We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for the Cost.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I had a King Loft that was excellent. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is located in the industrial area of Woodstock. There are daily shuttles to the waterfront. Taxis are in abundance. Your fifteen minutes by taxi to the waterfront and the center of Cape Town. The staff was excellent. Very good breakfast selection and there is a good selection for lunch and dinner. Small but decent gym with a treadmill, elliptical machine, stationery bicycle and weight machine. This is a excellent for the price and a great place stay if you don't need to be in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed 5 days at the Doubletree in Capetown and highly recommend this hotel for the value and excellence of service provided. The shuttle back and forth to the V&A waterfront were particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent conference experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town on Saturday 22 February 2014. Deidre and team delivered exceptional service through the organizing and running of the entire conference. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank & Mrs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

An affordable hotel with large comfortable rooms, spotless big bathroom and friendly staff.
While not in the hippest area of Cape Town - the hotel offers regular shuttles to the waterfront so that you don't have to navigate your way there if you are not familiar with the city (or don't have a car).
It was a convenient choice for me as I was attending a conference at the hotel - and was a very positive experience. Each guest is given a hot chocolate chip cookie on arrival (a nice touch).
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is situated in Woodstock which is fast becoming one of Cape Town's Hippest Urban Area's we are very lucky to have the Biscuit Mill located moments way which is home to the Test Kitchen and Pot Luck Club restaurants as well as the phenomenal saturday food market at the mill.

I am delighted that you made regular use of the free shuttle service we offer to the V & A Waterfront - pleased that you enjoyed our signature chocolate chip cookie.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights on a personal vacation. The staff is friendly however it appears as though this is a new property for the Hilton brands . It is not in a great area but about a 15 minute drive to the V&A Waterfront.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank USCG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My Wife and I recently spent a fabulous weekend at the Double Tree at Upper East Side! The service was outstanding and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming! The restaurant served delicious food (some of it freshly harvested from their organic rooftop garden!) and our room was really magnificent! I highly recommend a stay there. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The stay was meant to be a surprise for valentines day, which could not be done. The check-in was delayed and the room was not what i expected when i stayed there 2 years ago. The process can done in a much better way. hopefully a manager on duty can help elevate the standard of service

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 111 in Cape Town Central
363 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,318 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Address: 31 Brickfield Road, Woodstock 7935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £59 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing