We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Although I had my doubts regarding the location, it went away as I entered the hotel. Reception was friendly and efficient. I checked in late and the lobby had a pleasant buzz of guests enjoying the restaurant. My room was a suite on the 5th floor - the space was overwhelming! Spectacular views of Cape Town at night from the balcony. The bedroom was upstairs - on a mezzanine level. Modern bathroom with bath and shower. Comfortable very large bed with crisp linen. TV upstairs and downstairs. and a microwave oven too. Free WiFi is always a huge plus for me. The breakfast was really good, with attentive service - even the general manager assisted with the service! The hotel is in close proximity of the city, Waterfront and Table Mountain.

Room Tip: The suites on the 5th floor are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review - we really appreciate the time taken !

We hope to welcome you back our hotel again soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were given a lovely cookie each on arrival. The rest of the night's stay in this modern looking hotel was pleasant. Breakfast could have been better, but for the price offered, it was well worth it. Location is not the best though, and I think this hotel makes a great place to sleep whilst going out to see the sights around Cape Town. Overall excellent for the money spent and highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rupert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Rupert S

Thank you very much for your review of our facilities and service. I have flagged your concern and we will constructively work to improve on the mentioned points in your review.

We hope to accommodate you on your next trip to Cape Town.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel looks new, with nice rooms and comfortable bed. Service at reception is prompt friendly. However, it is no where near to town and surroundings look seedy. Breakfast is adequate though breakfast staff take their time to clean up tables and set them up.
Go for this if you are on any of the list below"
1. planning to stay for a night to catch an early flight o
2. arrived late into Cape and need a sleeping place.
3. you have full day trips planned and intend to come back for sleeping

This hotel does not give on the feeling of being in Cape Town but it does provide a good sleep experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuAnn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Polly P

Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly use your restaurant feedback for our next restaurant training session. I am glad to inform you that Woodstock is undergoing a creative turnaround. It is an ongoing process and we can not wait to see the end result in a few years time.

We hope to see you back in Cape Town soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Double Tree is a great value, but not near the waterfront. Free shuttle runs every 3 hours, until 10pm. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The king loft suites are wonderful, especially for an extended stay - having both a microwave and fridge. Great shower with fast hot water and good water pressure (the shower head is pretty high, making it difficult to adjust). Heated towels are a nice finishing touch. There is a large separate tub. Note for the shy - there are no doors on the bathroom. Bed is on the hard side. Water in the hotel is potable. Takes a bit of tinkering to figure out how to set the heat/AC units to your liking. Very accommodating eggs prep station at the breakfast buffet. Toaster is a little tricky - you have to be on the lookout to make sure it doesn't burn; also has a dial that causes only one side to be toasted. Variety of outlets at the desk does not include a US one. The gym is pretty small and the pool is not onsite. Internet service is pretty good and done a bit differently - there is a daily data usage cap - used it for my normal activities and never had a problem running out (I don't stream movies). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DragonLady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very informative and detailed response. We cherish responses like yours as it provides us with constructive feedback. We will certainly up the number of US converter plugs available at reception. We hope to see you back in Cape Town soon again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Staff was very pleasant and professional, we checked in early (13h00) and room was not ready, we were offered a welcome drink and 20 minutes later room was ready. The lounge is amazing, very modern feel and very cosy. Grat colours.
The room was really wonderful, we took the king loft suite of 108m2. Fantastic lounge, small kitchen, large TV with DVD and comfy sofa. The bedroom and open plan bathroom are upstairs. Great room, spacious, lovely colours. There is a very large toilet with separate basin downstairs as well.
Breakfast was very good, not a very big selection but the quality of what was there was very good. We ordered a nice omelett and the cappucino is great.
Location; although the hotel is not in the centre, they offer free transport to the V&A Waterfront 4x a day (and 4x back). We didn't have dinner in the hotel, only tapas, which were very good. The price of the cocktails and wines are very reasonable. Service with a smile.

Room Tip: The loft suites have great views. They come in 2 different sizes; 85m2 and 108m2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choccywoccydooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We will most certainly pass your positive comments onto our staff. It really means a great deal to staff if they get the good feedback from guests. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked this hotel based on reviews and price and was delighted with both. The service was excellent, from management to doorman - everyone was very helpful and welcoming. The room was very large, spotless and beautifully appointed. Really my only quibble is with the location. It is miles from the city's main attractions and in a neighborhood (Woodstock) that is still a few years away from being an attraction in itself. On the upside, the hotel offers free shuttles to and from the Waterfront several times a day, a service that I took advantage of.

My only piece of advice for drivers : get specific directions before you head out. The hotel is up a narrow street/alley, not visible from the major roads or N2 highway. I was brought by local residents and even they had trouble finding it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schaferpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review we appreciate the time taken, so happy that enjoyed our signiture chocolate chip cookie .

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon !

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent a night at the Double Tree while in Cape Town on business. We were initially skeptical of the location but the area was a pleasant surprise. The Woodstock and Salt River areas to the east of central Cape Town have certainly undergone a revival and the area is vibrant and busy. The accommodation was excellent, the rooms moderns and well appointed and the general facilities more than one can expect for the price. Well worth it for either the leisure or business traveller. Also a great touch on arrival - all guests are treated to a huge chocolate chip cookie. There is a regular shuttle service to the primary CT tourist attraction - the V&A Waterfront.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
834 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Address: 31 Brickfield Road, Woodstock 7935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £51 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing