We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Levi Ski Resort

Levi Ski Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$121.91*
and up
Lapland Northern Lights Snowmobile Safari from Levi
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Levi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Levi is located in the western Lapland, in the middle of pure nature and large wilderness areas. Levi is the most popular and fast-growing winter sport resort in Finland. Alpine World Cup Race is arranged every November. The first snowflakes usually fall in October-November and the skiing season continues until early-May. With 43 slopes, 27 lifts and more than 200 km of cross-country trails, Levi offers the skiers the best there is. There are different types of slopes and skiing tracks that offer a possibility to enjoy skiing for both beginners and more experienced skiers. In the beginning of the season one can start with skiing on the 9 km long artificial "first snow" track, which is free of charge. The most challenging and well-assorted South Park in Finland for the snowboarders and the freestyle enthusiasts is situated in Levi. NEW Alpine Training Park for racing teams and clubs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a couple of wonderful sunny ski days in Levi in April 2013. There are enough slopes to go through all in two days but not get bored of anything. There are slopes for every level of skiers and at least in April (after Easter) they were not crowded at all, no waiting in line for the lifts. There are also a couple of really nice restaurants where you must try Mintchocolate and enjoy the sun sitting outside. The prices are not too bad either and the ski buss takes you there from farther cabins also.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finn_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you for your nice review of our skiing services.

With regards
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    173
    50
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big enough to keep you interested, small enough to be manageable for groups (or families) with varying skiers.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

+some good runs for kids who are well past their beginner stage (aged 6-7)
+ limited number of interesting runs for advanced skiers
+ some easy access off-piste areas to be explored with kids.
+ virtually no queues!
- food choice for lunches is very limited. We recommend either skiing back down to village or eating lunch at the on-piste Tuikku restaurant.
- weather is not the fault of the resort, but can be really harsh during December-March period. If possible, go late in the season (late March or April).
- Has a lot of traverse routes which are pain on a snowboard.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWellWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you for your nice review of our skiing services.

With regards
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly and no queues.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Levi proves that Finland/Lapland is not just for christmas. I can thoroughly recommend Finland/levi for skiing. No queues, friendly, always snow at easter and stunning. Even at -12 on the coldest day I never felt cold except when stationary for too long. The sun was shining and the scenery was amazing and extremely tranquil. Loads more to do than alpine skiing too- huskies, snow mobiles, cross country skiing, spa, araura hunting, wilderness trekking and loads more. The ski school there was excellent too and equipment hire and ski passes easy to sort. Only 45km of slopes so much less than alps but here you ski more and queue less. Ski-lapland were our tour operator. They have been amazing. Check them out online and have a chat to Matt Nolan. He is knowledgeable having lived in finland for many years and incredibly friendly, nothing too much trouble. We stayed in the chalet apartments that are part of hotel panorama. They are spacious and well equiped. Sauna was great. We ate in the hotel rather than cooking for ourselves. The chalets are joined by an indoor walkway to the main hotel. Food was good but repetative. It is a self serve buffet but replenishing it can be slow at busier times in the evening. Ski storage is excellent. Hotel is well furnished and decorated. Overall a lovely hotel away from some of the noisier bars being on the Hill looking over the main part of levi. It is also very friendly. We will stay here again on our next visit. It is ski in/ski out onto a blue or red run but with a bit of a flat ski you can be to many more runs of all types. A quick and cheap bus run takes you to the south side slopes. Or you can get there by skiing and using lifts if you have time. We (a new skier, a more experienced skiier and two boys aged 10 and 11 that had never skied before) have had the most amazing introduction to family skiing in levi. Once again if you are considering Lapland or finland talk to ski-lapland as I can't recommend them highly enough. We effectively tailor made our trip with them at a fraction of the cost of some tailor made operators and we tweaked and added as we went with no hassle.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SLHoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you for your photos and nice review of our skiing services.

With regards
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

With one of us having not been skiing for 30 years this was a great re introduction. The resort and uncrowded slopes are great to get back into the enjoyment. All the slopes we went to were really nice but we liked the slopes at the south the best. A 10 minute bus ride takes you there from point zero, get this added to your ski pass for only €6 for the week. We had good snow for our week in March, the most challenging day had to be when it was blowing a blizzard as we decided to ski from the south slopes accross the top of the range back to zero point. Great fun but knackering!!! Lol. The kotas are a welcome addition at the bottom of most slopes giving you a chance to warm up and cook some sausages. Doing some off piste skiing amongst the trees was funny and enjoyable. We attended ski school (only 6-8 people but went down to 4 the last few days) for an hour and half daily was great, the ski instructor was brilliant and we skied all over the range. Good selection of bars and restuarants, its not like the general european resorts but have to say there is plenty to do and experience. We stayed at Levi log cabins which were a 10 minute walk to everything which was fine. Having our own sauna at the end of each day was fantastic to chill out and relax.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you for your nice review of our skiing services.

With regards
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good downhill skiing for beginners and intermediates. The slopes do not compete with what you would find in the Alps, but that is more than compensated by the fact that the slopes are always in tip-top condition. Also the resort is easily accessible by air to Kittilä airport. Several flights a day from Helsinki, and a ton of connections from most of Europe.

During Easter, the slopes get a bit crowded. Not too much but still a bit more than usual. Best times to visit would be from mid-February till late April. Before that it is quite cold and dark, not very enjoyable.

The only serious drawback are the lifts. Most of them (with the exception of one gondola and one chair lift) are old fashioned T-bar lifts. These things should be outlawed for anything longer than a few hundred meters, but here you have T-bar lifts that are well over a kilometer in length. At least the longest ones should be replaced by chairlifts, especially the one that leads to the Draivi restaurant. The slopes there are very nice, and there is a nice restaurant, but the lift simply does not have the capacity to handle the volume and the pull is very looooong. At shorter lifts it would be a great idea (and not too expensive I think, hint hint) to provide some sort of benches so that the not so young of us could stretch a leg between the rises.

All in all, nice place, been there twice now and will come back !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PetriS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Customer,

thank you for your review of our skiing services. The next chair lift investment will take place at South slopes within few years.

With regards
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Levi Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Levi Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing