We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous cooking experience!”

Annie B's Spanish Kitchen
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What a fabulous cooking experience!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had never been to Vejer de la Frontera before, so it was a delight to combine our first trip to the town with a visit to Annie B's Spanish Kitchen. Annie first of all took us to Barbate market where we bought all the fresh ingredients, including pargo and lubina for making our salt-baked fish dish. To our amazement, whilst we were inside the market a "flash mob" appeared and began dancing and singing, much to the amusement of the stall-holders - though I don't suppose this treat can always be arranged for all visitors!

Annie is particularly knowledgeable about the almadraba method of catching Atlantic bluefin tuna and, as a passionate "sherry educator", knew exactly which tipple went with each dish we prepared later in the day. She guided us through her selection of delicious recipes which were easy to prepare (even for a relatively novice cook like my husband), but which looked much more elaborate.

Annie is excellent teacher and we had a fantastic time at Casa Alegre. As she tailors her cooking days according to your level of expertise and interests, I would recommend a visit to Annie B's Kitchen to anyone.

Can't wait to go back and try a different kind of cooking. Thanks for a memorable time, Annie.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MCB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Annie is fantastic”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a wonderful time going to the market, cooking and spending the day with Annie. She is personable, warm and friendly. We learned a lot about the food and sherry of Andalucía, we learned how to prepare a number of Spanish dishes and we had a delicious lunch.
Beyond her cooking class, Annie offered to help us plan our trip to Spain. She was invaluable help to us. She suggested interesting places to see and different kinds of tours in a number of cities, she helped us rent an apartment in Vejer, she arranged for a fabulous guide in Tangier (Ahmed Taoumi) and she took us on a fascinating and enjoyable sherry tour. She even made suggestions about hotels and restaurants. We cannot thank her enough. She made our trip the enjoyable vacation that it was.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cooking Holiday”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I have been to Annie B's a couple of times now, and 'cooking holiday' doesn't really do it justice. It's more a trip into the wonderful world of Spanish food and drink - with the recipes and skills you pick up along the way an added bonus. Annie is a delight and her passion for everything to do with the (superb) local produce comes through at every turn. She's also a sherry-file, so if there's anything you didn't know about one of the world's most misunderstood - and best - wines, she's the person to tell you all about it.

Cooking aside, her house is stunning, opening out from a lovely central patio with to-die-for views from the roof terrace. Vejer de la Frontera is one of our favourite, but also undeniably one of the most beautiful villages in the whole of Spain, and is packed with places to eat (from smart restaurants to authentically scruffy neighbourhood tapas bars). Plus there are gorgeous nearby beaches in every direction.

It's perfect, basically.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cooperi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant. A perfect, sublime day”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A day in Annie's beautiful kitchen is just perfection. Learning to make mouth-wateringly delicious food with Annie was an absolute joy - she's such a great teacher, you know you're in the hands of a real pro. And I loved the fact that the dishes are not fussy, so it's food you want to go straight home to make again. As she knows the region so well, you don't just get great recipes, but stunning wine and sherry recommendations (plus delicious glasses of it!). Her knowledge of sherry is immense and she will introduce you to real gems. The whole day, starting from buying fish in the market, was just sublime - very fun and relaxing. I'm definitely going again. Very, very highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SenoritaRamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rota, Spain
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely Worth It!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A group of us girls took the Moroccan class. We spent the whole day with Annie and learned how to cook great food and enjoy it all at the same time. Annie is very sweet and definitely has a love for cooking and sharing and will answer any questions want to ask her.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amylewis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annie B's Spanish Kitchen also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to Annie B's Spanish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing