We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Light nights - why no skiing?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Levi Ski Resort

Levi Ski Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.11*
and up
Lapland Northern Lights Snowmobile Safari from Levi
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Levi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Levi is located in the western Lapland, in the middle of pure nature and large wilderness areas. Levi is the most popular and fast-growing winter sport resort in Finland. Alpine World Cup Race is arranged every November. The first snowflakes usually fall in October-November and the skiing season continues until early-May. With 43 slopes, 27 lifts and more than 200 km of cross-country trails, Levi offers the skiers the best there is. There are different types of slopes and skiing tracks that offer a possibility to enjoy skiing for both beginners and more experienced skiers. In the beginning of the season one can start with skiing on the 9 km long artificial "first snow" track, which is free of charge. The most challenging and well-assorted South Park in Finland for the snowboarders and the freestyle enthusiasts is situated in Levi. NEW Alpine Training Park for racing teams and clubs.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Light nights - why no skiing?”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My 20th visit in Lapland was partly a disappointment. Why? It was light until 22.30 in the second half of April and my Central European guests would have liked to ski in the evening. Levi cannot compete with the Alps but they have the light nights. Slopes and tracks were still fine but service on the cross-country tracks and in restaurants stopped on the 2nd Easter Day - no more buffet tables, cafeterias getting closed, activities unavailable. Even the reindeer farm Levin Lapinkylä was closed. Proper communications would have helped but there was no. One could not help feeling that season was over and we were not worth servicing any more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 800Ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    173
    49
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Skiing in Levi”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Skiing was good but quite limited compared to the Alps where we always go. Ski school for our 5 yr old is only for an hour and a half, so we didn't have a lot of time to explore what Levi had available slope wise. One bit of advice is... Get as high as you can. We spent a lot of time just going up and down the main slope which comes into the village. It got very icy and quite slushy. But if you get right up to the top, which you can access via t bars or ski buses, the skiing was great.... Some lovely, very quiet reds and blues..... What I will say though is when you're up top, it is absolutely FREEZING! So be prepared for that. Ski hire, ski school, etc was fantastic in Zero Point. My little boy had one to one tuition all week. His skiing really progressed when we were there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Leanne A,

thank you for your nice review of our skiing services.
One option for nursing small children is our indoor creche called Tenavatokka at Kids Land. You may book several hours playing time with professional nursing staff by sending email lastenmaa@levi.fi or by calling +358 20 7960 212 (in November-April).

With regards
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Probably the best Nordic ski resort”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After skiing mainly in the Alps for the past 10 years we wanted to show the kids Finnish Lapland and settled on Levi which we hadn't visited before. What a terrific choice! We arrived by plane and it was just a 10 min taxi ride from the airport. We stayed at one of the Alppitalot apartments 50 m from the main slopes. Perfectly equipped apartment, excellent and well prepared slopes, ski lifts well connected, world class cabin lifts and excellent lunch buffets, cafees and shopping. There is also a wide variety of hotels although we normally go for cabins or apartments. Ruka used to be my favourite Finnish resort but Levi has now beaten it. Levi might even be better than Åre or at least pretty close. I can highly recommend Levi to anybody and there are also lots of snowmobile and reindeer safaris, husky rides, etc availble in the vicinity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PandyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear PandyH,

thank you for your excellent review of our skiing services. Levi is a compact resort and easy to stay. Everything is nearby and easily organised. Welcome back!

With regards,
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great skiing holiday”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from skiing in Levi which surpassed our expectations. We have previously skied in both France and Italy where everywhere is busy and it was wonderful this year to ski on quiet (sometimes empty) slopes with no lift queues. Yes the runs are short and yes there are drag lifts but this resort is great fun to ski around, particularly if you are a family with a mix of abilities. The blues are easy to cruise down and the reds are wide so it is a great place to improve your skiing skills if you are a beginner or intermediate. The best thing thing was that we actually got an extra days skiing on our last day as we had an evening flight home and the ski passes and equipment hire is for 7 days. We loved Levi and the friendly Finnish people and will return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bhherbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear bhherbs,

thank you for your nice review of our skiing services. We are glad to hear that our services have surpasses your expectations. Lapland is a quite different skiing area than the Alps but also nature of the resort is different. We love it too!

With regards
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No long queues”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is our 6th trip to this lovely friendly resort, guaranteed snow with no long queues. Ok so the drag lifts can literally be a drag but I'm told that another chair lift is going in soon giving a little rest on tired legs.Prices seem to be rising year on year especially from Inghams who are the only ski company traveling from the uk. This year we organised flights to Helinki then a transfer to Kittila, booking accommodation directly staying in Immelmokit cabins. Can be a bit of a trek of up to 10 min walk with skis etc to Zero point but taxis are available for about 12 euros. Hired skis etc at Elan Pro shop with Katri at a very good price. Something we learnt for the first time this year is that when you buy goods which come in a recyclable container,coke for example you are charged a levy from around 15c upwards which when you recycle the container back at the supermarket they print of a coupon to use towards next shop or to cash in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hillsy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeviSki, Guest Relations Manager at Levi Ski Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear hillsy1965,

thank you for your nice review of our skiing services. New chair lift called "South" will be operating since December 2014 next to "old" lift nr 8.

Please remember that investment is always paid with income and our price increase is only few percents. Have you contact Ski Lapland/ Matt Nolan for your next Levi trip?

We have a ski storage at Zero Point rental where you can leave your equipment for overnight. You need to carry only boots to your accommodation.

With regards
Tarja Nikkinen
Oy Levi Ski Resort Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Levi Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Levi Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing