We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but immaculate rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruteng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita
Ranked #1 of 7 Ruteng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Simple but immaculate rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Away from Labuanbajo, accommodation choices in Flores are limited and the catholic nunnery is one of the more popular choices in Ruteng. It's exceptionally good value and our room, although basic, was huge (housing a double bed and a single bed) and was absolutely immaculate.

The nuns were very pleasant at check-in and when we saw them around the nunnery and at breakfast time.

The hotel is about 30 minutes walk from the centre of Ruteng but there's little need to go into the centre of Ruteng - there is a fantastic restaurant (Spring Hill) about 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Breakfast is simple (bread, egg, tea/coffee) but this is typical of most places in Flores we found.

An excellent, very well-priced option for Ruteng.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
52
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

A Catholic Nunnery that allows outsiders to stay in their many rooms.

We had large room with a decent bathroom and double and single bed.
It's clean and decent, breakfast consisted a fried egg each, no choice, DIY tea or coffee, rice of course, bananas and poor bread. Outstanding point is cleanliness - negative 21:00 curfew
or you're locked out but town is not going to keep you our of your bed anyway!

Close-by Chinese restaurant "Spring Hill" is best on the whole Island in our view -wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The most clean rooms that we have had in Indonesia. Soo nice. The staff, nuns, are super nice. Breakfast is great! Sleeping quality is excellent because there are no noises. Well except choir singing in the morning. But I think that was actually nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmppuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean compared to other accomodation in flores. Nuns are friendly but don't expect travel trips, they just stay out of your way.

Quiet place with little atmosphere.

Paid 190k for a night. Breakfast was fair - toast, banana, egg, coffee, tea.

Could certainly do worse.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshii26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginevra
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights in this structure and I have enjoyed the great hospitality of the nuns and the clean room. As it can be seen on the pictures posted on Trip Advisor, the place is new and very well kept. Value for money is excellent. If you need a place to stay in Reuteng, do not hesitate to go there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeppeGinevra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The sisters are very welcoming, the place is very nice and clean. The rooms a basic but clean. But there is an evening curfew and very little options in the area if you want to go to a restaurant. Ruteng town center is too far away to walk. I would not stay here unless you have some means of transport. Breakfast is very basic and not to be remembered.

Room Tip: There are big differences in size of the rooms. My wife and I slept in a dark room which just fitted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

This place, a kind of monastery, is runned by nuns and trainees of a school for tourism in Flores. For us it was very special, a nice quit atmosphere. After arrival we talked with one of the nuns about their life, she gave us a small tour to the chapel. The rooms are not big, clean and a good shower. Breakfast is complete, not special.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bettieakkumaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruteng
0.0 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#8 of 37 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#12 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
0.0 mi away
Hotel Happy Happy
Hotel Happy Happy
#2 of 10 in Bajawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita

Property: Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita
Address: Jl. A Yani 45, Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Ruteng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ruteng
Also Known As:
Kongregasi Santa Maria Berdukacita Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing