We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here instead of Flam!”
Review of Vangsgaarden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vangsgaarden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely little place for 2 nights. On arrival we were told that there had been an over booking and we could not get our family room. However, they gave us a cabin instead. This was at no extra cost to us, so we were very happy! The cabin was directly in front of the ferry wharf. That was slightly disconcerting at first as the ferry docks right in front of the window. However, it ended up being very interesting! The view is gorgeous and the place is quieter than Flam. We drove around to Flam and were glad that we had not booked the hotel there. The cabin was basic but comfortable. We ate at the pub/ restaurant and had hamburgers which were relatively good value. There are 2 supermarkets in the town and so you can easily buy beers and food from them. The breakfast is served in an old fashioned house next door. It was very pleasant. The staff was welcoming and cheerful. Overall, we would certainly recommend this place as a quiet alternative to busy Flam.

Room Tip: The cabins would have the best views. Comfortable but basic accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in the hotel in a family room which was very clean. Every window had a view of the beautiful fjord and beautiful mountains rising up from there. There were even waterfalls cascading down the mountainside. Just steps away to catch the ferry, and a few more steps in the other direction was the information center located within town hall. Very helpful staff. To summarize; just a gem of a location! Also, two groceries stores in town.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the family room and it was upstairs facing the fjord. Definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JacandCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent two nights in this idyllic hotel and much enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is a ten minute drive/ fifteen minute ferry from Flam. A very peaceful location, away from the cruise ship crowds in flam, looking over the fjord. However, the downside of this is that it can be hard to get to as the bus and ferry only goes a couple of times a day. A taxi doesn't cost much more than the ferry but the bus is the best option if you can time it right. It's a couple of hours walk down a fairly busy road so I wouldn't recommend that option.

The hotel was quite basic but that is more than made up for by the amazing location. It was clean (although our room wasn't made up between nights) and our room (on the ground floor of the main hotel) was a good size with a sitting area and private bathroom and had a double bed which was two singles together which wasn't ideal. It was quite comfy though. The curtains are not thick which in the summer means it is light in the room 24 hours so bring a sleeping mask. The room was very quiet and had amazing views over the water.

Breakfast was fine but quite basic. Cold meats, boiled eggs, fresh bread with no hot option. It was rather slow to be topped up so there was often half hour periods without eggs for example. Having said that, we were not dissatisfied.

We booked this hotel as there seemed to be no availability in flam but were pleased we had. It was quite expensive for a fairly basic hotel but we still much enjoyed our stay. The peaceful, beautiful location more than made up for any minor downsides.

We ate dinner here both nights and it was good but quite expensive. There is an indoor cafe/pub/ restaurant and a beautiful outdoor area looking over the water. We had a huge pizza on the second night (more than big enough for two) and would also highly recommend the deer burger.

There are some beautiful walks and panoramic views around Aurland and it is a quiet location for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugeHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family and I (2 adults, 2 children) booked a triple room for a night's stay at Vangsgaarden Gjestgiveri. We took a 15-minute ferry from Flamsbana Railway Station and hopped off at Aurland jetty. The hotel is just a few steps away from the jetty, very convenient for us to catch another ferry the next day.

Upon arrival, we were impressed with the tastefully decorated reception area, a cozy and inviting place. The reception staff noted that the triple room may be a bit small for us and after a phone call, she "upgraded" us to the cabin room! We appreciated the gesture as it was the most memorable stay for my family throughout our one-week tour of Norway.

The cabins are located a short walk away from the main hotel area. The cabins have two levels. On the first level, you have the sitting area with a sofa and coffee table, a dining table with four chairs, a kitchenette (sink, fridge, microwave oven, cutlery, plates and stove), TV next to the kitchenette, toilet/bathroom and a double bedroom. On the second level, it is actually an attic with two single beds with very low ceiling, so be careful not to knock your head! We were given towels, bedsheets, covers for the duvets and pillow cases. We had to make the beds ourselves but find it fair enough as the cabin rooms are operated like hostels. We find it difficult to make the beds on the second level though, challenging with the low ceiling. But... please don't be put off by this little inconvenience! The views of the fjords and lake from the sitting area (the bedrooms face the mainland area) are breathtaking! It was a great experience waking up in the morning to such amazing views! The cabin is spacious and the kids had a good time climbing up and down the "ladder" to the attic bedroom. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. No toiletries provided except for hand soap. The kitchenette was extremely useful for us to prepare light lunches, you can easily get groceries from the two nearby supermarkets. If you do not want to cook dinner, you can try the Duehuset pub/restaurant (next to the hotel) which opens at 5pm till about 10pm, they serve really good meals and you can choose to sit outdoors with great views. There is no housekeeping as you are expected to keep the place clean like washing of dishes and sweeping up crumbs. This is the difference between staying at the cabin and in the hotel room. Another difference is there is no wifi in the cabin but we felt wifi in the cabin would do no justice to the beautiful views.

Breakfast was included in our booking and the breakfast room is in a different nearby building from the hotel reception. The breakfast room is very quaint, like an English tea room. There is a variety of cold food like raw fish and ham, no warm dishes like scrambled eggs and bacon but there are soft boiled eggs, soft fresh bread, hot beverages and juice.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and managed a few short walks around the area. Thank you Vangagaarden for the memorable stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed there for one night, the view from the cabin was amazing!!!! Very quiet and cozy! The only two problems are the WiFi doesn't reach the cabin and without any warning we get to the cabin to read a sign that they expect you to clean the cabin, even wash the bathroom. Also, we almost missed breakfast because they said we needed to book the night before but nobody told us that on check in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airiumju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this property, with 5 of us in a cabin and one in a room in the hotel. The cabins on the fjord are incredible in you want a view and enjoy watching the ferries come and go. Do not expect much privacy or quiet. There are six basic cabins, with a double room overlooking the parking lot and a loft upstairs that will challenge your abilities not to hit your head. There is a kitchen and table with views of the water that is nice, but again-very basic. No porch. Sheets and towels cost extra. And the price is not cheap.
The room in the hotel was lovely, and my aunt thoroughly enjoyed it and loved the view. The breakfasts were good (included for the hotel room), and the outside bar and restaurant were nice. We were able to hike, and were easily picked up on the Aurland dock for the fjord raft trip- which was fabulous.

Room Tip: There are six cabins, and the one on the far end is directly over the water with neighbors only on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuller0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In short: there are nicer inns on fjords in Norway for the price. This inn is indeed right on the fjord, though our view was of the parking lot, and then the fjord. There are two buildings, one right on the fjord and one on the parking lot. The lobby and the living room of the inn are charmingly furnished. The hallway is carpeted with dreadful carpet squares, giving it a cheap and dingy appearance. The room was fine -- recently renovated, in good repair, furnished in a very basic way. It was totally adequate -- but it was not charming or really nice. Breakfast was good. Overall, for the price, I expected better than I got.

Aurland is a nice town, but there are more nicer inns set on more scenic sites than this one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurland Municipality
3.8 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
4 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
866 reviews
11.7 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
160 reviews
11.4 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
3.9 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsgaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsgaarden

Address: Nedstagata 1, 5745, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range: £100 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsgaarden Gjestgiveri is situated in Aurland, a small town idyllically placed in the innermost corner of the Sognefjord. Here at Vangsgaarden, the Ohnstad-Stigen family has welcomed guests for several generations and the hotel has preserved traditions that go all the way back to the 18th century. At our restaurant, Duehuset, you can taste some of the local food our town is known for. Vangsgaarden offers rooms, a restaurant and a variety of activities. Our hotel is located right in the middle of some of Norway's most powerful nature experiences like the Flam Railway, the Naeroyfjord and the Aurlandsdalen Valley. ROOMS In our hotel wing we have 18 rooms with beautiful views. In our garden by the fjord we have 6 cabins that are suitable for 4-5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vangsgaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangsgaarden Hotel Aurland Municipality
Vangsgaarden Western Fjords
Vangsgaarden Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing