We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, excellent value”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The Hotel Convento is an impressive building. The hotel has been created sympathetically within the original convent building. The dining room is the old refectory. The rooms are all tastefully furnished.
The staff are all friendly and helpful.
The hotel has a large bar which is used to exhibit paintings by local artists it is great just to linger over a coffee in the afternoon.
This hotel is not just for the tourists but is really used by the local community.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    31
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Sometimes it is good to stay somewhere different, and we feel we achieved it with this one. A charming hotel, full of character, in a lovely but rather busy Vejer de la Frontera. The hotel has been sympathetically restored retaining much of the character of a convent. Our rooms were simply furnished with a small bathroom, anything more would not have seemed right. You can get to the hotel without going through winding alleys so it is necessary to check the map first. There was plenty of on street parking around the corner of the hotel, but this quickly disappears as evening approaches as everyone arrives to make use of the restaurants. Breakfast at the hotel was rather basic - coffee, orange juice and a tostada but the restaurant staff were lovely. We had a room on the second floor facing the square, this gave us beautiful views of the town and castle as well as the surrounding countryside. I imagine the first floor would have been quite noisy as it is right above the square which is busy until the small hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

its a very special hotel in a very picturesque setting in one of the pueblos blancos.
I would agree with the other reviewers, that the hotel is as shown on the website - its very comfortable but not over the top.
We went for the medio pension option and were delighted with the food in the evening, although the restaurant was usually empty, and the breakfast was just right - the traditional local fare of fresh squeezed orange juice, tostado with tomato/ oil or jam and really lovely coffee.
All of the staff were so helpful, the waiters, the reception and the room maids, and nothing was too much trouble for them. There is a computer which you can use in reception which was very useful.
We used it as a base for 8 days and went to the beaches most days but also visited Cadiz, Ronda and Gibraltar. Vejer itself is gorgeous and you can wander round the narrow streets and pop in an out of bars and restaurants.
willl definitely go back there, its a really lovely part of Spain.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me_yes_its_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel is ouzing with character and the conversion from a convert has been sympathetically done with clean and welcoming bedrooms, good quality bed linens and towels and a simple bathroom. the air con is very effective, top tip - the bedroom mirror in our room was on the inside of the wardrobe door, found it as we were checking out after struggling to dry my hair with no mirror the night before. Ask for a room facing away from the square for a better view and quiet.
Breakfast was basic, toast, juice and tea / coffee. I would stay here again, great value and friendly service from the lady on reception who provided us with maps of the area.
We LOVED Vejer - a fantastic typical Andalucian town with great bars and restaurants and fab white sand beaches just a short drive away. Our recoommended restaurant is El Jardin de Califa just off the main square, stunning setting in a sunken courtyard and moroccan influenced food. We found a great beach at Zahorah and had a memorable lunch there at the Sajorami Beach Hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back, away from the busy square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenwilson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grande, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 4 nights. A beautifully decorated, rustic hotel in the center of this small village. Our room was very comfortable and cozy. The heat was easily adjustable. A nice feature: incense was provided daily and we used it. How nice is that? The staff were always helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant and bar located in the hotel and the service was good. Breakfast was included. It was nothing special just your typical morning tostado and coffee. On the morning that we left, it was very early and breakfast wasn't being served yet but the man at the desk who called the taxi for us (to catch the bus), gave us bottles of juice to take with us.
I want to visit this town again and I will stay at this same hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The rooms here are pretty basic, but the high wood beam ceilings, monastic feel, and stunning views did it for me.

Like everyone else says, driving and parking in Vejer de la Frontera is harrowing. To wit, one of the convoluted cobblestone "roads" we drove in on, after about 60 hairpin turns, suddenly turned into a staircase. My husband should get a medal for backing out of there.

The hotel seems to have ironed out the issues that prior reviewers complained about. Far from being too cold, the heat was actually turned too high when we arrived. The temperature is adjustable. The queen-size beds are firm but comfortable. The showers are small but have good water pressure. The breakfast is, in fact, included in the room price.

The hotel restaurant was overpriced, but we found a nearby bakery and cheap/amazing tapas joint fully owned and staffed by one Portuguese guy, with which we began and ended every day.

During off-season, Vejer de la Frontera is really insanely charming. My expectations were low after hearing about how touristy it was becoming, but we had it all to ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saramichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Couple in late 30's
We arrived by car from the southside from costa del luz.
the drive in vejer is not easy (small streets / hilly) so try and make sure you know where you are going before arriving and wondering around to find the hotel
The hotel has 2 parking spaces, there is a carpark down the road for free (5 min) if required.
it is located right in front of the old center and next to one of the main plazas with restaurants.

The hotel is cute and has a restaurant as well.
reception was great and helpful
The room was good size and well decorated but the heating was not great, probably due to the high ceilings so can be a bit chilly at night even though they have loads of covers.
The bathroom is fine with power shower and the room has a good size tv if required.

The inclusive breakfast was simple (tostas - toasted bread with olive and tomato with fresh juices and coffee) but great. Only problem is the waiter kind of blanked us for 10 min :)

If you want to use vejer as a central point while you wonder around the costa del luz, it is possible as the coast places are 20k max from there are barbate for ex does not seem like the place you ant to stay on the coats
conil de la Frontera and zahara de la atunes seems to be the best places we saw for the beach

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaozinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejer de la Frontera
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
457 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sindhura
Hotel Sindhura
#2 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Paso
Hotel El Paso
#3 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Rural Leonor
Casa Rural Leonor
#4 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
59 reviews
3.1 mi away
El Palomar de la Brena
El Palomar de la Brena
#2 of 8 in Barbate
141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Carmen
Hotel Playa del Carmen
#4 of 8 in Barbate
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento de San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento de San Francisco

Property: Hotel Convento de San Francisco
Address: Calle Plazuela s/n, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Convento de San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Convento de San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing