We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, top marks”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pershore
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very good, top marks”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stay here now and again as I was working in the area. It is a very well appointed small hotel with friendly staff - just what I like when staying away from home. The room as bright and airy and good space for me to work and eat my evening meal. The WiFi worked well and there was plenty of space in the bar/lounge area where I could met with a colleague over a coffee and lunch. I have a couple of hotels that I like in the Cotswolds area and this is definately one of them that I use often.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    162
    96
    44
    31
See reviews for
80
369
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We looked at some of the reviews which were negative, but we brushed them aside as there were some people right or wrong have their own views, we decided to find out. It was my 50th birthday and my wife and I with our closest friends booked the hotel, when we arrived the reception staff were brilliant and very friendly and upgraded us to a luxury room. The room was brilliant. The hotel had a special treat for me which was nice. We went for our meal, I have eaten in many good hotels whilst working away from home, and the food was 10 stars never mind 4 stars, when we ordered the food the meal was brought out my a different waiter and instead of saying who is on this they knew who to serve straight away, total professionalism. They never rushed us, and the evening was brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We are 2 couples who booked 2 rooms for one night bed and breakfast the Angel on 29th October 2013. The rooms were booked in advance and were paid for in full in the amount of £160.00 at the time of booking. We arrived in the evening and had a drink at the bar and a table for dinner for 4 and we made it clear that it was all to be on one room. The following morning I was given a bill for the four of us for £128.70 which I paid in full by credit card. When I returned from holiday I noticed that the Angel had taken 2 charges from my credit card the one I expected for £128.70 and an additional charge of £159.20. There had been no contact from the Angel regarding this additional payment and they had acted unilaterally to take this payment. My immediate thought was that they had mistakenly charged me for the room again as this new charge was a very similar amount to that which I had paid when booking the rooms.
I phoned the Angel and asked to speak to the manager and was told by the person answering the phone that she was the manager. I tried to explain that I had no knowledge of this other charge but the lady continually talked over me and would not listen. Eventually I got through to her that we had already paid for the room. She then checked her records and found that we had already paid for the rooms and had now been charged again and she said to me that "they" not "we" as obviously it was not her, had mistakenly charged for the rooms again. She the said that they would refund my credit card for the room which would be £120.00 which still left me short by £39.20. She then said that she had separate bills for each room and that I did owe the shortfall of £39.20. I tried to explain to her that everything was on one bill so I could not see how there would be 2 bills but this lady was not for listening unless she was speaking. She then said that she would send copies of the bills to me but needless to say they have never arrived! On the next credit card bill I received, they had refunded £120.00 but I am still £39.20 out of pocket and not being local no chance of recovering.
Obviously I would never stay at this place again and if you do have to use this establishment make sure you pay cash.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank mickjones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I so love this hotel, we booked for two nights but ended up stopping for three. It's such a nice place and in a really pretty town. We stayed in a room overlooking the river and it was so peaceful and relaxing. I ended up spending a lot of time sat in my room reading and listening to music as the view was so nice.
I did eat in the hotel each evening and that was very tastey also. I had a very nice pork dish on the first night and a steak on the second and both were exceptional.
I think that the best thing about my stay were how helpfula nd friendly the staff were, they really couldn't do enough to make my stay relaxing and welcoming. I am going to go back in May for another short break.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have great river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we arrived on the 30th of dec ready to share some festive spirit...checking in was a ten minute wait but in all fairness after a sincere apology by a very nice receptionist who gave us a drink on the house rectified the problematic start,,we was looking forward to the advertised dance in the marqee to bring in the new year, again told that this was cancelled ..dissapointed again.. meals was tasty but very very sparing and a bowl of veg and chips was ordered to bolster up our meagre rations.Our.room [superior] was nice but dated showing its age with black mould around the bath, parts of the shower missing and a very small heater to keep you warm that went off very early into the evening..New years dinner a set menu, but partner is a vegetarian so pre booked salmon at least 4 weeks before.. on the night they had NO SALMON,,we was offered hake so reluctantly we accepted, .knowing the sparesness of food you get, we ordered extra veg to .at least make the plate look like it had food on it..the night rolled on when i ordered a double remy martin i was told they had "got none" .. as i could see the bottle i pointed it out to the young girl behind the bar who told me it was champagne,and the sold it by the shot,, so i ordered two shots of champagne [brandy] lol lol. this was served in a straight glass and i was asked if i wanted ice and lemon...i did request at least a brandy glass and in between my laughter one of the other staff rectified the glass issue..5 minutes before midnight the TV was put on a suitable program to let in the new year and we was given a glass of champagne to toast the new year in,,sitting in the bar after with a refreshed double whisky and partners double gin .we got up to go to the loo..on our return both our full glasses had dissapeared although the bar staff had just brought them over,,, discussions took place for replacements and after a lot of persuasion they was replaced,,,, in all we went to bed laughing..i think due to the situation and a few drinks ..i think without the drinks i would have had enough and left ..
i would like to point out that ALL the staff was polite ,willing to please and allways had smiles on there faces, credit to them as i am sure they needed it. to sum up i think it was over priced ..over stated ..poor value and hotel was very dated..so like other replies, look somewhere else if your after value for money...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stopped here about half a dozen time now and have never been disappointed, its a perfect location to catch up with friends. We have stayed in the Worcester Suite, Malvern and Wyre Piddle Luxury rooms, I am always pleasantly surprised that a small local hotel can deliver such great service. The team are great and rely make you feel at home. Breakfast is always first class as is lunch.....see you soon and thanks.

Room Tip: The Suites and Luxury rooms are worth the extra....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv and Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the fourth and last time we stay at the Angel Inn in Pershore. Time and time again there are significant problems with the plumbing and heating. We've stayed in four different rooms.. We've experienced the coldest temperatures, the coldest baths and showers and broken shower heads. This time, amidst a cold shower and attempting to get hot out of it, the hottest water you can imagine comes out the shower nozzle scalding my skin and sending me flying toward the far end. So dangerous.
This is a warning - save your money and stay somewhere else. We will next time. Angel Inn - never again!

Room Tip: If you must stay- check out the room, turn on the tap and the shower and make sure they work. Turn o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 68DJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pershore
4.2 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
5.8 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Pershore WR10 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Pershore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pershore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Inn Hotel is refined and welcoming with an abundance of character and a dedication to food and comfort. Situated in the heart of the charming market town of Pershore, close to the banks of the River Avon, this sensitively refurbished hotel and bar of Tudor origin offers something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Pershore
The Angel Hotel Pershore, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing