We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Wilderness, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

There was a warm welcome and everything was explained in detail. Dinner was very nice, but we were a bit disappointed with the small continental breakfast for the price of R95 per person. We also expected to get some boiled eggs. The hotel was located close to Capago, but the Station Road's name changed to Main Road and we got lost on our way. The directions were not very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Niel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    477
    97
    33
    19
See reviews for
188
357
95
478
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. With good local amenities (shop in the hotel). Secure Car parking. Lovely room with coffee making facilities (disappointed that there wasn't a fridge) . Very clean. Lovely restaurant at the hotel that served lovely food at very reasonable prices. Very reasonably priced
Friendly, helpful staff! Short drive to shopping centre and local attractions within Cape Town.
Perfect location for a cultural city break whilst in South Africa!
Cannot wait to go back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel was an excellent experience - great service and great value. Friendly staff and the rooms were very comfy. Wifi was fast with 250Mb free which was sufficient for me. Dinner was very good at the inhouse restaurant. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorneMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was not aware of this hotel, and it was recommended by my travel agent. Woodstock is known not to be a very safe and secure neighbourhood in Cape Town and industrial in nature - however, I was pleasantly surprised by the experience. The hotel is very modern with stylish interior decorating, which I really liked. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the breakfast is really fresh and healthy. You are greeted with a warm cookie, that is a very nice touch. The parking is really safe and you can go from the parking lot into the hotel, which is comforting. I hope more people hear about this hotel, as the rates are much more competitive than those closer to Cape Town CBD. It is still very central and all directions are easily accessible. I can recommend the hotel - try it out, nice side view on Table Mountain and come nice factory shops in the area. The value for money is good and the staff is friendly and the coffee really, really good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank nicolene_murdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were at the superior suite (100m2 two floors suite). New and modern hotel, confortable, clean and kindly staff. There isn't too much to do arround the hotel , but it's 15 min from waterfront, there is the action. I really recomnd this hote.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I would definitely start by saying " a hidden gem". Though located in the Woodstock area of Cape town and is 15 mins away from Victoria & Alfred Waterfront which is the main touristic area, I would still recommend this hotel for people travelling with their families for sure as it is a real value for money in the lap of luxury. Before booking the hotel for 5 nights, we were in a dilemma to choose or reject it for location sake.But then we went ahead and booked the King's Suite and we didn't regret it even for a minute. The Suite was huge and luxurious with a lovely view of the table mountain. Commuting to and fro was not at all a problem as we had hired a car for 3 days and the rest two days we got picked up and dropped off to the hotel by the tour operator with whom we were booked for our day tours. Further, the hotel provides free shuttle service to and from V&A waterfront. So problem solved for people who do not wish to hire a car. The breakfast was a decent spread though the same everyday. The food in the hotel restaurant for lunch and dinner was nothing spectacular for but fine if you plan to eat in the hotel after a tired day. The service in the restaurant and mainly the room service is incompetent. But the staff at the reception desk are very courteous and hospitable. If you are travelling with kids then go for the King's suite with kitchenette that has microwave, fridge, coffee maker at a very reasonable price. Ofcourse as posted by others, the internet in the suite is bad. Having said that i would still book this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepshikha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres
Level Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Recently stayed over for one night with my family. We were pleasantly surprised. Got a loft apartment through Bookings.com. The whole experience was memorable ... from the spacious loft unit to the scrumptious supper (we had kabeljou, steak and a kids burger). Yeah, the housekeeping lacked something here and there, but all in all a very pleasant stay. The Double Tree Cape Town will definitely see us again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reint G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
798 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
485 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
346 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Address: 31 Brickfield Road, Woodstock 7925, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing