We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bad staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I am from South Africa and live in Johannesburg. I went to Cape Town for a December holiday and stayed at the hotel. The good points are: modern design, neat and convenient facilities including its location where it is easy to travel to various sights in and around Cape Town, the hotel also provides a shuttle service to the waterfront. The bad points: the staff are unfriendly and incompetent. The hotel staff are disorganized and unhelpful in general. We booked for 9 nights but when we got there they had no rooms available for checkin, we had to wait for over 2 hours for them to find one for our 2 friends. We got our room immediately and was the smallest in the building despite our long stay. Carmen in particular has the worst attitude, she refuses to help and has a terrible attitude. Adrian at the bar is just as bad but in general the staff themselves seem like they don't want to be there or help anyone, scrambling at times to seem busy to avoid attending to guests - very strange behavior indeed - something I've never seen in my travels across the world. Overall it's a good hotel but I'd stay there only if I couldn't find something else.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Vishal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay! From reception to the room, and the restaurant was absolutely amazing. The room is spacious, luxurious and crisp clean. It had the most beautiful (spacious) bathroom. We will no doubt be using Double Tree in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Not much changed since Hilton took over; which is a good thing!!! It is possibly the best value for money hotel you can get in CT. The hotel overall is very modern, rooms spacious and comfortable, breakfast great and staff are really friendly. You must have a car if you stay here and I would also recommend the hotel to change its internet policy to unlimited data for guests as it is a shame that you have to pay daily after a certain amount of data used... other than that everything is perfect and I can recommend this place to anyone on business or vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magellan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have nothing but kind words about my three-night stay at this hotel. Service was impeccable and my room on the top floor was excellent. Breakfast is nicely spread with made-to-order omlettes. They make wicked espressos and I kept returning for more. Neighborhood feels safe during the day time. Shuttle to the V&A is more than sufficient and I was able to time my activities there including dining and the Robben Island trip.

Room Tip: If you can pay a little more to be upgraded to the top floor loft, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onebigepicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed two separate time in December at this hotel. Upgraded to suite each time. The suite is nice with 2 big tvs and 2 separate bathrooms. The only negative is the location of the hotel. Not much to do and in a bad area of town. There was a lot of wind while we were there and each night sounded like we were staying next to a wind tunnel. The hotel was very nice. The breakfast was a typical English breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stay at this wonderful establishment whenever we overnight in Cape Town and it never disappoints. And our last stay was no exception. This time we needed an early evening meal in a hurry and they delivered - great food in record time with excellent service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently stayed at this Double Tree, and we couldn't have been happier. The service is perfect! They thought of things that we didn't even know we needed. For instance, we took a trip to the Aquila Game Reserve, and the hotel suggested that they could prepare a breakfast-to-go box. We happily agreed, since we were going to be picked up very early in the morning. The hotel has a fabulous restaurant and in the small mall that you walk through to get to the lobby, you will find other restaurants and a convenience store. By the way, we LOVED eating at their restaurant. The food is absolutely delicious and rather inexpensive; it's five stars in my book! Now, you should know that it's not very safe to wander out in that particular neighborhood where this hotel is located. We found out (after the fact) that Upper Eastside is rather dangerous. However, you won't need to wander off. The hotel has everything you need, including shuttle service to the waterfront and aquarium, where you can take the "hop-on hop-off" bus to all the sightseeing locations. Cape Town is absolutely gorgeous, but it's a deceiving beauty, because of the crime rate. Just be careful. Take advantage of the shuttle service and everything the hotel has to offer. I would stay here again and again...no doubt about that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,373 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
831 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Address: 31 Brickfield Road, Woodstock 7935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £51 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing