We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Another Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Thanks to all at the hotel for another excellent stay. The Double Tree by Hilton is one of the most under-rated hotels in Cape Town. The location is central, the rooms (loft suites) are huge and well laid out, the amenities are great and most importantly, the staff that we interacted with were excellent. I highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    465
    92
    31
    19
See reviews for
179
345
90
459
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Was happily surprised with the hotel, further from the city then I imagined but the free shuttle service provided makes up for this, really great staff especially Sarah from reception and the guys in the bar (sorry forgot your names), great wifi service in room and throughout hotel enjoyed my time and would happily have stayed longer and exceptional value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwheezy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had an extremely pleasant stay for four nights last January in a twin deluxe loft suite. Excellent value, friendly staff and very comfortable. The location is not the greatest, but the staff were more than willing to ferry us to the Waterfront at different times of the day. We will definitely return.

One fairly small caveat which may have been fixed by now:

We paid for the stay with my US Hilton Citibank Visa card and subsequently spent weeks trying to obtain the correct number of Hilton bonus points from Citibank. (This pertained simply to the points for using the CC, not the points awarded by Hilton for the stay which were correctly credited.) 

After Citibank eventually made the appropriate corrections for using the CC, and as we would like to stay in this hotel again next January, I asked that Hilton take up the following matter with the hotel as I don’t have an Email address for the General Manager.

It became a DoubleTree only one year ago. Previously it had been called The Upper Eastside Hotel and was not a Hilton. Unfortunately, as of Jan, they were still billing visa charges to the old name. Their management need to update their billing processes if they haven’t done so already. Eventually, after three months hassle, the correct points were obtained.

From Citibank:

“The merchant “THE UPPER EASTSIDE HOTEL” is billing charges with a merchant category for general hotels instead of a category specific to Hilton properties, so it is correct for the charges to earn only 3 HHonors Points per dollar and not the bonus 7 HHonors Points per dollar.

Since we can confirm on the Hilton website that this is a DoubleTree property, we can add bonus points for these purchases.”

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 13579FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear FullScore

Thank you very much for your review. We cherish any feedback and relay it to all staff where applicable to their work environment. I have noted your explanation on the Honors points allocation when booking via Citibank and will verify all again in a meeting with our Bank Merchant manager this week.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town in January again.

Feel fee to contact me directly at francois.steyn@hilton.com

Kind regards

Francois Steyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed at many hotels while on business in cape Town - the Double Tree Hilton Upper East Side ranks as my favourite Good customer service , clean and well appointed rooms , helpful staff and a good restaurant suit the business tarveller

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ebrahim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Oscar in reception and Keith in the restaurant were exceptionally helpful and truly accommodating throughout my stay. They consistently provided warm hellos and were always eager to assist. They’re both an invaluable asset to the property. Having a designated concierge to assist with recommendations regarding area restaurants and tours would have been very helpful. One day I was directed to a tour that was closed for bookings, however I didn’t find out until after I arrived at the location! (unfortunately Oscar was off that day)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great choice, second time we are using this hotel for our conference, will return again! Food was good, staff very friednly and accommodating. Conference team agreed that we could during the entire weekend replace the conference floor's male/female bathroom signs with gender neutral signs! That was excellent! Reception staff was very accommodating with our conference participants. Everyone in the team went teh extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LieslBjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've stayed here num,erous times over the past 2 years as I travel to Cape town frequently on business.
Pros:
Great rooms, comfortable, modern and elegantly appointed. Comfortable beds with good linen. Very friendly staff and if you are a fan of cookies, the warm cookies at check in are a nice touch. Room service meals are quite good for those nights when you want to lay low. shuttle service to V&A waterfront departs hourly and is complimentary.

Cons:
Not much to do close by and the area surrounding is sort of seedy. Don't advise walking alone at night. as a business hotel; could use faster wireless internet. Tiny Gym with only 1 treadmill and elliptical. sometimes you have to wait.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderingjoybringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Address: 31 Brickfield Road | Cape Town, Woodstock 7925, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing