We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$67
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$67
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,668)
Filter reviews
1,668 results
Traveller rating
875
588
132
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
875
588
132
44
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree loft suite cape town shuttle service free shuttle modern hotel restaurant staff water front table mountain rooms are spacious waterfront uber conference rand taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,668 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2019

Dealing with Hilton Honors assistants telephonically who are unable to provide the local currency value for points in a country that doesn't use $ (South Africa) is a frustrating experience and long winded Hotel reception staff also don't know or have access to the Hilton Honors product in terms of point conversion to the value in currency. When one's stay is based on redeeming points only, it seems obvious that it is not the desired type of stay the operator seeks to serve. Disappointing experience for this hospitality brand whose essence is to make one feel welcome - if it weren't for the staff in the restaurants - we would not have felt welcome at all as the international experience online and via the phone and the disconnect in knowledge with local staff - all the fault of Hilton Honors.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank truthperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2019

We enjoyed our stay. The service was excellent, bed was comfy, room was perfect. We ordered a shuttle to the airport at 3:30 am and there he was ready to go. Food was really good and the whole place was just great.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank VicencioPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBow1, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Dear VicencioPhoto,

Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to see that you had an excellent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019

This is our first trip to South Africa and it started with the Double Tree after we landed in Cape Town. Check in was very smooth, the room was large and comfortable. We have stayed in many hotels worldwide and the restaurant food and service was in the top 10% of our stays.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank bill73green
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBow1, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Dear bill73green,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and you loved the food that our restaurant has to offer. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels in our beautiful country and we hope to see you return soon.

Regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2019

My wife and I stayed here from 24 to 27 June 2019 - mid Winter in Cape Town. We found the location ideal - not too far from the City Centre but also not too near. Easy access to freeways and the main attractions being Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch, V&A, etc. Everything is generally 20 minutes away much to my wife's amusement!

The staff were excellent always offering that mother city smile and easy conversation. An issue with the aircon in our room was seen to very quickly. The room and bathroom were ideal for us, not cramped. The view from the room over the mountain was great. There is also an iron and ironing board in the room.

Breakfast was fantastic with a wide variety of treats. The staff were also exceptional and efficient.

Room tip: Ask for upper floors.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBow1, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2019

Dear A K,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at DoubleTree By Hilton, Cape Town. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we had to offer, as well as the convenient location to where you needed to be.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2019

For the price that you pay, this hotel is beyond your standard expectations. It is super modern, clean and comfortable. Most importantly, every staff that I came across were extremely friendly and eager to provide the best hospitality service possible. Definitely an outstanding hotel with great value!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Camper65119793666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBow1, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you had an all round great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back, where your warm cookie awaits!

Regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews