We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream hotel”
Review of Casa la Siesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa la Siesta
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 5 nights at this wonderful place. From the moment you arrive at what looks like a country house owned by someone with very good taste you know you have found somewhere special. The hotel is gorgeous and so cleverly put together that you wouldn't know it hadn't been there for hundreds of years. Fantastic pool, big enough for proper swimming. The hotel is small so often you will have the pool to yourself with only the sound of the horses! The staff are incredible and really made us feel like we were staying with friends, the food is brilliant- we had dinner there 3 nights and lunch once- all were delicious. Vejer town is lovely and really comes alive at night- dinner there is a must and the hotel can arrange a taxi if you don't fancy driving. We had a brilliant time and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonJessR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is indeed a beautifully decorated house with lovely gardens. But it is next to a chicken farm. The cockerels crowed from 3am to 7am non stop about 5 metres from our window. The hotel does provide earplugs, but we were exhausted and bleary eyed.
Our 'ensuite' had 2 basins in the bedroom and the toilet in an alcove without a door. We would have preferred more privacy.
The hotel is VERY easy to find. Everyone gets lost as the hotel send you google maps which is about a 5 minute drive in the wrong place. We did ask repeatedly for clear directions to avoid the trap everyone seems to fall into, but we were not provided any. Why slip up here?
The food is delicious, and service is kind although all the staff were new so didn't know the area.
There are ranks of wind turbines next to the hotel.
We asked for a running route, and although the staff didn't know, the owner was out for a run. He told the staff to tell us 'any path is good'. We couldn't find any paths, and were directed to a road.
Overall, it is a beautiful house and garden, but other country hotels in Spain do it better. We wanted unbroken sleep, a loo with a door and good directions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fluffalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We came for our honeymoon. It has excellent facilities with lots of little secret spots tucked away. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The pool is a good temperature, but it can be a little windy at times.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andez34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had four nights at La Siesta and loved it. The hotel is tucked away and you need to follow the directions to find it. They have minimal signage which seems to be part of the 'tucked away' theme of the hotel. The staff are very welcoming and we succumbed to the temptation of lunch and dinner at the hotel on our day of arrival. While good quality food, there are better value restaurants not far away. To be fair to the hotel, they recommend such restaurants and will make reservations for you, and order the complimentary pick up if you go to restaurante Patria.

Our room was huge, with 2 terraces and a freestanding bath. The shutters made for some long sleeps, despite the brief wake-up call at dawn, courtesy of the neighbour's cockerel. The hotel provides complimentary beer and soft drinks from a help-yourself fridge, with an honesty book for wine and spirits, and the staff bring a daily juice creation to guests sat by the pool each afternoon. Breakfast is a nice experience, sat in the sun eating eggs collected that morning from the local farm.

The 18m pool is set in gardens with hidden corners with double sun loungers in total privacy, or sit by the pool with a view across the hills. We didn't try the massages or bicycles. One criticism is the slightly optimistic travel times to local attractions. The beach is about 15 mins, Vejer was the same. We didn't make it to Cadiz, as the pool was too magnetic...

All in all, the perfect place to get away, eat good food and do nothing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

I would like to thank Veronica, the owners and all of the staff for a wonderful stay and for your kind flexibility during our fabulous but too short visit. We had some last- minute hardships with our timing and had to cut our stay to one night. This caused an inconvenience to the establishment and we are so grateful that they went out of their way to accommodate, since this was worth everything! Thank you!

I now understand why this property insists on a two- night minimum. It's really a waste not to enjoy the surroundings for st least that long! I am a traveller who enjoys running from place to place to see as much as possible but even I was sorry that there wasn't more time...

We too had some trouble finding the place but the seclusion is phenomenal and a real highlight. One of the staff stayed on the phone and directed us until we arrived! She also came out to greet us and made us feel special though we were checking in late and checking out again early. Special arrangements were made for our breakfast and the fire- lit lounge was simply magical.

This is a very unique and romantic spot, very highly recommended for couples! Do not think twice if you are considering. I can't wait to go back and have the chance to fully appreciate! Perhaps the best choice of accommodation on our trip! Thank you all!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My girlfriend and I had been looking for a long weekend escape once the lows of the wet London summer and subsequent highs of the Olympics had finally worn off, and we couldn't have chosen a better place to go for some late summer sunshine.

The exciting coast road from Gibraltar via the beaches and kitesurfs of Tarifa were a welcome sight (after a bit of an Orangejet delay caused by the eccentricities of Gibraltar's weather on the flight network), but not as welcoming as the glorious sunshine and first sighting of Casa La Siesta, all the more impressive as the road into Los Parralejos demanded muchos driving attention.... Hard to believe the building is only 3 years old, as the immediate impression is that it has been standing there for years.

Our room was perfect, spacious, with twin aspect views (sunrise to the right, sunset to the left), and the staff (with just the right level of attention), ensured that we had a most welcome chilled glass of the local white wine in hand within 5 minutes of arrival.

Vejer is a great town to mooch around and explore, especially at sunset, but to be frank, when the 'off' switch is set firmly in place, and the blackberry disabled, its perfectly easy to while away the day and early evening lounging by the pool in perfect peace and (relative) solitude. What makes the stay even more homely is the quality of the food, and the intimate dining experience, dotted around the huge courtyard, with just the right amount of privacy, and from what I could judge a perfect lunchtime gazpacho. We tried eating out in Vejer one evening, but to be fair, the in-house dining was superior in every way.

We stayed three nights (which wasn't long enough), and as an antidote to a usually fast paced approach to daily life, we couldn't recommend staying here more. The prevailing demographic was couples, but I can understand how spectacular it would be to host a big party (or a wedding!), here, as the house and its grounds are well proportioned for such a celebration. I think the biggest compliment that can be paid is that Casa la Siesta has the personal touches of a family home, put together with an incredible attention to detail on rustic and period features, but with discrete modern facilities which facilitate a relaxing and romantic getaway experience for anybody looking for a bit of downtime.

Based on a visit to Casa La Siesta, I've decided must haves for my next house will be a spacious grand salon, huge fireplace and bodega, even if we have to dig it out ourselves, and move to Spain to achieve it! And I might have to kidnap Paula, the extraordinarily friendly cat.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Okay it's not the easiest place to find but try using coordinates rather than road names in ur GPS (can be found on their website). Plus the whole point is to be in the middle of nowhere and we absolutely LOVED IT.

The place is so charming and the staff are extremely warm and friendly (kudos to Julia for looking after us so well). We ate dinner in Casa once and I'm still dreaming about their delicious cheesecake to end a lovely meal. Their chef is amazing. The recommended nearby restaurants like Patria and Quatro Gatos were also of an extremely high standard and I'm so jealous that we have nothing close to that kind of great food in my current country of residence.

Not a lot to sightsee in e region - just perfect to get away from the busyness of life and laze around the beautiful courtyard to read and chill out. We did want to visit some bodegas in Jerez, but didn't have any luck as they were closed, & you can't just show up without an appointment (at the smaller, less touristy ones that we were eyeing - Bodega Tradicion / Lustau - english tours are mostly at noon so I guess you shld book ahead if you want to visit).

One thing I'd ask for would be to provide some bedroom slippers. The rest was just perfect. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejer de la Frontera
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
494 reviews
9.0 mi away
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
#1 of 2 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
59 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sindhura
Hotel Sindhura
#2 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,781 reviews
10.5 mi away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, part of Barcelo Hotel Group
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, par...
#3 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,872 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Paso
Hotel El Paso
#3 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa la Siesta

Address: Diseminado los Parralejos s/n, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range: £287 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa la Siesta 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa la Siesta is a beautifully restored country retreat near the white village of Vejer de la Frontera on the Costa de la Luz. With only 7 guest rooms, guests are afforded a level of luxury, space and service that is unrivalled in the area. Only 10 minutes from the beach and championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Booking.com, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Siesta Hotel Vejer De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing