We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Agritourismo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Borgo di Stigliano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Agritourismo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

It was an adventure finding the place, but that was due to poor directions from the information office in Siena. The property itself was nice. It was just a short stay (one night) for us, but the young woman who checked us in and out was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in a nearby town and slept well while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
42
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

My partner and I and my Sister stayed at Relais Borgo Stigliano for 3 nights in June. Had a pleasant stay but expected more. Moira looked after us for most of our stay and she was fantastic! The rest of the staff were not aselpful and could not speak much English. Staff kept us awake in the mornings with loud talking and laughing down stairs when setting up breakfast. Could not have an afternoon nap because of building works next door. The bed was so uncomfortable in the standard and the superior we could hardly sleep. Breakfast was not bad, cereals were stale the croissants were lovely and fresh. Had a thunderstorm one evening and the roof leaked (badly!) onto our bed which meant we had to move it at 2 am (Room 6). Room 7 was musty with rising damp and the paint peeling off the wall. I asked where the managers were because we had not see them for the 3 days we were there and we were told they were very seldom at the hotel, they spent most of their time at the other hotel, Hotel Moderna in Siena. Such a shame because that is all Relais Borgo Di Stigliano needs....management! We will not be back unfortunately.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are large and have a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Wonderful location, close to Siena but in a perfectly preserved, secluded old village. Surrounded by national park where you can walk for miles, the views are classic Tuscany. Good pool in the hotel, very good breakfast for Italy(!) and very thoughtful staff. No restaurants in the village but great local recommendations in next villages.

Room Tip: 1,2,3,4 have the best views over the valley, 9 and 10 have virtually a private lawn near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

LOCATION:
A small hamlet – about five minutes walk down to the “centre” – and the only restaurant (closed on a Monday – you would need a car to use a restaurant in any neighbouring village!) Lovely converted villa with swimming pool and terraces overlooking Stigliano and the surrounding countryside. Ample parking available in the grounds.

SERVICE:
The few staff are all female – standard of service varied but on the whole OK.

ROOMS:
Clean and spacious, nicely furnished, with wooden beams, AC, mini bar, TV, seating area. Well equipped bathroom with shower over bath. Views over Stigliano and Tuscan countryside.

RESTAURANT:
Breakfast was OK, fairly basic fare and certainly not the best we had in Tuscany (we stayed in 7 hotels!) – cereals, breads, yoghurts, croissants, cheese, cold meats.

They don’t cater for dinner but that isn’t a problem as you can use the restaurant 5 minutes walk away in the village (Le Torre di Stigliano). Dinner there was excellent - we found the service was good (though they struggled a little as they were so busy and only had one waitress on), the outdoor setting lovely, the menu had a very good choice for us, and the food superb. We stayed at the hotel for three nights, and ate there every night (but then we were on a cycling holiday and didn’t have much choice!)

THINGS TO DO IN THE LOCALE:
Stigliano is a quiet hamlet, and we used the hotel as a time to chill by the pool, walk through the woods etc. This would be a good base to visit Siena and the hilltop towns – we particularly liked Monteriggioni, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, and Castellina in Chianti.

SUMMARY:
A good hotel for a quiet day or two, or to use as a base for touring the area!

  • Liked — Pool Area
  • Disliked — Basic Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvidHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

This accommodation is equally perfect if you want to relax or explore the wonderful Tuscan countryside. The accommodation is beautifully designed and matches the local village architecture. The rooms are all comfortable and spacious and the pool is fabulous. The staff are all very helpful and Moira in particular could not do enough for us. She is a real asset. The breakfast is served on a lovely terrace, which just helps to wash away any stresses you may have felt before you arrived. The accommodation is ably supported by the lovely Stigliano village restaurant.

No real complaints about this accommodation, other than perhaps making barbecue facilities available for those that might want to cater for themselves.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

We stayed here here for 5 nights this September, and just loved it. It was very peaceful and quiet, yet close enough to see Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and more on day trips. My 7 yo son thought the pool was fun, but it was too cold for us. The restaurant in town was very nice, as were the other ones in towns anywhere from 5 - 15 minutes away.

They also had the cutest resident kitten; if anyone goes there, Alice needed to be adopted!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelgalMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear united kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

This has some excellent reviews , which encouraged us to choose it. Although it is a hotel, the rooms are laid out so that you can sit outside in the nice outdoor are where there is a swimming pool. Our fridge was broken but they got it replaced ( after a day ). The staff, all female, are excellent, they will do anything to help. The location, in a quiet village in a quiet part of Tuscany is wonderful. Shower and bathroom lovely. Bed, large and very comfy. Air con good and easily adjusted. Breakfast is on the tarrace as the sun rises over the village nearby, it's really nice. Choice of food and drinks excellent, they had Earl Grey tea and that made my day! Nearby is a village restuarant, expensive for what it is but in Sovicille a few minutes drive away you will find an excellent pizzeria/restaurant. From here it is very easy to reach all major areas of interest such as Siena, Volterra, Montepulciano. It looks ideal for children as well ,as there is room for them to run and play ( supervised of course ). The staff loved the children staying there, as all Italians do !

  • Liked — Location and design of the buildings
  • Disliked — Poor access road and car park, shingle and loose stones.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thequiettraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovicille
7.5 mi away
Relais La Suvera
Relais La Suvera
#1 of 1 in Pievescola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
7.5 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.2 mi away
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
#1 of 7 in Sovicille
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Bagnaia Golf & Spa Resort Siena, Curio a Collection by Hilton
6.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#2 of 7 in Sovicille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Borgo di Stigliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Borgo di Stigliano

Property: Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Address: Localito Stigliano Poggiarello, 53010, Sovicille, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Borgo di Stigliano 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Hotels.com so you can book your Relais Borgo di Stigliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo Di Stigliano Hotel Sovicille
Relais Borgo Di Stigliano Sovicille
Relais Borgo Di Stigliano Tuscany, Italy - Sovicille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing