We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice "petit hôtel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Botica de Vejer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The town of Vejer de la Frontera is a great place for a week stroll, we stayed at La Botica hotel and is a nice location, very close to the towns center and the restaurants area. All the staff is friendly and helpful, you wont find any xtra commodities; the room has small windows, the breakfast is good enough, but the overall experience is very positive and the small hotel has its own charm.

Room Tip: all the room options are very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moncho U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Hotel is situated in the heart of the old town-spotlessly clean and air conditioned.Wi fi connection available if you sit in foyer. Some reviews criticise the breakfast-bread, jams, coffee/juice/cerals-but this is the only real negative. Hotels in Vejer are not likely to be like your 4 star chain hotels in any case. Stayed in 2 other places in Vejer-and this is the best we ve experienced.Would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul30860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Fantastic place, very well renovated and clean! Very central, with a great view from our silent and bright bedroom, good breakfast, nice and friendly staff! On top of that, the old village of Vejer de la Frontera is absolutely splendid and offers very nice food, too! A connection to the Internet is available, too, but only in the main areas. Anyway, this is a place I would love to go back to!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giusi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is our second visit to La Botica. Our first was booked on line, not really knowing what we would get. We wanted somewhere roughly an hour away from the port as we run trips to Morocco. When we got there we hadn't really appreciated the distance from the car park for our clients to bring their bags to the hotel, it's about a 10 min walk up hill. But my goodness me, when you get there it really is worth it. My advise is to email them and ask for a map and take a "light" overnight bag, if you are not fit or have a family. We did have a few grumbles from our clients but it really is worth the walk.
During both of our stays all of our clients we treated with utmost care. La Botica has a wonderful calm, tranquil atmosphere and although there was a young family staying on the ground floor next to us, incredibly peaceful. The rooms are simply but beautifully decorated. Wifi is available. Breakfast is your normal Spanish B & B style, very plentiful. You have to remember this is not a hotel!!
Owners can recommend restaurants or it is very easy to find a bar sample wonderful tapas.
A wonderful town, fantastic history, well worth spending a couple of nights here!!
I have read the previous comments and cannot say that we have had the same experience. I totally agree that the music playing during a festival must be very annoying but we slept on the ground floor, next to a small family and was not disturbed by any household duties only the gentle chatting of the child next door. There is a separate wing to Le Botica, to the right of the reception, completely away from the area the lady commented about. Perhaps she could have asked to move rooms? Whilst we were there they were rebuilding the plaza, using heavy duty machinery, this didn't disturb us either. I think in the day, noise really doesn't travel as badly.
The customer service we have was fantastic. The owner could not have put herself out further to accommodate us. We will be using them again.

Room Tip: Views are better from the second floor. First floor rooms open onto a little interior courtyard that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loopylouhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Botica_de_Vejer, Owner at Hotel La Botica de Vejer, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to La Botica. It was truly a pleasure having you as our guests and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.


Also, we would like to mention that there is a possibility to assist you with parking and luggage on your arrival, especially in case of groups or families travelling with a lot of luggage. Please, let us know in advance if you are interested.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future!

Best Regards,

La Botica de Vejer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My first piece of advice about Vejer in general is not to go there anytime between August 10th to 24th if you value a decent night's sleep. There is a night-time festival in honour of the Patron Saint of Vejer and there was very loud music playing in Plaza De Espana each of the four nights we were there. The Plaza is very near La Botica so we had terrible sleep. Our last night there was Friday the 24th and the music finished at around 6 a.m. Naturally this is not the fault of the owners. However, back to the hotel! Initially I thought it was beautiful, full of character and everything we would want for a relaxing four night stay. It took us some time to find it but that is the quaintness and charm of the streets of Vejer. We had a lovely double room on the ground floor, facing an indoor patio where people dined in the morning. This sounds charming but the reality was there were people eating breakfast right outside your door and some of them were talking more loudly than others so it wasn't always possible to rise gently out of the 3 or 4 hour sleep we'd gotten from the previous night's disturbance in the Plaza. The floors in the room were tiled which is quite soothing in the heat but also very noisy if you're on the ground floor and people are moving things around in the room above you during the night or early morning. Leaving aside the noise from the festival it was very noisy inside the hotel which really put a damper on our stay. The irony of it is there are notices around the hotel and in people's rooms asking them to observe silence in common areas as a mark of courtesy to other guests. However the lady working there each morning, who is a very nice lady, was making a ton of noise getting breakfast ready and generally carrying out chores on the ground floor from around 8 a.m. I was not impressed with the breakfast either. We had just come from a stay in a fabulous hotel in Seville which charged a similar room rate to La Botica and served us a fresh continental breakfast on the roof top terrace each morning. The breakfast in La Botica was concentrated orange juice, packet muesli and white bread with ham, salami and triangles of processed cheese. Admittedly there was plenty of it but it came across as being a cheap alternative that required little effort on the part of the owners as we served ourselves. I would definitely go back to Vejer again because I loved the town and the people in it but I don't think I would chance the disturbance of a stay in La Botica which is a shame as it appears on the surface to be a very tranquil environment. Finally it is quite surprising given the festivities that were on while we stayed in Vejer that we were not asked if we enjoyed our visit. This hands off approach could be construed as poor customer service. There are signs outside the door of La Botica crediting it with recommendations from Le routard and I'm sure it will continue to get plenty of bookings but it would be wise to pay a little more attention to the customer and to consider ways of minimising noise within the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BessMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel was absolutely wonderful! The Owners are very gracious people. They also have 2 other Hotels one of which I stayed at in Sevilla Called Alacantra. There hotel in Vejer had the best terrace to view all of Vejer and Africa on a clear day. It was a wonderful stay and a 2 minute walk to the best restaurants in town. The rooms are very clean and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces south for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We loved the simply but tastefully decorated rooms - wonderfully comfy beds and stylish bathrooms. The terrace is great and views are amazing across Vejer. Breakfast is simple and could be more interesting but fine. Service is quite hands-off but we liked that and felt relaxed and at home there. Good location on a small street. Mainly couples there..so we fitted in!

Room Tip: all lovely but get one with views down across Vejer if you can rather than into the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejer de la Frontera
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
#5 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
116 reviews
9.8 mi away
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
#1 of 1 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Rural Leonor
Casa Rural Leonor
#4 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#4 of 22 in Vejer de la Frontera
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Shelly Hospederia
Casa Shelly Hospederia
#1 of 22 in Vejer de la Frontera
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Botica de Vejer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Botica de Vejer

Address: Calle Canalejas 13, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range: £55 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La Botica de Vejer 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal La Botica is situated within the walls of the old town of Vejer de la Frontera, and it owes its name to the fact that it was once the local pharmacy (Botica meaning pharmacy in old Spanish). This has been the inspiration behind the names of the bedrooms, all of which pertain to different schools of pharmacy.La Botica could be described as a home-hotel; we would like our guests to feel like welcome visitors in our home, rather than clients, and we believe that this is the best place to stay in Vejer.We have placed particular emphasis upon creating comfortable rooms in which the charm of the building itself, its location, and the views offer the defining character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Botica de Vejer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing