We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had an excellent stay at this Hotel. Dinner & breakfast were excellent, a lot of variety and very well prepared. Excellent service by staff. I always love their choc chip cookies. The room rate was very reasonable for the 5-star service we got. Although we've to Cape Town many times, it was our first time at this hotel and I will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoluM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind review - i am so pleased that you enjoyed your first ever stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back again soon - There is a chocolate chip cookie here with your name on.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had a wonderful experience recently when I stayed there for business purposes. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who went out of their way to ensure that my every need was catered for. Because I have stayed at this hotel before, I was welcomed like long lost family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lydia T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to The DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside - i am delighted that you enjoyed your return. I have passed your compliments on to my entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The food we were served at Liberty's restaurant at the Double Tree Hilton Hotel was fantastic - that coupled with a gorgeous, stylish hotel plus a beautiful view of Table Mountain, made for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank cherylp640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we pride ourselves on the quality of food from Liberty's Restaurant -i will pass on your compliments to our Executive Chef and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great value for money at this conveniently located hotel. Close to the best restaurants in town and the popular Neighbourgoods Market. Best shower ever. Absolute recommendation. The hotel decor was a bit too much for our taste but they offered great service at an incredible price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Noël W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially enjoyed our convenient location to The Biscuit Mill .

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Every time I stay at the Upper Eastside hotel in Cape Town I always think there are many hotels which could learn a lesson or two from this hotel. I've been staying with them from years (pre and post the Hilton ownership change) and I must say that I'm still impressed with them. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the hotel also has a really lovely aesthetic which makes them stand out. Our Saturday evening was spent with a bottle of wine and a cheese board from their room service menu - they seem to have an eye for quality which shows through in something as simple as a cheese board. It arrives served on a gorgeous piece of wood with each cheese paired with a base such as strawberries, caramelized pecan nuts etc. Keep it up Upper Eastside - don't lose this eye for quality, keep your aesthetic fresh and your staff friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Wow - thank you much for this wonderful review - this is what makes our job worth while ! I am so pleased you enjoyed our cheese platter i will pass on your compliments to the Chef and his team. We so look forward to your return !

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

An excellent experience in every way - we could not fault the staff, the facilities or the accommodation. Great location too. We cannot comment on the dining facilities as we did not eat at the hotel. However, the chocolate chip cookies were memorable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review - we really appreciate the time taken to post a review ! So pleased you liked our famous chocolate chip cookies !

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

when you hear the word Hilton, you kind of have a certain expectation in Mind and you hope that all Hotels that bear this name will subcribe to the whole Hilton's brand philosophy, the Double three hotel in Cape Town does not. The try but not everone lives up to the the brand promise , i had a shocking experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank bonginkosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Bonginkosi Khumalo:

Thank you for your mail after your stay with us. I can understand that you are upset about your vehicle that was clamped in the basement. I must mention that I followed up to see where you had parked on the day of the incident and can feedback that unfortunately you did not park in a hotel parking bay at all. The bay is marked in big bold letters and heeds a warning of a fine as it is a privately owned parking of business that is located in the Upper Eastside Precinct. As much as we as hotel operators can plead forgiveness when guests park in bays owned by other businesses, we have no leg to stand on in such a case as the bay is clearly and boldly marked.

This unfortunately puts the security employed by the body corporate in the development in a difficult position as they have both an obligation towards the business owners in Upper Eastside as well as their clients and their guests. The hotel has extensive parking facilities, which stretches over four levels and we find that these bays adequately serve the required needs of our guests.

I sincerely apologise that you were upset about the incident and I am sure that it is frustrating and aggravating when you are in a rush and something of this nature holds you back.

I trust that you will let me know when you plan to visit our hotel again as I would like to meet you personally.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,314 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside

Address: 31 Brickfield Road, Woodstock 7935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £58 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and contemporary. Each of the 183 hotel rooms and suites are decorated in a fresh, modern and contemporary style, offering sophisticated furnishings and amenities, including central air-conditioning with individual thermostat control and free Wi-Fi internet access. All day dining is offered with the emphasis on fresh ingredients. The restaurant, aptly named Liberty’s, is designed as a hub of activity and specifically caters to the discerning traveller. It incorporates a Smoker’s Lounge, Library and an outside Piazza dining area, all in an urban chic style. The feature of the food and beverage area is the estreet bar offering the finest local wines, including organic wines, South African potstill brandies and the finest single malt and aged whiskeys all in a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing