We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once in a life time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Crown Levi Igloos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Levi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Once in a life time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Worth every penny.

Utterly speechless when we arrived at the location (late at night) with no lights, but when I got into the igloo, I knew I made the right decision. Kristiina was very helpful in the emails, and the food prepared in the fridge was simple but enjoyable.

It is a whole new experience, beautifully decorated and well-accommodated. It was a very warm, pleasant and comfortable stay (aside from the extreme cold weather outside). Was worried after reading reviews about the insufficient supply of hot water, but turned out to be more than enough for us!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend driving there (secluded location).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    40
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
96
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

After consistent disappointment with a similar place, called Kakslauttanen Igloos (not even in the same league as it turns out), we were extremely fortunate to find the brilliant family run Golden Crown Levi Igloos. From our first conversations with Kristiina we were certain that our time in Levi would be memorable. In contrast to the aforementioned, we knew that we were making the right decision to spend our money (expensive yes, but certainly worth it even if you aren't lucky enough to see the Aurora Borealis).

We stayed in a glass igloo (number 4 is supposedly the best one as it's right on the edge) for one night and then in the utterly incredible northern nights house, also for one night. Both experiences were unforgettable. Not to forget the Kota where we enjoyed roasting sausages and marshmallows.

The views are absolutely breathtaking which can be enjoyed from your own hot tub and sauna, all topped off with family-like service.

I don't think we have had a better romantic holiday than this and I am struggling to imagine how it could be better.

Thank you Kristiina and Marari, we are definitely going to visit you again! and we will be going skiing too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
99 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked the igloo via our tour operator while in the UK. We were picked up from our hotel at 7pm (had time for dinner first) A short minibus transfer (20 minutes) and you arrive at your igloo (only 4 at the moment). Small but really well laid out, nice bathroom with state of the art shower as well as a small kitchenette with hob, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. Breakfast is provided, left in the fridge for you to prepare yourself, the breakfast was adequate. Also tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room.
The bed is electrically controlled, so you can get a perfect view of the night sky, and if you are lucky the northern lights (we were!!).
A couple of chairs and a table at the foot of the bed to sit and relax. There is a CD player in the igloo, the only toiletries supplier was soap.
We were picked up at 10am for return to the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Andy123Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We booked our stay at the Igloos via Inghams as part of our honeymoon. It is very expensive, but was worth the money.

As with all Inghams excursions, we were allocated a pick up time from our hotel to be taken to the igloo. Our pick up was 1900, which I thought was far too late. Considering it cost 400eur for 1 night, I wanted as much time there as possible (we were picked up at 1000 the next morning). I did ask Inghams for an earlier transfer, but as another couple also had an igloo booked, they wouldn’t move the transfer time for us. In the end, we paid the 20eur for a taxi ourselves and got there at about 1700. The other Inghams guests arrived at about 1930.

Going early was the right idea. The igloo had snow & ice on the windows but, as we arrived before sunset, I was able to clear the snow to get a better look at the view. We also had time to have dinner before it got dark and all the action started.

The igloo itself is idyllic luxury. Yes, it's in the middle of nowhere, but that's the point. It's quiet, romantic & you feel like you're the only people there. Whilst I did enjoy this, I’ve seen one too many horror movies and did feel a little vulnerable at times!

There is a small kitchen which we prepared a 3 course meal in and very high tech bathroom. Hot water is limited, but what do you expect in an outhouse up a mountain? The mechanical beds are great fun & very comfortable.

There are some points that could be done better and some things that I think cheapen the experience. 1 of these is the breakfast. Very lacklustre and doesn’t complement the price tag. No shower gel in the shower, just empty containers that look like they've never been used. The miniature bottle of cava in the fridge. Nice touch, but would a full sized bottle cost much more? These are only small points, would cost so little to fix and would really improve that feeling of luxury.

This trip is expensive, but we were so so lucky to see the most spectacular show of Northern Lights which made it worth every penny.

The lights came out about 2100. Faintly at first and getting progressively stronger. These igloos are not designed for sleep, so fill up on caffeine, get the bed in to the right position and soak up the views. From about 2100 til midnight, the lights were wafting about the sky creating green clouds of dust above our heads.

They then quietened off and just sat in the sky until about 0230. Half awake in a caffeine haze, something caught my attention. We both jumped up and for the next hour we were treated to the most magical, alien & incredible sight I have ever seen.

The lights danced across the sky. Curling, spinning, chasing each other across the sky, splitting off, getting brighter & brighter all the time. Both of us were completely lost for words. I even shed a tear! Words simply can’t express the feeling. This was what we had come to Lapland for. This is what we had paid 400eur to see. I'm so glad I wasn’t asleep! I usually stay away from caffeine but it really was my friend that night!

We were lucky. Out of the 7 nights in Levi, our night in the igloo was the coldest & clearest night of the lot. The lights were also forecast to be 3 (moderate) strength, the highest forecast of the week. God only knows what a 6 or a 9 forecast would be like!

This is a once in a life time expense for most people but to see the lights in such a spectacular way will stay with you forever. And, if you don’t see them, make the most of the views across the frozen valley and have fun with the mechanical bed. Just beware that the neighbours can see in!!

Room Tip: If you want to take pics of the lights, you'll need a pretty decent SLR that allows you to open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Selbyjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Stunning location and venue arranged through Inghams. Traveled via a personal taxi. Peaceful , well equipt and luxoriously warm. No northern lights, it was blowing a gale, but we lit a log fire in the Kabutt and had a really great time. The matches are on the right as you walk in and the lights on the left.we used bark as kindling and soon had a roaring flame. Power shower and a small kitchen. The views are unrivelled. A night to be remembered. So glad we booked this and not a night in the ice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandDManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

but i thought i should anyway, to share this amazing experience in the glass igloo...


First the cons:
1. it's located far away from everything... and there's no reception on site, with only 4 igloos, it probably doesn't make much economic sense to have one. you'd have to pick up the keys at the maintenance office somewhere 10-15 minutes drive away. a taxi from Levi center will set you back by around 25 EUR at least, including waiting time at the maintenance office. (if you're planning to self-cater, purchase your groceries at Levi market before setting off for the igloos.)

2. a few things amiss during my stay. the overhead spotlights weren't quite working... or at least couldn't figure out how to turn them on... there was also no soap or shampoo in the dispensers provided in the bathroom.

3. some curious passersby walked right past our igloo and gave me a surprise though they probably didn't even see me sitting by the window due to the lighting (or lack of, from inside). the igloos are not very private. stand up and you can almost see into the next igloo. but you'd know if anyone's driving up to your igloo with the blinding headlights.

4. for equatorial/tropical-zone, city-dwellers like myself, could not figure out how to start the fire in the communal tepee/kota...!!! so left it at that as didn't want to burn down the entire building. some instructions would be very helpful! :)

5. noticed it was rather dusty under the beds... only found out after playing with the beds up and down. no issue if you didn't see it, just rather unsightly if you did while playing with the bed controls. :P apparently, it was not bad enough to set off my rhinitis/sinusitis. everywhere else was spotless. our beds though, weren't quite made as shown on the website. just the white exposed sheets. no big deal, but less of a "Wow"...


and now the pros:
1. located far away from town, so your chances of catching the northern lights are pretty optimal, as well as being located on a fell, facing north... optimizes your chances even more! on our very first night of two, caught the amazing light show while cooking pasta and indulging in some warm glogi and then sitting up in the hospital-bed all night to enjoy at the light show.

2. kristiina and staff were very welcoming, accommodating and certainly responsive. (kiitos! :)) a phone call to find out about the locks, and within 15 mins, sent a staff who drove by to check on us.

3. no TV, no phone, no wifi. in such a magical place, you don't really want these distractions!!!

4. fully-equipped kitchenette... enough utensils and crockery for at least 3 pax. pots and pans, fridge, toaster, microwave, induction stove (2 spots?).

5. remained warm and toasty at 22 deg C while -10 deg C outside... and enjoying the northern lights in comfort (and in shorts and a t-shirt!) this time... in a spacious igloo!

6. nice hot showers in a high-tech-space-shower-cubicle. even has a piped-in radio?! limited water supply, so no long hot showers! 5-minute showers just to be on the safe side. jacuzzi jets rather pointless.

7. the area around the igloos provided a very nice quiet walk, surrounded only by private homes... even spotted a couple of wild reindeer!

8. thoughtful of the owners to install beds that could be adjusted (not rotated as advertised) to sit-up position, or to raise the legs... similar to hospital beds... but so we could actually see the northern lights warm and snug under our covers without straining our necks.

i can't wait to return someday soon to relive this magic...! this place certainly is very expensive, but the experience was certainly comfortable and exclusive. i can only hope it remains this way!

Room Tip: I'd have liked to stay in Igloo #4... away from the main road "entrance"... and possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NikolosSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

An unbelievable experience in the best possible way. Just magical.

Highly recommend for a romantic getaway.

The igloos as the pictures show are of glass construction. The glass is heated so unless it is snowing hard, you generally have a pretty clear view as the heated glass is enough to clear most of the snow.

High up on the fell, overlooking the Valley below. Open views. Incredibly beautiful during our stay there in February 2012.

The bed deserves a special mention. Luxuriously comfortable, king sized. Controls on the side of the bed enable you to position the bed to a comfortable sitting position, making it very easy to relax and take in the views at different angles.

Unfortunately we only spent 2 nights there and only caught a glimpse of the Northern Lights off in the distance during our stay (we missed out by one night) but can imagine when the lights do their thing it would be a fantastic place to view them.

Very clean, amenities were good. Don't expect to be able to throw a party in the room due to space but for us it was perfect, it all added to the experience, bringing the views much closer to us.

Tea/Coffee/milk, and even a breakfast platter were provided.

To break up our time in the igloo, we arranged for a local dog sledding company to collect us on one of our days and took a quick taxi ride to Levi Center for a bit of shopping. We had absolutely no issue with the location. It is far enough away from Levi Center to enjoy the stunning views in peace, yet close enough to quickly access all that Levi Center has to offer if you want to make a trip or experience some of the local activities.

We found it very easy to access taxi's to this location and generally had a taxi arrive within 10 minutes of us calling one.

The Kota hut provides an great experience. My husband and I spent a few hours sipping wine and toasting sausages over the fire. A lovely experience and a great way to either meet new people or catch up with friends who may also be staying.

Excellent value for money and a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: We had the igloo right at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levi
2.6 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 9 in Levi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
2.6 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro
Hotel Hullu Poro
#5 of 9 in Levi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
23.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Crown Levi Igloos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Levi Igloos

Property: Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Address: Harjatie 4, Levi 99130, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Levi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate resort has full service for you with newly opened A'la Carte Restaurant Aurora Sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Crown Levi Igloos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Levin Iglut (Levi Igloos) Hotel Levi
Golden Crown Levi Igloos Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing