We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The double tree has helpful friendly staff and a lovely feel to it. rooms are warm and inviting and the food is superb. I also love the fact they have a shuttle to the V and A waterfront and its free of charge so you don't have to drive after work/meetings when you are tired. the ambiance is really great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Angella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel ! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - i will pass your compliments on to our Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Picked this up for ~$55 per night which includes free parking and Wi-Fi. The in room dining service is good (relatively quick, not too pricey and the food's good too). If you're going to travel to Sea Point, Green Point or towards more downtown Cape Town I suggest you use the hotel taxi service (R100 flat fee which is cheaper than a metered taxi and only takes about 15 min). Here's why it didn't get a 5 star rating -the bathroom only has a shower (no bath) and there's not enough closet space for 2 people... Other than that, I would say it's better than your average Double Tree experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina_JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -when we built the hotel we took our commitment to water conservation very seriously and to this end we only have 38 rooms with bath's the rest have walk in showers. On your next stay with us - a deluxe room would come with a bath and they do also have a slightly larger closet.

Kins regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fake smiles and fake friendliness may be the trend at many hospitality institutions, however the staff of this hotel personifies integrity in the manner of their approach and dealings with their guests. Whether you pay R600 or R6000 - they treat you with the same respect and dignity - that is the trademark of an establishment that does not treat you on the value of your wallet, but the value of your worth of mouth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Adri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us ! I will pass your comments on to all my members of staff . We do hope to welcome you back again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

An amazing place with amazing service. I have stayed at this place every time I go to Cape Town. Very comfortable and a very homely feel. Stunning music while I eat my dinner. Caters for clients dinners because of the professional outlook of restaurant. Very safe and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Craig - thank you so much for this great review ! We are delighted that you always stay with us on your trips to Cape Town. We look forward to your return !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

the stay was of great experience and the hotel was of good service including the staff and the cookie was great unfortunaletly on my depature the staff member forgot to give me my invoice but when i called them they were able to send it through my email. much appreciated

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for your comments - i apologise for the inconvenience cause regarding your invoice and i am pleased that we rectified the problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back - there is a chocolate chip cookie with your name on it !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My family visited Capetown without fixed plans for seeing the city. The hotel staff was extremely helpful in helping with arrangements, and even changed our schedule for the next day when we were out (due to cancellation). The breakfast was excellent, and the hotel was clean and spacious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank JHalbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review - i am delighted that my team were able to arrange your sightseeing to your satisfaction. I have passed your compliments on to our breakfast team as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Hotel is relatively good. Situated in an area with no traffic(noise!), and a pleasant view of the 'Mountain' behind it. Unfortunately, some rooms do not have any lovely view, but the location is close enough to the city centre, but far enough to prevent the husstle and busstle from disturbing you. The hotel shuttle service is excellent to take you to the WaterFront, and is only about 10 mins away. Rooms are excellent, and the various amenities in and around the Hotel are adequate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Benitto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel - as you know we are located in Woodstock and some of the rooms do have a view of the area and not all unfortunately have views of the mountain. I am delighted that you took advantage of our frequent shuttle service to the V & A Waterfront.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,373 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#55 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
831 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Address: 31 Brickfield Road, Woodstock 7935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £51 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing