We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For Two”
Review of Levi Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Levi Log Cabins
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Levi
Reviewed 29 December 2012

These log cabins are everything you imagine.

They say they can sleep 6 they can however the upstairs is so hot you could not sleep upstairs. The beds upstairs are by the saftey rails and young children could climb over the top, so my wife had to share the double bed downstairs. I tried upstairs on the first night and had to move a mattress downstairs as it was so hot.

As my title says perfect for two.

The log cabins are well located it is about a 5 minute walk into town.

We travelled with Inghams and they dropped us off at the door. However, at the end of our holiday they wanted us to carry our 4 large suitcases to a hotel. Although only a 5 minute walk the thought of lugging 4 suitcases at -27 didnt really appeal so complained to our Rep and to be fair to Inghams they came and collected our cases in a car.

Great holiday though and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

So, we stayed for 4 nights from the 12th Dec or was it the 11th I can't remember...

We went on a Thomson trip one of the package ones..

Starting with the cabins.. they are lovely, not quite log cabins but more wood cabins so don't be fooled into thinking they look like log cabins in the proper sense but they are lovely. Nice open fire and wood store, plenty of room although the main room downstairs has 2 single beds and single duvets etc which would be better if it was a double. Upstairs we didn't really look at as it was just me and the wife but it looked nice for kids although the stairs are steep.

The cabins are about a 30-40 min walk from Levi town centre which is a nice walk. Taxi's are about €12 each way and can be ordered from the Crazy Reindeer hotel which was the main focal point for our Thomson trip. There is a ski bus but I didn't have a clue how it ran but I think it was €3 each way or €9 for a pass. We didn't bother with it as the walk was nice but I wouldn't want to do the walk with kids...

Cabins had self catering, nice range of equipment and the local shop is pretty well stocked - it isn't that more expensive than the UK apart from the Reindeer meat but then I guess not everyone wants to eat Rudolph.

Levi is really small, restaurants number around 6 and there are some weird menu options. If your picky like my wife is then it won't work well for you but others seemed happy. Prices are expensive but what do you expect... small bottle of diet coke = €4.5 ouch! but then this is in the middle of nowhere so I guess don't go here if your on a budget..

We did ski lessons on the kiddy slope so I can't comment on the proper skiing as it was our first time but it all seemed good. Rentals are reasonable I think and I can provide more details on pricing if anyone wants it.

In regards to Thomson, it's full of kids but it is a Lapland trip - we're just glad we don't have any! everything is geared to kids so if you do the free trips you might find yourself standing around for a bit whilst kids do things but it's all fun. If you do the trips beware that you can buy them from the tourist information office at usually half the price of the Thomson prices but then Thomson do pick you up and drop you off at the cabins rather than you having to walk into the tourist information shop to get picked up. We were happy to pay the extra for the ease of it but if you have a couple of kids it's going to be an expensive trip if you do activities.

Thomson do some free taster trips plus a trip to see Santa and make some cookies that was worth going too.

You do get your snow gear from a warehouse a short walk from the airport coaches - they estimate your size give you gear and then you go to the Crazy Reindeer hotel to try it on and do the welcome talk. We had to change the wifes but they do it for you. I would advise taking your own snow shoes, gloves, hats and scarfs and just use their snow suits which we're clean and reasonably comfortable.

The only downside is you don't get told a lot of things from the reps but you'll soon work it out. There all v friendly though.

The gala dinner on the sat night was actually quite nice food, kids disco was very euro trash but funny and we didn't drink much as it was more expensive than I wanted to pay for a hangover!

We enjoyed staying in most nights in our cabin with the log fire and cooking which was cosy. You have a couple of English tv channels usual rubbish and repeats but you'll find other things to keep you busy like the sauna in the cabin which is a nice addition to a cold night..

Aside from that it's a magical trip, beautiful landscape and you'll always find yourself with something to do. I'd say don't go here on a budget as you'll want to do the skimobiles and the husky rides. If your just adults do the night skimobile trip as it's faster but still fairly flat.

We'll definately come back when we have kids to the cabins although the hotels are more central they didn't feel as nice in terms of the relaxing and the log fire.

Only downside is the snow is too dry to make snowmen so it's a struggle but thats hardly anyone's fault:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gavin_McCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

WOW, my husband and myself stayed at the Levi Log Cabin (5/12/2012 - 9/12/2012) and were very pleasantly surprised. The cabins were very clean, comfortable, warm and just out of the world. Bring on 2014 as we are taking the whole family back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 712lesley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

My fiance and i booked this holiday 12 months in advance so we were very much looking forward to this holiday by the time it had arrived and we couldn't have asked for anything more. Our cabin was perfect. It felt like the agents had really gone out of their way to ensure our stay was a very enjoyable one. (We booked through Thomsons). On arrival the heating was on (including under floor heating) so the cabin was nice and toasty. The fridge was stocked with breakfast materials, there was even a jar of jam, large bag of crisps and a fresh loaf of bread. The beds were extremely comfy the only down side was because of the dark mornings it was difficult to get out of bed. The cabins are marketed as being able to sleep 7, in our opinion this maybe a bit much. Maximum would be 4 adults, or 3 adults and 2 children. Anymore and it would feel a bit cramped but for the two of us it was luxury.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk a bit as the cabins are a little out of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed here at the end of January, and with the weather down to -30 C it was a lovely little haven to retreat to. Very comfortable and cosy - fantastic for couples and families. Booked via Inghams and I'd say all the excursions were very reasonable, too. The only criticisms i'd have is that it could really do with wifi and the heating got stuck on so we ended up leaving a window open half the time! Overall, though, definitely one of the nicest places to stay in Levi!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here in December 2011, including Christmas Day. When you land at the airport you are greeted by the elves who sing songs and entertain both the children and the adults from the first minute to the last.

Levi is lovely place with just enough going on, a good selection of shops, restaurants etc and a great couple of supermarkets if you're staying in a cabin.

The Levi Cabins were clean, warm and ours had sledges, pre cut wood, matches, kindling etc and everything you could need to make your stay comfortable. The cabin had one bedroom downstairs (along with the steam room, toilet & kitchen / living room) and a mezzanine floor which had a further three single beds. The kids loved this area although the stairs are quite narrow and steep. There are ski paths around which are well signposted and you can walk into the forests etc. The snow ball fights are amazing!!!!

We were not lucky enough to see the Northern Lights while we were there as it was snowing quite a lot but staying in the Levi Cabins means you are away from the 'city' lights enough to see beautiful stars on a clear night and a walk up the hill, apparently, can be rewarded with the Northern Lights when the conditions are right.

It is a bit of a trek into town but it was fun and the buses are pretty regular if you don't want to walk.

We travelled with First Choice who were very helpful but avoid the ridiculous 'offers' as the Santa trip is included, and thoroughly good it is too, but the other excursions such as husky rides are very, VERY expensive.

We booked directly at the very helpful, English speaking, Levi Tourist office and had a private bus collect us and take us to a Husky Farm where we were one of only 4 families and had a 7km ride for the less than First Choice wanted for us to go with 70 other people for a 3km ride. You can book these things in advance too. Be brave and don't let the holiday company cheapen your experience by costing you money!!

Most of all, just let yourself be immersed in the experience and be a kid again. It is wonderful, and liberating!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christhewino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hi all, we travelled to levi this last winter, dec 2011, for 1 week courtesy of inghams, and had a terrible time in connection with the actual apartment, it firstly upon arrival hadn't been cleaned or serviced, we had no hot water for 2 1/2 days, and the cooker had actually burnt out, it also didn't sleep the 6 people it was advertised to do so, it actually slept 3, as there was no sofa bed in the living room, and there was only 1 matress just left on the upstairs floor of the mezzanine, please take a look at the couple of pictures to give you an idea of the actual apartment you could quite receive, rather than the pictures in the advertisment website. also may i confirm (inghams) accept this do be a satisfactory standard of cleanliness and see no wrong in the actual apartment. but for a little more than £2,000.00 i accapt a hell of a lot more than this. it really was gross.

Room Tip: just be careful if you choose a levi log cabin, our one was gross, oh and it might look like a log c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davdonmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levi hotels
128.2 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
631 reviews
125.6 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
128.1 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
128.3 mi away
Levilehto Apartments
127.8 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
128.1 mi away
Levi Alpine Chalets
Levi Alpine Chalets
#2 of 23 in Levi
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levi Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levi Log Cabins

Address: Village of Levi, Levi, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Levi
Also Known As:
Levi Log Cabins Hotel Levi
Levi Log Cabins Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing