We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place near Siena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place near Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for a week in the La Rose appartment. Very nice rooms, and a kitchen which was fully functional. The surroundings on the agriturismo are stunning, and there is a sense of space and quiet, which is really nice. There is also play facilities for kids, and lots of space to play and explore. We only met the owner briefly since he was going away on vacation, but his father-in-law made us feel very velcome, and helped us with any questions we had. A lovely place which we can only recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lfolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed a week here and was one of the highlights of our trip. We stayed in the old "barn" (or were they stables?) which has been converted to a beautiful and comfortable...villa, for lack of a better word. While there the sunflowers were in bloom, the plum and pear trees were fruiting, and the bread truck came by each day with our fresh bread.

The owners were amazingly friendly, even planning a wine tasting for us and, believe it or not, a PIZZA PARTY made in their pizza oven in the back. A friend of the owner was visiting from Australia and since he owned a pizzeria back home, he was nice enough to make pizzas for all of the guests; and adding the delicious home made wine (made from grapes from the property and which we would fill our carafes out of a spigot in their laundry room wall) it was a magical evening spent there.
When adding the comfort, price, friendliness of service and incredible amenities I cannot recommend Poggio Salvi Agriturismo enough.

Room Tip: The converted barn and stable are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The stay at Poggio Salvi was fantastic: the hosts are great, more than friendly, around for suggestions if desired, but just as much giving you space and quiet time if you want. The surroundings are splendid, just as the agriturismo itself. And of course the "Chianti tap" is an extra plus.. Last but not least, the pets are a definitive bonus!

Hope to see you again next year, your place feels like home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Poggio Salvi - il Glicine for 8 nights in October. We would definitely stay there again. Everything you see on their website is true.

Massimo and Claudia obviously take great pride in their Agriturismo. The apartments and grounds are immaculately clean and cared for. The location is perfect for day trips to Siena, Florence and all surrounding towns. There are so many great restaurants close by, we wish could have stayed longer and found more.

The "wine on tap" says it all about how fine a stay you will have here. Where else can you fill a litre carafe with red wine from a spout on the outside of the common building and use the "honour" system to record how many litres you drink on a chalkboard.
If you are looking for a villa in the Tuscany country side, your look is over. Stay here, you will be very pleased with your decision.

Thank you Massimo!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4jjw9ka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Agriturismo POGGIO SALVI is a cute little place near Siena. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. From here you can visit all the great locations: Siena, Volterra, Cortona and San Gimignano.
The apartments are clean and nicely decorated. The grounds are well kept and the swimming pool is very relaxing. There are enough nice restaurants near the appartment; the owners help to find the nearest ones via a shortlist.
We had a great time there. One thing you should keep in mind; the musquitos are very active there between 5 and 8 in the afternoon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

After a fiasco at the rental agency, we could not wait to get out of Florence and into the countryside. Dreams of rolling wines, brunello di montalcino and chianti on the mind. Now we had a bit of a scare on the way down as the address Poggio Salvi provides does not pull up on the GPS.

Well, let's just drive to Sovicille and hope we find it. That was all we needed to do as once you reach the tiny tiny town of Sovicille, you will see the signs to Poggio Salvi. It was a welcome relief to see our home for 5 days.

Massimo is a gracious host his apartments are beautiful. Warm and decorated in a tuscan style that makes you realize why so many people flock to Tuscany. The grounds are beautiful. Pool, Jacuzzi, tables and chairs reserved for each apartment. And of course Giotto, the beautiful golden that runs the grounds and loves his guests.

Our apartment was very spacious. We had small kitchen with enough supplies to get us through. Make your own espresso in the morning and cook on the gas stove. Fireplace was running every night. They have plenty of wood for you. We cooked in three out of four nights as it was so nice to sit around with some good vino and just enjoy each other.

Right below our apartment was the wine spicket (literally!) Massimo provides his guests the option to purchase by the 1/2 or 1 liter. 3 euros for amazing house wine is a nice way to start before you get into the good stuff.

Bed was one of the more comfortable on the trip (not saying much, but it did fine.)

The view was the only part lacking. Its not what you see in typical tuscan photos, but as others have said, it is the perfect home base for Siena and all the major hill towns. We would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Several return visits because of very convenient access to all of central Tuscany and very warm, sincere hosts, Massimo and Claudia.

Four apartments, fully equipped, pool in season, fireplaces for colder weather, hot tub fired up on request.

15 minutes to heart of Siena, 45 minutes to edge of Florence, hour to Montalcino, etc.

Discovered Siena train station this year - much easier to hop on trains to Florence, Bologna, Venice etc than driving and parking in these neighboring major cities. Full groceries in San Rocco and Rosia, about 10 minutes driving.

Room Tip: Apartments are comfortably equipped for 1-, 2-, 3- and 4-person reservations. But, Poggio Salvi has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovicille
11.6 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
#2 of 7 in Sovicille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Di Campagna in Toscana
1.8 mi away
Casale Il Colombaio di Toiano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo

Property: POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
Address: Localita Poggio Salvi 249, 53018, Sovicille, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo Tuscany, Italy - Sovicille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing