We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, friendly staff”
Review of Aurland Fjordhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurland Fjordhotel
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Better than Average, but not quite Very Good. We had a room with a small balcony and a great view of the fjord, that made up for the bed not being too comfortable - little support, too soft -maybe needs new mattresses. Other than that, room was fine. Shower only in the bathroom (which was fine with us). Wifi only in lobby area, no reception in room. Had a delicious dinner; breakfast buffet, while not a big spread, was good, esp. the eggs, no sneeze guard though which bothered husband. This was a nice place to stay instead of in Flam - more of a real town feel. Would stay again.

While in Aurland, visit the Aurland Shoe Factory if you have time. The owner gave us a tour and a lot of history of "Aurland Shoes". Of course I had to buy a pair.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulsG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

My family and i stayed two nights here in late september 2013. We were warmly welcomed by Steinar Kjerstein. We had initially planned to stay a night and proceed the next morning to the glaciers (a 5 hour drive, with 5 bus changes). Steinar made many phone calls and spent almost an hour gathering accurate information that told us that to continue with our planned journey would be ill advised (it was the end of tourist season, and buses did not run as frequently as they would normally do during peak season, and thus we may not make it back in time for our flight back home). S

Steinar was very accomodating and gave us a choice of two rooms, allowing us to go up and have a look at the rooms first hand before deciding. We chose room 301, which is a lovely room (it was just nice for the 3 of us) with a nice view of Fiord.

The shower and bath facilities were excellent. The shower was excellent, stable temperature. Comfortable beds, and nice heating.

Breakfast was very good. Not the biggest spread you will find, but this is not a large impersonal hotel chain. This is a smallish hotel, warm and friendly, and the breakfast offering was, in my opinion, good. Fresh food, cold cuts, warm eggs, cereal, bread, coffee, tea. Yogurt, some fruit. Excellent bacon and sausages.

No lunch. Dinner was again excellent. Was it expensive? Not if you compare prices in most restaurants in Norway. (but expensive if you compare with the rest of the world. Bear in mind that Norway is one of the most expensive places on the planet). Was it good? It was very good. The cod and salmon were excellent, try to ask the waiter to give you sauce on the side... i found the fish excellent without the sauce, with just lemon, but that's just me. My wife prefers the fish with the sauce it came with.

Very friendly staff. Very helpful with providing information to ill informed travellers such as we. There's a TV room, with pool table and darts as well as nice chairs to sit and read in the evenings once the sun goes down.

If ever we come back to Aurland, this would be the place we would stay again, no hesitation at all. Thank you Steinar and your staff, for helping us make better choices on our vacation, and for such excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warmfires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We're glad we picked Aurland to stay for two nights and enjoy hiking in the fjords. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean -- we had a fjord view on the third floor. Beautiful! The Gudvangen-Flam ferry dropped us off at the Aurland wharf, and there's a regular bus to Flam. Hotel restaurant dinner was fine, though limited menu. Breakfast buffet was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a fjord view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is located in a key location in Aurland. Its 2 mins walk from beach, groceries, restaurants etc. The rooms are large and clean. The rooms dont have phone, refridgerator and microwave. The water temperature in the water fluctuates often. The restaurant is very expensive for dinner. The breakfast is OK but it doesnt have a lot of variety as I experienced in other hotels in Bergen/Oslo etc. The staff was bit mean and not so friendly except the male room keeper who was really nice and willing to help.
Overall a nice stay and a recommended spot in Aurland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location and believe it or not you can go down to the pier and flag down the Ferry from Flam to Gudvangen . The hotel is slightly worn but this is more than compensated for by the charm of the place.the staff are excellent, the meal was also excellent . The breakfast very good.
Really would go back here
They have a lift of sorts that gets bags and the less mobile up to the first floor

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmlhhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel is obviously in a great location - a beautiful part of the mighty Sognefjord - I feel a room with a view is a must if you are only staying for a short time in the fjords. Like everywhere we went in Norway, a 'twin room' seems to be synonymous with a double - just that there are two beds, not one - they can't really be separated though because there's not enough space to! I don't really call that 'twin' myself. For one night, it's doable though.
The room was certainly not large, but roomy enough, and the balcony is a very welcome addition. The hotel was fully booked, but didn't feel crowded and it was quiet at night. The room was really not very clean - the balcony and it's door especially - and it was pretty tired overall.

I would have called this a totally average hotel if it weren't for the wonderful staff. We had a few problems there getting to where we wanted to go and they were really helpful - finding someone to drive us, so we didn't have to pay an exorbitant taxi fare! The young lady at reception was very friendly and helpful - really the most attentive hotel staff member (or any service person, actually) we found in Norway. Just made the whole trip for us to have such warm, helpful people in such a beautiful environment. Easy to forgive the drawbacks of the hotel itself.

Room Tip: You have to fork out the extra (not that much, really) for a room with a view - breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The best feature of this hotel is the friendly, helpful staff and the location. We had a room with a nice view on the third floor. Since we were travelling for a month we had a couple of suitcases each. There is a service elevator but it only goes to the second floor. Staff helped us get our luggage up to the third floor but we were on our own getting it back down.
The public rooms of the hotel have some charm but the room we stayed in was old and really needs upgrading, the bathroom was small and dingy. The beds were not that comfortable. Breakfast was ok. The town of Aurland is quite picturesque and has some nice cafes.
For the price, this hotel is not particularly good value for your money. I probably would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurland Municipality
0.1 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
205 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
250 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
871 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
24.9 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurland Fjordhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurland Fjordhotel

Address: Klokkargarden 1, 5745, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range: £87 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wateredge next to the Aurlandfjord, 1 km from the centre of Aurland. 2 new high standard cottages(hytter) for 6 persons. 3 bedrooms, well-equipped kitchen/livingroom with fireplace. Shower, toilet, dishwasher, washing machine. Terrace to the fjord. Quay w/boatrental. Ideal starting point for aktivities like hiking, biking and fjordcruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aurland Fjordhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurland Fjordhotel Hotel Aurland Municipality
Aurland Fjordhotel Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing