We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Levi
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Two times have we been staying at this hotel. Well actually at their appartments called Levi Star. Last time was this year in March. There is no cleaning of the apartment unless you pay extra which ok. The apartments are new with great standard, all the appliances and kitchen ware you need. The sauna is exellent. If you have a car there is parking with connection for heater if you have it. All in all good value for your buck, I probably will stay there next time. Close to town center, where you can find several pubs and restaurants. The slopes are in a short walking distance, if you prefer the ski bus it is also near by. Shopping center just across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms facing with the balkony to the south gives you sun in the daytime, if are there in the spring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigbjoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Check in went fine, but the room was not a family room (as we had booked) and theres was no baby bed (as we had asked for and gotten confirmation for). When I went back to the reception there wa alot of "that's unfortunate" and no fixes except that the clerk found a baby bed for me to carry back to the room across the road.

The floors in our room were filthy when we got there (see picture from bedroom). Even though I asked in the reception to have housekeeping clean the floors (which they said they would) there was no cleaning at all during our stay. Discusting!! Houskeeping did come by the room and put a pillow and baby covers in the baby bed. Why not clean while they're there??

When we checked in we were shown a map of the hotel area. The parking lot was pointed out and we were told to park in any spot. This was wrong! At least that's what the daytime clerk told me at the reception on the last morning, after some pissed off Finish guy had blocked me and his neighbor with his car (see picture).

The only positive thing about this hotel was the locatin. Just a few 100 meters from the village center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Check in service was smooth enough but once we arrived at the room it was tiny, not enough room for 2 and was very noisy next to snowmobile parking area.
Room was not cleaned at all during 4 night stay, which is disgusting. Breakfast was very poor.
New Year's Eve gala dinner was an absolute joke; poorly organised, terrible food, and ruined by staff who would not let the band play because the Russian party next door didn't want their 2 hours of speeches interrupted. A shambles.
Only positive of the hotel was its proximity to the village and a supermarket.
Thomson organised events were too short and just a money spinning exercise to get you to purchase the longer activity sessions. Completely mis-sold by travel agent in uk.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazzam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great accommodation and rooms big enough for out family of 5 with the children up a ladder in a loft bedroom which they thought was great.
Sauna in the bathroom was really nice after coming in from the freezing cold.
The hotel location is excellent as it is only a 5 minute walk into the town which has plenty of shop and a few good bars. It is also close to the supermarkets. As a word of warning Alcohol is quite expensive costing around 14 Euros for 2 pints in the bars.
The only downside is the food in the restaurant which is all buffet style and very average. the food was very bland and mass produced but other than that I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Posidonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

So, this is our 6th time at Levi, but the first time we tried the Levistar apartments and also the Sirkhantahti for food (we were on a Cosmos package over New Year) The apartments are pretty convenient, right opposite the supermarket and whilst its a few mins walk to the hotel for food it was randomly mild enough to do it in just a jumper some nights/mornings. The apartments themselves are fine for two people - seemed to be set up for 4 though and that would be pretty cramped. We had two beds, there's a double sofa bed and a 4 seater table - but if the sofa bed was out, you wouldn't be able to get to all the seats? Anyway, for 2 it was fine. Clean enough, with sauna which we were keen to make sure was included when we booked. No wifi though and I was a bit disappointed in that since I'm fairly sure I'd read there was coverage and I have to be in contact for work -so had to keep using the hotels wifi during meals.
The apartments also have fridge, coffee maker, kettle, pots/pans, rings and microwave so thats all quite useful.
We were full board with Cosmos and knew we wouldn't be doing lunch as we'd be skiing - I love the resort - however we were anticipating a decent spread for breakfast/dinner. Breakfast was fine - lots of selection. Dinner however was pretty awful. Undefinable salad bowls, and for the main, its a chicken/pork thing, so cooked its tough as boots or a fish dish. There was usually one side dish. One night there was potato and sprouts (which I'd avoided all Christmas) with the toughest bit of pork I've had. We gave up and ate out. I guess, you could say the food covered the requirement to eat, but we ended up having extra sandwiches in the room or eating out. I would for instance, have sent it back if I was served this in a restaurant. It felt this was scrimped on - particularly when one of the other tour groups had left.

Still, I would go back, though probably either back to where we've stayed before or just for B&B and eat out in the evenings. The restaurant itself was fine and cozy enough.

So mixed experience, if on a tighter budget, the deal was good overall e.g. to be able to get to somewhere pretty expensive with a family. With just me and him, I'd probably do things differently next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rinkyandmerlin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have recently returned from the most amazing holiday to Lapland. We stayed at the sirkantaehti hotel in Levi. We went with Thomson. It was a three night/four day holiday. from boarding the plane the experience wa amazing. The cases were quick and receiving the warm clothes was very efficient. Our elf 'tip toes' was perfect, we didnt even have to check in at the hotel, we were just given our keys.
Hotel
Small hotel on the outskirts, about a three minute walk in the snow. Covered with Christmas trees and lights. The rooms were so clean, very Ikea with a big sauna in the bathroom. It also had a drying cupboard. There was also a kettle. The breakfast was perfect aswell.
Trips
Thomson tips were brilliant, day one to the husky ride and snowmobiles. In the middle of a forest, covered in snow! We also had an artic circle ceremony. This trip lasted two hours and was brilliant.
Day two we went to the very special santas workshop. It eas magical, it started to snow, it looked like a postcard.
we cooked sausages on an open fire, went sledging, pony rides, reindeer rides, made gingerbread, had lunch and finally got to see Santa. The trip took 4 hours and was amazing.
Levi centre
Levi is small and perfect. It has nice restaurants and they seem to stick to 13 euros for pizza and past. There is also a subway each one is 5 euros. Beer is very expensive, stick to water! The ski slope is beautiful, there is a childrens area called kidsland to the left of it, they give the children sledges, snow bikes etc and free hot berry juice, its free to get in and you can stay as long ws you like!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank zenaandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here with thomson from 29th december, through to new year. We had an apartment style room at the hotel, but not in the main building on a full board basis. Room was spacious with a mezzamime level, 3 beds upstairs and a sofa bed in the lounge. We had a small kitchenette, bathroom with a sauna and a shower and a seperate toilet. There was a great drying closet for wet clothes. This was absolutely invaluable and we relied on it constantly, drying clothes very quickly Room was clean and warm, well sound proofed and insulated so very quiet and the beds were comfortable. . We had to walk about 50m to the main building for meals which wasn't a problem. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Food was buffet style always very nice but choice was a bit limited, always plenty of cold meats, cheeses, salad and bread. Hot meals - normally 1 kids option, usually nuggets, chips or sausage, then 2 hot adult options often 1 fish dish and a meat option (either pork,moose, reindeer, beef, chicken), there was normally a soup, a pasta dish and 1 dessert. One day there was no kids meal on offer but we asked where it was and a meal was cooked for us and brought to our table. Breakfast was bacon, sausage, beans, egg, croissants, waffles, toast.
Location- a couple of minutes stroll from levi centre and ski slopes, literally just over the road.
Levi centre is nice, festive, atmospheric. Slopes - we didn't ski but used sledges that seem to be lying around for free use, don't pay to hire them, there are many hotel owned that are free to use and are abandoned around levi and outside the hotel.
We used the small tobogan run to sledge then at 7 oclock the slopes officialy close to skiers and the main lights go off, it is still well lit enough to use the slopes and they become a free for all for sledgers. Fantastic, not too busy but quite well used.
Thomson ran a good trip but don't really provide enough itinerary info prior to departure. We hired a car to visit the ice gallery (not an excursion thomson offer, but well worth the 15 min drive under your own steam). We also visited the snow village and ice hotel, we didnt pre book a tour, just turned up and saved a fortune on the price of a thomson excursion by taking the 45 minute drive ourselves. We asked for an itinerary so that we could plan but didn't get one until arrival.
Basically all thomson included activities happened in the morning, departing between 8.30 and 10 depending on your group. Apart from the day of the 2 hour snow mobile ride all groups were back by 1 oclock every day. So the afternoons were free to book a thomson excursion or explore alone. On the day of the snow mobile ride we were back by 12.30 as the first group but other groups were slightly later. Basically most afternoons are free to do as you please.
The taster sessions are literally just a couple of minutes long and thomson hope you book a longer go, as an excursion. These bookable trips are rather expensive . The first morning of our trip was dedicated to taster sessions a few minutes for each, Snow mobiles,husky ride , and about 15 minute Lappish stories around the campfire. This did actually take all morning, and the tasters were good fun and seemed like more than a few minutes. We didn't bother to book any full sessions as we had a 2 hour snow mobile trip included for new years eve, the huskey ride was good to experience but not worth paying the price to do it for any longer. We also had a short reindeer sleigh ride and a sleigh pulled by a snowmobile ride at the santa day included.
Snow suits provided by thomson were lovely and warm and boots comfy. They definately did the job and with a couple of layers underneath we very warm and dry.
Overall great holiday, hotel convenient location, glad we hired a car, as we saved a fortune on excursions. Lapland is expensive for food and drink so definately worth the full board option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levi
0.2 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
22.3 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
166 reviews
2.7 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti

Address: | Sirkka, Suomi, Levi 99130, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Levi
Price Range: £103 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Sirkka
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti Levi, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing