We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel on the ball!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“A hotel on the ball!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel was such a pleasure to stay at. The breakfast had a great array of foods, all excellently prepared and the staff presence was superb - there was no need to look for help, the staff were "on the ball". My daughter loved that everyone greeted her and she felt very special - a happy child makes a happy parent! We made use of the complimentary shuttle to the V&A Waterfront, which was convenient. The rooms were spacious, the bathroom was extremely clean - you can tell alot about a hotel by the cleanliness of the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Cape Town and wanting to be central.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    483
    97
    33
    19
See reviews for
192
362
95
485
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

With the huge tourist boom Cape Town has experienced the last 10-15 years, service and quality have not always followed suit. The Upper East Side hotel seems to have bucked that trend. The room we stayed in (least luxurious on offer) for the one night was totally perfect. Great bed (much larger than the often tiny doubles found almost everywhere in South Africa), quiet room, perfect bathroom. Other hotels in Cape Town we have frequently stayed in of similar quality typically charged 2-3 times more; similar star ratings elsewhere often were at least half the quality.
Will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDanvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Harcourt
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It took me a long time to make up my mind to choose Upper East Side Hotel seeing that we were visiting the country for the first time and we(my family and I) were on vacation and really wanted a cool place. The ambience of the hotel was tight and the staff were courteous...all of these coupled with a very nice price...infact my family love it and we would definitely visit it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Although we only stayed 1 night at the hotel, our experience cannot be better described as excellent. I can recommend the hotel to anyone! We are frequent travellers to Cape Town and will definetaly stay here again. The rooms are spacious with good finishes and huge showers. Breakfast was very good with everthing freshly prepared. Staff were very friendly and helpful. What a great found!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILIKETRAVEL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Perfect overnight spot with very modern room finishes and great decor. Good breakfast as well

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

for me this was a great hotel - very modern with nice design elements. I loved the location - we could walk to the Saturday market where there is excellent coffee and great food and fun shopping. For other things we had to drive, but everything was close. I felt very safe and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is delicious and one evening we just wanted to relax and the restaurant was perfect with an exceptional scotch list and good desserts. I would stay at this hotel again. I thought the price was reasonable, easy drive from the airport. Most things you will need to drive to, but there is good parking at the hotel and we needed a rental car anyway. The staff was friendly and helpful - we arrived after midnight, but that was no problem. the neighborhood looks unfancy, but don't let that bother you. And the shower is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked this hotel with another couple for one night and absolutely loved our stay there. It is very modern, clean and conveniently located. It is located in an area called Saltriver, and this might put you off from a safety point of view. It is not safe to walk around in these area at night time, but the hotel provides enough safety for your car ( parked in a parking area underground).
The rooms have everything that you need, lovely linen, comfy bed, flatscreen TV, coffee and tea facility, bottled water, hairdryer and information on the area. They are also part of a small shopping mall with a convenience store, some restaurants, hairsalon and some fashion stores. We had a lovely breakfast (included in our rate) and had some drinks at the bar. I will defnitely be back. This hotel is truly value for money!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Fraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,271 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
977 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Address: 31 Brickfield Road, Woodstock 7925, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing