We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Agriturismo POGGIO SALVI is a cute little place near Siena. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. From here you can visit all the great locations: Siena, Volterra, Cortona and San Gimignano.
The apartments are clean and nicely decorated. The grounds are well kept and the swimming pool is very relaxing. There are enough nice restaurants near the appartment; the owners help to find the nearest ones via a shortlist.
We had a great time there. One thing you should keep in mind; the musquitos are very active there between 5 and 8 in the afternoon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

After a fiasco at the rental agency, we could not wait to get out of Florence and into the countryside. Dreams of rolling wines, brunello di montalcino and chianti on the mind. Now we had a bit of a scare on the way down as the address Poggio Salvi provides does not pull up on the GPS.

Well, let's just drive to Sovicille and hope we find it. That was all we needed to do as once you reach the tiny tiny town of Sovicille, you will see the signs to Poggio Salvi. It was a welcome relief to see our home for 5 days.

Massimo is a gracious host his apartments are beautiful. Warm and decorated in a tuscan style that makes you realize why so many people flock to Tuscany. The grounds are beautiful. Pool, Jacuzzi, tables and chairs reserved for each apartment. And of course Giotto, the beautiful golden that runs the grounds and loves his guests.

Our apartment was very spacious. We had small kitchen with enough supplies to get us through. Make your own espresso in the morning and cook on the gas stove. Fireplace was running every night. They have plenty of wood for you. We cooked in three out of four nights as it was so nice to sit around with some good vino and just enjoy each other.

Right below our apartment was the wine spicket (literally!) Massimo provides his guests the option to purchase by the 1/2 or 1 liter. 3 euros for amazing house wine is a nice way to start before you get into the good stuff.

Bed was one of the more comfortable on the trip (not saying much, but it did fine.)

The view was the only part lacking. Its not what you see in typical tuscan photos, but as others have said, it is the perfect home base for Siena and all the major hill towns. We would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Several return visits because of very convenient access to all of central Tuscany and very warm, sincere hosts, Massimo and Claudia.

Four apartments, fully equipped, pool in season, fireplaces for colder weather, hot tub fired up on request.

15 minutes to heart of Siena, 45 minutes to edge of Florence, hour to Montalcino, etc.

Discovered Siena train station this year - much easier to hop on trains to Florence, Bologna, Venice etc than driving and parking in these neighboring major cities. Full groceries in San Rocco and Rosia, about 10 minutes driving.

Room Tip: Apartments are comfortably equipped for 1-, 2-, 3- and 4-person reservations. But, Poggio Salvi has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We find it hard to believe that Poggio Salvi has only had 13 reviews so far, but we're not surprised to see that all of them were very good to excellent. We just returned from our trip to Italy, and our six nights at Poggio Salvi while touring southern Tuscany were one of the highlights of our trip.

Massimo and his family were gracious, welcoming hosts and every effort was made to ensure that all guests were comfortable and had what they needed. The apartment was kitted out very well, with a well-stocked kitchen, a fireplace, an inviting and comfortable bed, and total peace and quiet. We can't say enough about the hospitality or service at Poggio Salvi - you won't be disappointed.

Situated a little west of Siena, finding Poggio Salvi is straight-forward - we had no GPS and we found it relatively well just with the Michelin map - Massimo has signage at the major turns that is easy to follow. If you're trying to find it coming out directly from Siena, take the main road to Grossetto (four lanes) and turn off at the San Rocci di Pilli exit. Each day, touring from here was great with quick access to Volterra/SanG to the north, or the Sienese Crete to the south, or to Montepulciano / Pienzza / Montalcino, or to Cortona to the east.

We originally heard about Poggio Salvi from friends of ours - we shall now return the favour and recommend it to anyone else visiting southern Tuscany as the agriturismo of choice in the Sienna area. We hope to return on our next trip to Italy and visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We cannot say enough good things about Poggio Salvi. Tucked in the middle of the rolling hills of Tuscany, this Agriturismo met all our needs and more. Clean, comfortable and attractive accommodation, a warm hospitable host, surrounded by the heavenly landscape of Tuscany: paradise.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and i stayed at Poggio Salvi for three nights in the middle of April this year and we cant recommend it enough. From the gracious hosts to the beautifully appointed apartment everything was as close to perfect as we've ever experienced anywhere in the world. The weather was extremely bad but staying indoors sitting around the fireplace was perfectly good for us because it was so nice. Massimo and Claudia are extremely knowledgeable about the place they call home and are most willing to share its delights. Go there.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here from Sept 24 to 30 2011. I was dreadfully ill with a cold, so didn't interact much with Massimo and his wife (not wanting to infect them!), but Massimo was a gracious and helpful host. The location and grounds are beautiful and provide easy driving access to the surrounding towns for day trips (eg. Siena, Volterra, Motelpuciano) The apartment was nicely furnished, tastefully decorated and well-equipped. We enjoyed the easy access to Chianti wine "on-tap" at the little spigot outside. Highly recommended (we hope to be back!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovicille
4.2 mi away
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
#2 of 7 in Sovicille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Di Campagna in Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Casale Il Colombaio di Toiano
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Poggiarello
0.4 mi away
San Lorenzo a Linari
San Lorenzo a Linari
#9 of 14 in Sovicille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo

Property: POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
Address: Localita Poggio Salvi 249, 53018, Sovicille, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo Tuscany, Italy - Sovicille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing