We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This modern boutique hotel is in a central location with great service and friendly helpful staff always polite and ready to assist. Executive rooms & loft apartments provide a luxury memorable stay. Dinner at the hotel is of a good quality and is reasonably priced. A hotel I would certainly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Llewllyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Llewllyn

Thank you very much for your comments after your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our location to be central to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    448
    87
    30
    18
See reviews for
169
339
86
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Good experience to stay at the Double Tree by Hilton. I would recommend this hotel for all my friends but people have the perception that Woodstock is not a good area. Altough if you stay at Double tree you dont need to feel akward or afraid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Nadia

Thank you very much for your recent comments about our Hotel. We hope to see you in Cape Town soon again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel mostly exceeded expectations. The service of the staff was amazing. The food was great everday and the room was neat and clean. Definately will stay there again! The Doubletree is a gem in Woodstock.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us ! I will pass on your compliments to the Chef and his team and also to my Housekeeping Team - especially as we had been celebrating International Housekeeping Week.

We look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at Doubletree by Hilton - Upper Eastside Cape Town, in July. This was our 4th visit over a 2 year period and as such have seen it before, during and after the Hilton takeover. We believe the management and staff probably showed the Hilton team how it should be done and not the other way round. By this we mean the incredibly friendly attitude of all the staff. We had just returned from a 5 week European trip staying at 4 and 5 star Hotels and Upper Eastside was one of our best stays. We love the quirky regeneration of the Woodstock area especially The Old Biscuit Mill with its artisan coffee roaster, outstanding restaurants, wine shop, a chocolatier plus various décor and knick knack shops.
All of these a mere stone’s throw from the hotel.
It is well situated with easy access behind the hotel to the M3, to Kirstenbosch Gardens, Constantia, Muizenberg and also to the N2 for the V+ A Waterfront, Atlantic Seaboard and Central Cape Town. A short taxi ride to a great range of restaurants and Long street for those late night owls.
But back to the hotel, the awesome slick, hip rooms, fantastic extra length beds with great linen and real power showers. Plus the imaginative and tasty food and of course the sexy little bar with well-priced single malts after a night out.
You don't need more.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a loft suite, its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Ali,


I'd like to thank you for this wonderful review - the attitude of our staff is one of our most proud achievement . I am delighted that you also enjoyed everything that this fantastic eclectic area of Cape Town has to offer . The Biscuit Mill is also one of our favorite ' spot's for all the reason you mentioned.

We can't wait to welcome you back for your 5th visit - to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside _ where there is always a warm cookie with your name on it !


Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our recent stay at the Double Tree by Hilton - Upper East Side was probably one of the most memorable experiences at a hotel. From the moment we booked in the friendlyness and professionalism of the staff were noticed. They catererd for all our additional requests on time and in full. the hotel is situated in a very busy older part of Woodstock, but its very safe to go in and out by car. Its close to all the wonderfull that Cape Town has to offer and reception was more than happy to share that with us. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thinus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Sir- WOW what an amazing review thank you so much it is this kind or response from our guest's that make it all worthwhile. I will pass on your compliments to the rest of my team .

We look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel was fine and with a free shuttle to the waterfront it was a great added extra. But what really made this hotel great was the staff - all the driving staff I came in contact with where friendly, helpful and would go out of their way to assistant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Sarah - thank you so much for your kind review - we are so pleased that you had a good stay with us ! I will pass your compliment 's on to the staff especially our team of drivers.

We do hope to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our Company had taken a team of 240 Dealers for conference and leisure trip as part of our Annual Franchisee Meet.
DoubleTree Hilton happened just about 10 days before we departed from India as we were still finalizing on the Hotel options. With lot of apprehensions we went ahead and confirmed our stay with them.
From the time we checked in till we checked out the staff especially the Senior staff were always ready to help for any service that we needed right from the Breakfast,lunch, Room service etc.
The staff at the Cafeteria always were willing to serve with a smile.

Rooms were well cleaned everyday.. Not a single complaint was registered on any loss of items from rooms considering we were a huge group.
Overall hospitality was Warm and special Thanks to Roger King and Junedray Jonhson the Senior Staff at the hotel for ensuring we had a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Choose for Rooms facing the Mountain.. It's pleasant to wake up for a great View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSSunita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel - we are so pleased that we exceed your expectations - it is this kind of feedback that we strive for . I will pass on your comments to the entire team and especially to Roger King and Junedray Jonhson .

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside again !

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Address: 31 Brickfield Road | Cape Town, Woodstock 7925, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing