We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous old French House!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison de Chapelier
Ranked #4 of 5 Esperaza B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fabulous old French House!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Built in 1923 it still has the original fittings and windows. The room and bathroom was excellent and we had use of a loungroom with a wide selection of DVD's to watch if we chose to. I had WiFi too. It was hard to find because the house numbers are wrong in the street and it looks abandond from the Front, but if i had have remembered the picture from the website when we booked it there would have been no problem. When we drove past the house (on our way to number 7) we both drew in our breath and wished we were staying there........my husband started door knocking when we didn't get any response from number 7 and we struck an english lady who explained the street numbers are wrong and that, in fact, were looking for that grand old house on the corner. What a bonus!! the hosts are very accomodating and the breakfast was wonderful, AND they have a heated swimming pool. Reccommend this house

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aussieschrislora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

A very welcoming B&B! Had troubles finding the right house because I had forgotten the name of the place, drove by it several times without actually seeing the huge sign in front of the house (there is also three number 7 on the same street, for some reason..). A quick phone call to Andy solved that problem though. The property has a nice little pool in the backyard and the surroundings are very quiet. The hosts are dedicated, breakfast is great and this B&B offers great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jnshmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Hello.

We stayed in early September and really enjoyed our time at the house. The rooms were perfect for what we needed, our hosts were great, as was the breakfast.

Perfectly suitable and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

Despite the fact I had previously made a reservation, and I also made a phone call to let them know i was arriving a some hours late (had problems in Carcassonne), nobody answer my calls on the front door. I was left outside with my family (including two little kids) in the middle of the night, under the rain. The morning after, these people send me an e-mail complaining because I didn´t came !!! They had never listened to the messages I left on the phone, nor listened to my calls in the front door ! That night was a nightmare a will not forget.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chau-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseeeee, Owner at La Maison de Chapelier, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
We are sorry for this families unfortunate experience and we are even sorrier for their children.

This familly called to say they would arrive in the evening. We gave up waiting at 1am as we were unable to contact them.

We assumed, as happens quite often with people who book rooms but haven't paid in advance, that they had found other accommodation without informing us.

When we received our messages the next day there was one at 4am to say they were outside. We did not hear them at the door. If we had heard them of course we would have helped them.

4 am is too late to arrive at a b&b. We have other guests to consider and do not operate like a hotel We don't accept guests throughout the night. If the customer had let us know he was going to arrive at 4am we would have advised him to seek other accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

We turned up at the door of this place after seeing their website. We didn't ring ahead being low season and they were actually closed but it was late and they opened up a bedroom for us and couldn't have been friendlier.

The house is a gem located in the middle of a small village. It has a large garden and pool (we didn't try it out as it had ice on it!)
and we ended up staying for 3 nights.

We will definately go back there... hopefully in the summer next time.

  • Liked — The wood panelling and the fire in the dining room
  • Disliked — No dinner served
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lucy999London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esperaza
1.7 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
4.6 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.0 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Belle Maison
La Belle Maison
#2 of 5 in Esperaza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison de la Riviere
La Maison de la Riviere
#1 of 5 in Esperaza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.5 mi away
Les Marguerites
Les Marguerites
#1 of 3 in Alet les Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Chapelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Chapelier

Property: La Maison de Chapelier
Address: 7 rue Elie Sermet | Aude, 11260 Esperaza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Esperaza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Esperaza
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Maison de Chapelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing