We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Adventure”
Review of TrollAktiv

TrollAktiv
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Evje
Attraction details
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Family Adventure”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked a package to stay in a family cabin at TrollAktiv in August as part of a trip across Norway. The "lodge" we stayed in was spotless and a great base for a family of 2 adults and 3 kids (12,10 & 8).

We stayed for 3 nights and did loads of activities including; elk/beaver safari, climbing, treetop challenge, archery and two favourites of kayaking and rafting. Activities were really well organized and instructors were great with kids - taking time to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves and felt safe.

TrollAktiv is a great place to stay in good accommodation and enjoy fantastic activities.

Visit if you can !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NWeb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wragby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Facilities and Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have just come home from a week at TrollActiv with 20 Scouts & Explorers and the group verdict? It was excellent!

The site is a little near a main road, but it's not all that busy so you mostly forget it's there. It's just worth pointing out in case you have younger kids - keep your eye on them.

That, to be honest, is as bad as my review gets! The campsite is immaculate and there are plenty of free activities too: volleyball, table tennis, scooters, basketball. You will need to leave a deposit if you use any equipment but that's all. The organised activities are superb - and there's so many of them!

We went on the laser battlefield (my favourite), the stand up paddling, the beaver and elk safari and on the ropes course down at Klatre Skogen. All excellent.

You can choose your accommodation too, from tents to lavvos (teepees) to chalets. The rule is lights out and quiet for 11pm and this was pretty well adhered to so well slept well too.

And to top it all the river over the road (the Otra) is amazing - views, rapids, swimming, activities ... but it is FREEZING cold hahaha!!

The staff are excellent too, and are always interested in you and making sure you're having a good time. Simon (the manager) even took 20 minutes out to chat to our older Explorers to explain how you would go about getting a job there and what qualifications they look for for.

Would I recommend TrollActiv - oh yes!
Will I be coming back - oh yes!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well organized, good fun”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Went there for river rafting. Good fun, well organized and competent instructors. Had a good time, though the rafting was a rather short trip of about 1.5 km which we took twice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank flemming321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“MAY BE GOOD FOR RAFTING BUT NOT JUST AS A HOSTEL!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked a room for the night at this centre on a hostel website. The room was tiny, with just a glazed door, so no window and no way of getting some air at night - the block was separated from the main road by a 20 yard stretch of grass so the door could not be left open both for security and noise reasons. It was extremely basic; indeed it had 2 beds, but the top bunk had a slat missing/broken at what would be chest level so was uncomfortable. This was discovered unfortunately just as we went to bed, a bit too late so we had to wait till morning to mention it to staff. The walls were just thin wooden partitions so conversations and noises from next door could not be avoided. Breakfast was basic. The shower (for which you have to pay Nok 10) did not work very well. All in all, very expensive for what we got!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOUIE787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timaktiv, Owner at TrollAktiv, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi, Thanks for the review, it is a shame you did not like your room. It would have been useful for us to have known earlier about the defect bed and your dissatisfaction with the location. We would happily have moved you to a cabin or another room that suited you better. Regarding the walls they are in fact insulated wooden walls with a plasterboard fireproof outer layer and wooden panelling to finish. This is pretty standard for buildings in Norway. Anyhow i hope you had a good holiday in Norway and enjoyed a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good fun for the whole family”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

This is maybe the best organized entertainment in Norway, with lots of funny, healthy activities in the middle of a wonderful nature. There is something for everybody, from families with small kids to companies that want a more active team building event.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TrollAktiv also viewed

Evje og Hornnes Municipality, Aust-Agder
Hornnes, Evje og Hornnes Municipality
 
Central Norway, Norway
Evje, Evje og Hornnes Municipality
 

Been to TrollAktiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing