We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tarantella

La Tarantella
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just about adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

For some reason, this place is listed twice. As another reviewer pointed out, it's La Tarantella.
We went to La Tarantella twice during our week long stay in Vejer. The first time was fine, (not outstanding), but the pizzas were good, the service acceptable and the rooftop terrace was pretty, with nice lighting. Blankets were provided as the evening became cooler, and the other customers seemed as relaxed and as unhurried as we were.
Our return visit was a different story entirely. An unsmiling waitress took us upstairs, again to the roof terrace and we were shown to a table by the balcony with a view over the hills (we were much further back by the steps on our first visit). The same sullen staff member returned to us after twenty minutes and asked us to move tables as ours was "reserved". There had been no indication of this.
We decided not to order pizzas again but I have to say the food we chose was fine --lasagne/tagliatella/salads -- essentially Italian based, with Spanish style presentation. The fresh ingredients were all adequately prepared. The service, however, remained unfriendly, almost aggressive. Definitely one of the worst waitresses I have ever encountered. We would never return.

Helpful?
Thank paulsgirlrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    47
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just about adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went to La Tarantella twice during our week long stay in Vejer. The first time was fine, (not outstanding), but the pizzas were good, the service acceptable and the rooftop terrace was pretty, with nice lighting. Blankets were provided as the evening became cooler, and the other customers seemed as relaxed and as unhurried as we were.
Our return visit was a different story entirely. An unsmiling waitress took us upstairs, again to the roof terrace and we were shown to a table by the balcony with a view over the hills (we were much further back by the steps on our first visit). The same sullen staff member returned to us after twenty minutes and asked us to move tables as ours was "reserved". There had been no indication of this.
We decided not to order pizzas again but I have to say the food we chose was fine --lasagne/tagliatella/salads -- essentially Italian based, with Spanish style presentation. The fresh ingredients were all adequately prepared. The service, however, remained unfriendly, almost aggressive. Definitely one of the worst waitresses I have ever encountered. We would never return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paulsgirlrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The warm goats cheese salad starter was divine. The main courses we chose of entrecôte and solo milo were superb. Excellent food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great setting with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Visited the first time with relatives - got a great table on the roof terrace. Food was very good and reasonably priced too - specially recommend the black spaghetti with chilli prawns.
Service was a bit off though - the waiter didn't really engage and you felt a little like you were an irritant he could do without.
We went again as a couple and again the same sort of experience - good table, good food and the service could be better

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vejerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is a bad review...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

(The correct spelling of the restaurant's name is La Tarantella.)

I don't particularly like giving a business a bad review but if they deserve one, they will get one.

Where to start? Let's start with the waiter on the upper terrace of this restaurant. His indifferent attitude was very evident as soon as we got up there to ask where we could sit (on the empty terrace). We couldn't sit near the balcony because they were only tables for four (and two of us) and we were told they were all "reserved", so we sat further back. After a while he took our order...two glasses of house white wine, one entrée and two pizzas. The glasses of wine arrived and some time later two pizzas. When we told him that we had ordered an entrée of artichoke hearts in olive oil he looked surprised and told us he had no recollection of any order. Ok, we said, the pizzas are here, let's just forget the entrée. We then took a good look at the pizzas and our first thoughts were they looked like supermarket versions with their layer of melted grated cheese. I had a few slices of pepperoni on mine and my partners was pine nut and basil with just four sad looking leaves of basil, some of which were under the cheese. They were both very salty and greasy. I really like pizzas and eat them frequently when out and I also make my own, so I know a poor one when I see it and taste it and these were definitely in the category of "not very good". We decided not to bother with dessert.
We didn't see the waiter when we left as we were told to pay downstairs (and he then disappeared). On paying, we weren't asked if we enjoyed the meal nor did we have any feeling of friendliness from the man who took our money.

This restaurant opened in June and it's Spanish owner was quoted in the local press as saying "There is so much competition now I had to work out carefully what would be my niche. I certainly knew about fresh fish, but figured that what the centre still didn't have was a good Italian restaurant."
I'm sorry to write that on first (and last for us) impression, it still doesn't.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris-not-Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tarantella also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to La Tarantella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing