We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Star Catered Chalet”
Review of Hotel K5 Levi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel K5 Levi
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Levi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Best accomodation by far that I have ever stayed in.

We booked through Inghams as a group of 12 and paid £420 each for a week fully catered.

Breakfast included cereals, toast, boiled eggs, cheese, ham, jam, yoghurt, and a different hot option each day. A cake was left every day for afternoon tea. Canopes and drink before dinner, three course meal, wine during the meal and coffee and chocolates after.

The chalet hosts lived out and gave us the option to choose what time we wanted breakfast and dinner each day, within reason. They also provided alternative dishes for those people in the group who were particular about what they would eat.

I couldn't fault the accomodation, 3 double/twin rooms with ensuite and 3 sharing a separate bathroom plus two other WCs. Sauna, a communal living and dining area plus a second smaller living area/den, both with TVs. A DVD player and Wii was available for us to use too. A laptop with internet access is provided at the K5 Hotel and there are wired internet points in the chalet.

The only thing I would say is that once the chalet hosts arrive in the morning (30-40mins before breakfast) there is little chance of anyone getting a lie in, especially those staying in the room next to the kitchen.

This is definitely the best place to stay in Levi, especially if you are a group. The main advantage the chalet has over the hotels is that you have your own space to lounge and relax after a day on the slopes. Self-catering can also be expensive in Levi so this was definitely value for money.

We love Levi and have been 5 times now, each time in a different accomodation and if we were to go again we would book the North Star Chalet for a group trip and the Crazy Reindeer Hotel as a couple.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nhfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

our stay in hotel k5 was delightful- our room featured it's own private sauna, which was quite a novelty! the room was also spacious, which a balcony which i'm sure would be lovely when it's not -20! the staff were very friendly and breakfast was delicious (a wide range of hot and cold selections available).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegorbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed in an 8 person apartment for our annual skiing trip. In the past we’ve stayed in self-catering cottages on the outskirts of town but as we were bringing our young son for the first time we thought it best to be closer to the town centre and have the hotels facilities on hand as well as a swimming pool not far away.

The apartments trail out behind the K5 hotel with easy access to all of the hotels facilities. The apartment was comfortable but the bedrooms a little sparse and cramped (especially with our son's cot there).

The self-catering facilities within the apartment were very good, as was the sauna and drying room. The living rooms area was very comfortable.

We thought the hotel itself was a little pricey, especially the drinks but I guess that’s typical in all of the Nordic counties. The Klaani restaurant was surprisingly good and I’d recommend the bear (they also had a smoked horse starter which was a must).
I’d recommend the hotel overall and doubt that I’d stay anywhere else despite the town centre getting lots of much needed tourist development.

If you go in winter for the skiing, I’d add (at the sake of stating the obvious) that the temperature gets brutally cold -25 the norm. While in Levi, its worth taking the time to go out on a Snowmobile safari and also the husky dog safari.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mack-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

This was my second trip to Levi and I'm really glad we chose the K5 Cabins this time. The only way I can describe them is superb, very spacious, very well equipped and fantastically peaceful. Levi is very close to the airport, 15 mins transfer and a small but well equipped village, the K5 cabins are in quiet wooded location a few mins walk from the supermarket and restaurants. 4 good sized bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, roaring fire with plenty of wood, a very nice sauna and large ski locker by the door to keep beer ice cold, you actually need to warm it up because it freezes outside. The village itself has been developed in a very sympathetic way and fits in with the surroundings well. There are a good range of shops and restaurants to suit everyone's budget but some are expensive, you can easily find dinner for 15-20 euros per person including a pint, or spend 4 times that. The slopes suits beginners and relaxed intermediates best, advanced individuals will find it small compared to most alpine resorts but you have the slopes literally to yourself so pounding the piste is possible, the black run under the gondola is not bad and lift 6 has the best options for some tree riding and long steady slopes. I've been skiing and snowboarding for 20 years and still enjoyed Levi's slopes. The great thing about this place is all the other activities which are available like husky rides, snowmobiles, the ice hotel and cross country skiing (never thought I'd say that). The x-country tracks run everywhere through town and the surrounding forests and lakes. It takes a bit of getting used to but I really liked it, such a peaceful way to see the area and swooshing through the forests is actually great fun, it is hard work and just when you think you're doing well and a 70 year old goes past you! They don't call this place the Arctic circle for nothing, it's Baltic :) The weather can be violently cold so wrap up warm on the slopes, the frequent warming huts keep your toes alive and cooking a sausage on the open fire soon takes your mind of the -20 air outside. I've always gone in March or April as there is much more daylight and it tends to be a bit warmer that January. The benefit of the cold is that the snow stays in perfect condition, no ice patches, no moguls, just perfect pistes all day long, all season long... If you stick your head outside at night you might see the northern lights, we went out every night to check and saw it 3 times, we went out onto the lake at the entrance to the village and got a fantastic show and some photos with a DSLR, compacts will not get the shot. I'd highly recommend the K5 cabins and Levi to people looking for a unique experience away from the standard winter holiday destination.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dougiet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed in K5 for 8 nights and were not entirely satisfied.
The hotel facilities are in itself great, but we missed warmth and hospitality.

Hotel K5 is well located, just on the edge of town and all slopes, shops and restaurants are within walking distance. We were there for cross-country skiing and this area is heaven: more than 270 km of well maintained tracks! We started from the hotel every day and not once did the same route! Great service from the hotel is the availability of cross-country skis for free, including boots.

We stayed in a standard room, which is rather basic, except for the whirlpool, which is great! We also appreciated the 2 armchairs and the coffee / tea making facilities. There was no possibility to regulate the heating in the room, as this was managed centrally.

We were surprised that there was daily room cleaning, except on Sundays!! We never experienced this before! Luckily we could get clean towels at the reception.

We had mixed experiences with the restaurant.
Daily breakfast is buffet style with a nice variety, but the waitress is not paying any attention to you, let alone make you feel welcome. We have not exchanged one single smile or word during these 8 days!
There is a lunch buffet as well, which we tried once, but with the same situation: we were left to ourselves without a word.
Dinner is great, also service wise. We had dinner twice in the main restaurant and we also tried the special Saamen Kammi restaurant, which was a great Lappish experience.

Service at the lobby bar was dramatic: no one takes notice of you and once you manage to order something at the bar, you have to carry your drinks to your table yourself.

So, all in all the hotel is lacking service and hospitality, as we were not feeling treated as a guest. With one other exception: the Reception staff was very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Fantastic hotel. Friendly staff. Great food (if you like reindeer - if not, go to the pizza place over the road!).

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank keirving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

When we arrived at kittila it was a balmy -12, and snowing lighty, my first thoughts having never been on a winter holiday was "what are we doing here". It took only 15 mins before we pulled up to the K5, once inside we were checked in very quickly, staff were very helpfull. We had booked ski lesson pack for complete begineers, great value I think. We had to go along to Zero point to collect our boots and skis (note!!, you do need to know the height and weight of each person for suitable kit) Therse are quet cumbersome and are tiring to walk in or drag around. On the Tuesday we decided to pay for storage at Zero Point and found out that children can leave theres free of charge, no-one told us of this previously. At the K5 you can use lockers in the garage to store stuff free, and again after two days found out you can use the rear entrance to gain access, lots easier. There was myself, my wife and our 6 yr old daughter, at meal times there was always something to suit everyone and we never went hungry. They do cook other things for kids on request, chicken nuggets, minute steak etc. It is not cheap, but where is these days? It did et down to -22 but I never had more than Thermals, jumper, fleece and jacket on my top and thermals and sallopets on my bottom half. The other two had maybe one more layer but were never cold. Main thing is good socks maybe two pairs, silk liners for hands, good pair of gloves , balaclava and hat. We paid for three trips, not cheap but really enjoyable, santa's hideaway, fab, reindeers safari, and snowmobiling great fun. Go enjoy yourselves and just remember, it can be tiring, but we really hope we can save to go next year, Any questions please e-mail me on alan.burns01@ntlworld.com

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levi hotels
0.1 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
0.3 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
2.8 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel K5 Levi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel K5 Levi

Address: Kaetkaenrannantie 2, Levi 99130, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Levi
Price Range: £102 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel K5 Levi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very centre of the Levi ski resort area, Hotel K5 offers a bit of luxury for your visit. The hotel's well-appointed rooms have views of the ski slopes or the hotel's reindeer corral, which is lit in winter. The hotel buildings form a village site, including a traditional Sámi gammi, a turf hut partly dug into the ground. Bistro K5 is a cosy and inviting restaurant of Hotel K5 Levi. The restaurant windows open up to the hotel's reindeer corral and you can see the playful reindeer playing tag while dining. Bistro K5 serves as a brekafast and dinner restaurant for hotel guests, but offers also a sophisticated Bistro K5 Menu Lappish and international flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel K5 Levi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel K5 Levi Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing