and what to do in the area. Jo cooks a splendid and delicious meal in the evening including starter, main, dessert, cheese and biscuits, coffee and all the wine you can drink. We found this extremely good value for money.

  • Liked — Everything was perfect
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank madowninguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We stayed for a long weekend and I would definately go back for longer next time! The property itself is wonderful, with high ceilings, original features and works of art on every wall. The food was excellent and very good value for money. The hosts, Jo and Roy, were friendly, accomodating and knowledgable about the surrrounding area and its history. There is a great market in Esperaza itself on Sundays and there are plenty of things to keep you occupied - Cathar castles, walking, pony trekinig etc etc. I shall be booking my next trip very soon!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Red80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Simply a lovely property in a lovely town; the owners could not be more accommodating, and their chambre d'hote could not offer more.

Comfortable, friendly and warm. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esperaza
1.9 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
4.5 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#2 of 3 in Quillan
149 reviews
8.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
35 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison de Chapelier
La Maison de Chapelier
#3 of 6 in Esperaza
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de la Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de la Riviere

Property: La Maison de la Riviere
Address: 29 quai Jean Jaures | Esperaza, 11260 Esperaza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Esperaza
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Esperaza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison de la Riviere, a classic "Maison de Maitre", is situated in the peaceful village of Esperaza, nestled in the foothills of the Pyrenees, 40km south of Carcassonne. The house was constructed in the mid-19th century and has been tastefully restored to its original splendour with many of the original period features preserved, giving the house a grand, yet warm character. The accommodation is excellently located for parking, access to amenities and regional attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Maison de la Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing