We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star hotel”
Review of Borgo Pretale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borgo Pretale
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a four star hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were in Borgo Pretale for a weekend and we were not treated like welcome guests. No flexible reactions to any of our wishes and in the end, we even had to double check the bill as they had charged us things twice. The grounds are really beautiful but this hotel is not up to date in any cases. Rooms, pool, furniture, air con everything looks like it has been used for at least a dozen years. The restaurant serves nice food, but thats about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peady z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks for your review which is very WELCOME for us like all our guests!!
Just a few words to comment your disappointment…
If you mean “not flexible reaction” when we pretended to register all your friends lodging in, YES, we have to do so for security reasons. As you surely know there is an extra charge to pay for any extra bed.

Antonella Haberling Licata
G.Manager
Hotel Borgo Pretale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    41
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We just returned from 2 night stay at Borgo Pretale. We found it on Tripadvisor and I'm happy to report the reviews are very accurate. The property is amazing. Very isolated and quiet. My wife and I were amazed how quiet it was. The grounds are very spread out. We paid for a Cottage Suite and were happy with the room. Included a patio that was perfect for relaxing at the end of day with a bottle of vino. Also was great to see the property and rooms looked the same as the photos on their website. As such, it matched our expectations and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikerlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had our honeymoon here in 1997 just after the hotel was opened and it was bliss, now however after 14 years of no money being spent on it the experience wasn't comparable. As others say the grounds are rustic at best, the pool is big but showing it's age and the poolside lunches basic when they used to be wonderful. The restaurant is average and the service poor to ok depending on the night. It was nice to see the location is still lovely but sadly the hotel has gone down hill. Rooms are also rustic at best. Probably better to spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for coming back to Borgo Pretale after so many years. We regret to read your comment especially because we have always worked hard to improve our service and faclities. This is confirmed by the fact that our most faithful guests are still coming back every year.
We understand that people now have high expectations in a 4 star Hotel but we feel that Borgo Pretale is over this idea. If you fall in love with this tiny little tuscan hamlet is not just for the romantic furniture or the poolside but for the overall experience that you might have here. The welcoming staff, the careful service, the unspoilt woods and the Tuscan specialities of our Chef de cuisine served on the panoramic terrace: all your senses and feelings. Borgo Pretale is a unique experience and you will feel "at home" as anywhere else. Antonella Häberling Licata, G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

They do not care about guest. They know you will leave so we have many problems with the service including that someone that works at the hotel stole our mobile in the hotel. They did not do nothing. Be careció if you go there too bad experience we had with them.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Don't pay any attention to reviews of this hotel on other sites, Borgo Pretale is a lovely hotel, very isolated maybe, but that's a plus point. The General Manager,Antonella and her staff, in particular Jessica, made my wife and I feel very welcome. We had a Junior suite which was more than adequate. We stayed for 4 nights and ate there every night sat outside on the lovely terrace. The food was very nice and the outdoor pool was very clean and welcoming. I would certainly go back and would not have a problem recommending it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sezlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the great comments of our Borgo. We do hope very much that you will visit us again in the near future Kind regards.

Antonella Häberling Licata, G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were in Italy for 27 Days in May. Borgo Pretale was our favorite hotel. The staff was wonderful and the place was lovely. It was very secluded which means quite and relaxing. We took many pictures of this place itself since it was like a famous site in itself. We visited many places in the day. But in the evening we had diners at Borgo Pretale every night. We did not see the need to go outside. Everything was delicious. The Tuscan Wine, and the restaurant atmosphere were great. I recommend it to 7 of my relatives who went there the following month. They loved it too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a review of the restaurant only.
We were staying at the nearby Borgo Il Poggiacio and after having dinner there the other 3 evenings (which was exceptionally good, food quality, wines and service!) we thought it might have been nice to change. What a dissapointment!

the restaurant is old fashioned, waiters are unfriendly, the maitre is a real pain bossing around the others and feeling very important. Non-resident guests are really not given any attention. We had to ask to bring our wine, had to ask to bring a plate for our bread (which was rock hard).
They have a good wine list, but - oh surprise - half of the wines (the affordable ones) were not available. Since we didn't want to pay over 35 euro for a bottle, we decided to have their house wine, but it was really bad.

The food was not bad but overpriced.

We didn't bother to order dessert or coffee (had it in Il Poggiacio instead), what a dissapointment!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayvmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks for your review which is very important for us. We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy our restaurant and particularly our service and the wines. You are right when you say that the wine list had less choice as ever. In fact, in those days, we were waiting for a huge order from our wine distributors and due to delivery problems a few labels were missing.
In spite of this, most of our guests definitively appreciate our new wine list which has a great selection of tuscan and Italian wines and in particular the small, local producers which still offer a high quality product.
Hoping to having you as our “Guest” here at Borgo Pretale in a near future, we remain

Best regards
Antonella Haberling Licata
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovicille
2.9 mi away
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
#2 of 7 in Sovicille
79 reviews
8.3 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
333 reviews
4.2 mi away
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
#1 of 7 in Sovicille
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
336 reviews
4.7 mi away
Relais La Suvera
Relais La Suvera
#1 of 1 in Pievescola
312 reviews
7.2 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Pretale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Pretale

Property: Borgo Pretale
Address: Localita Borgo Pretale SNC, 53018, Sovicille, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Pretale 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Pretale is a heavenly retreat in the lush green hills of Siena.34 rooms located both in the XIIc. Tower and in the lovely cottages spread in the 2h garden.Restaurant with tuscan specialities and terrace with breathtaking view over the valley. Sporting activities: Tennis court, gym with sauna, archery, trekking, mountain biking and swimming poolConference room -ideal location for team building and outdoor training.Wedding and banqueting facilities.Open seasonly from April to October ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Borgo Pretale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Pretale Sovicille
Borgo Pretale Hotel Sovicille
Borgo Pretale Tuscany, Italy - Sovicille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing