We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something from a fairytale”
Review of Escondrijo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vejer de la Frontera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Escondrijo
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“something from a fairytale”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We have never written a review before, but felt the need to this time. Escondrijo is like a fairytale castle. As you approach Vejer it sits on top of a Spanish hill top and looks like sugar lumps all stuck together. We stayed for a week for our wedding anniversary and enjoyed every minute. Netty and Nigel are the best hosts, and in previous reviews, make ' the best breakfast granola!' Nigel and Netty are bundles of knowledge for walks, beaches, restaurants etc. Their dog 'Duna' is lovely and good company also! Vejer is a beautiful spanish village, small little tapas bars are all delicious, make sure you swot up on your Spanish! We hired a car for the first time from airport to get there and found it very easy, a car is essential to get to the beautiful beaches and have a look around. We had the beach nearlly to ourselves one day! We would definately recommend Escondrijo to everyone, we will endeavour to get back there! thank you Netty and Nigel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed in the large room downstairs with a stocked mini-bar, lovely bathroom, and mezzanine level with a hammock. Nigel was very friendly and helpful with maps, recommendations etc and breakfast was delivered to the room to enjoy at one's leisure. The bed was very comfortable and there is a kitchenette that has coffee/tea making facilities and complimentary first bottle of water. The laundry service (EUR 10 per bag) was much appreciated as we were in middle of travelling and it was great to have fresh laundry at such reasonable prices.
The view from the balcony is amazing and Vejer is a very pretty white town. Driving and parking may be a bit difficult but we were lucky to park in the plaza as helpfully recommended by Nigel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This is a lovely small hotel in Vejer de la Frontera. Our room was at the top of the house with its own terrace where a great breakfast was served each morning (the homemade granola deserves a special mention here). The owners, Nigel and Nette were friendly and really helpful with suggestions for places to visit along the Costa de la Luz, although we were quite happy to laze on our terrace or stroll around the cobbled streets of Vejer itself. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chembemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We spent a great week at Escondrijo in early August. Nigel and Netty are excellent hosts always available to share their excellent local knowlege. We stayed in room IV with a comfortable bed, small kitchen / living area and great rooftop terrace with views over the town to the countryside beyond and glimpses of the African coast on the horizon. Breakfast on the terrace was always delicious and a great way to start the day.

The property provides easy access to the town square, bars and restaurants. The annual festival was on during our visit bringing a great vibe to the town and lots of extra visitors. This did make parking a problem - parking is reasonably plentiful in the town although you must park and walk to Escondrijo at all times because of the narrow streets. During the festival parking is a problem but this is only during a couple of weeks of the year.

For an authentic experience of Spain this is a great base within a beatufil town and with access to the excellent beaches of the area. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigelfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful little hideaway a few years ago, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. So much so, we've been meaning to review it for some time, and finally we're crossing it off our list! Firstly, the owners, Nigel & Netty, are simply wonderful hosts. We'd never hired a car abroad before this trip, and Nigel was particularly great at planning our routes and helping with directions. We stayed in the room with the hammock, which was large and comfortable, had lovely decor and arty touches, and a lovely balcony and great view (rooftops and countryside). It's a very quiet and peaceful location, and you feel very much at home there. The only downside to the room was that it could have done with a little more wardrobe space (we stayed for 10 days so had a lot of luggage!). There was a small kitchen area which was great and meant we could buy our own drinks and food if we liked. There's an honesty bar and cosy snug area to watch DVDs or read a book - there are plenty of books, magazines and dvds around to make you feel at home. In fact this feels more like a fabulous private home than a hotel. The rooms were modern but cosy with unique little touches. The location is fantastic and very pretty - it's easy to get to other towns and cities from here. The only location downside is that the hotel is on a hill, so you have to park in the square below and carry the bags (but of course Nigel helped!). I felt this added to the charm of the place though. This hotel didn't offer facilities like a pool or room service, but if you want a peaceful, boutique experience in a wonderful location, go and stay here. It's lovely.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CITY_BREAK_KAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My husband and his brother stayed here in May of this year during the Moto GP races in Jerez. During the day they attended the races, and I amused myself in the room and village, though we did all venture in to Cadiz the first day we were in Vejer de la Frontera.

Nigel and Nettie are open and welcoming, and set up a cozy family atmosphere with their small children, dog Dula and cat Pinky. We stayed in Room 1, which is the largest suite, with a reading loft space, fold-out couch, comfortable bed, and private rooftop terrace. It is spacious, well ventilated, and comfortable. Escondrijo provided laundry services for us (we were at the halfway point in our 2-week trip) for a reasonable rate, and there are many books and CDs available for guest use, as well as a little bar area in the room with an electric kettle, free coffee/tea, and a well stocked honor bar with fridge.

Downstairs is a lovely common area with TV and DVDs as well as more books and a full honor bar, again for guest use.

The village of Vejer de la Frontera is beautiful, quaint, and clearly a town where locals and seasoned travelers visit because it is scenic and very quiet, versus tourist hubs like Malaga and Granada. We found great local food at a range of prices. But I probably enjoyed Escondrijo's breakfast the most - fresh fruit, yogurt, home-made granola, a variety of breads, ham, and cheese. I also appreciated that the owners speak English.

The only issues I would mention is that it is a steep 200m hill between the nearest luggage drop-off point (Plaza D'Espagne) and the hotel, and parking - while free - is limited to a few areas in the outskirts of town. Still, we did not have trouble finding parking during our visit. But those with limited walking stamina may want to consider before coming.

I highly recommend Escondrijo for those looking to base out of a homey, very comfortable and flexible lodging either for a total respite, or as a hub for day trips to Cadiz, Jerez, etc. We had a wonderful experience here.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I had my fourth trip to Vejer and third consecutive stay at Escondrijo in June. It is a really special place - not easy to describe the chilled atmosphere, the loveliness of Netty and Nigel and the enormous sadness you feel every time you leave. I took my sister as a treat and she fell in love with the town and the hotel - it's magical. I'm a keen horse-rider and normally come with a riding friend so we now have a neat little repertoire of good riding schools with fabulous Andalucian horses - Netty was helpful in finding some gems for us. The town has some really fun restaurants - touristy food and 'local' food all available just a short walk away. Beaches are stunning - wild and windy on occasion so not for the dedicated sun worshipper. Go - it's gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejer de la Frontera
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
#5 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
103 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sindhura
Hotel Sindhura
#2 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#3 of 21 in Vejer de la Frontera
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Shelly Hospederia
Casa Shelly Hospederia
#1 of 21 in Vejer de la Frontera
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escondrijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondrijo

Property: Escondrijo
Address: Callejon Oscuro 3 | Vejer de la Frontera, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Escondrijo Hotel Vejer De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing