We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than some other reviews would have you believe”
Review of Aurland Fjordhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aurland Fjordhotel
England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Much better than some other reviews would have you believe”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel in late June for two nights at the start of a holiday We arrived late but we were given a lovely room with a small balcony overlooking the Fjord. Dinner with a few choices was available until around 9.30 and the fish course we chose was of a very good quality. Breakfast was more than adequate.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

Yes the decor is a little tired in places but we felt the location was so good that overall it didn't matter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

This hotel is probably not suitable for people who have difficulty with stairs as there is no lift beyond the second of four floors. Wifi is available but limited to the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for a Fjord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honestreviewer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    52
    42
    13
    11
See reviews for
34
73
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Good hotel to stay in Aurland. A bit old and rooms need renovation but That drawback is overcome by excellent service & hospitality by the staff.
The staff never said NO for anything. Pool table & dart games a good way to keep my kids playing.
Room is old fashioned but clean.
Bathroom has good pressure in the shower and consistent flow of hot water. Clean bathrooms.
Parking free - right outside the hotel.
Good breakfast. Free tea - coffee through out the day.
All in all -- completely satisfied.
5 stars for the staff. They are really good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NvNjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for one night in May, the hotel is fine, we had a top floor room that looked over the houses in front and onto the fjord. Rooms were clean and perfectly adequate. Ok buffet breakfast in the morning. We’d stay again if we were passing through.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EalingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Older hotel that tries to keep up but doesn't. Not sure, but the literature in the room said Best Western. Not sure what is up with that.
First problem, upon arriving with a 2 & 4 yr old, we found that the family room is on the 4th floor. Oh yeah, no working elevator. So 4 floors with 2 kids and full luggage. That's always fun. However there is a nice handicapped elevator that says 'staff only'. Really?
Problem 2....in a place where June gives sun at night, their curtains are terrible. They need to get something that blacks out the day so you and kids can sleep!!! And walls are thin. You can hear everyone else. I sure everyone could have heard my 2 yr old cry too.
Staff not particularly friendly.
One suggestion, if you have a broken elevator and I am paying you to stay there, and you put me on the 4th floor, offer to bring my bags up when you see me struggling with 2 kids.
Decent breakfast. Nothing spectacular.
Decided to eat somewhere else for dinner.
No parking at the time. Lot was full and had to park across the street.
Pillows? How about some new ones. Was like sleeping on folded towel it was so thin.
Won't be back here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tabascov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aurland Municipality hotels

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a relatively small and rather dated hotel without all the modern facilities you get used to nowadays. However, all this can be forgiven as the establishment has a immense charm and a delightful atmosphere with very friendly and helpful staff and an appealing "family feel" about the place.
The dinner is OK without being exceptional and the breakfast is basic, but acceptable. The main attraction is the location with its wonderful views over the fjord and proximity to the mountain passes.

The forecourt parking is fine, but get in early as spaces are at a premium when the hotel is full. A coach load of Chinese tourists and a late night pop concert in the village rather took the edge off our stay, but wouldn't prevent us from staying there again when it is a bit quieter!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a balcony and views over the fjord. Definitely get one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Previous reviewer described this hotel as something out of the Shining . I would have to agree with that description. We arrived very early 10am just to make sure of our booking and view the hotel. No staff about at all. Checked 1st floor empty ,2nd floor same as with 3rd and no doubt 4th.
After visiting Flan and the inevitable train ride we returned at 3pm and the owner was on premises . Charming man with excellent command of English and a Tesla car to admire. He asked us to choose between good wifi reception at lower level or great view at higher . We went for the view and it was a good decision as he put us in at the top floor with a balcony overlooking the Fjord.
As it was Easter, most places were closed and the only place for food was the local petrol station come restaurant . I have never in my long life had such terrible food at such a high price. £20 for the absolute worst pizza and the chance to pay 10kr to use their toilet.
Back to the Hotel. The corridors were clean, newly decorated to a reasonable standard. The room was small as was the bed ,old style TV no wifi reception as advised. Clean bathroom minimalist decor. Nice balcony. Very peacefully on our stay. We were advised we could have as much tea , coffee as we wanted from the bar area which we took full advantage off.
Breakfast room , usual spread . Cheeses tomatoes cucumbers, breads toaster, microwave . All good. Cereals fruits . Yes all good. We made extra sandwiches for the drive to our next destination .
For the price we paid I thought it was excellent value.

Room Tip: Top Fjord view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GezenBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Aurland-100m from the bus stop. We received a very warm welcome. The manager was very kind and helpful. The hotel however is very dated. Our room was very dark with strange coloured decor. It reminded us of something out of The Shining. The walls were very thin and you could hear every noise made through the night. Not good when you need a good nights sleep. We are frequent travellers and usually stay in low budget accommodation so we don't expect much-just a good place to sleep which we didn't get. We were also promised an early breakfast since we had to leave very early to catch the bus to Bergen which we thought was very kind. However the Cook arrived 30 minutes late so we had no choice but to leave with not eating anything which was a shame as the meal we had the previous night was very good. Lovely friendly staff. Just a shame the hotel isn't up to scratch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurland Municipality
11.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
183 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
743 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
4.0 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurland Fjordhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurland Fjordhotel

Property: Aurland Fjordhotel
Address: Klokkargarden 1, 5745, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wateredge next to the Aurlandfjord, 1 km from the centre of Aurland. 2 new high standard cottages(hytter) for 6 persons. 3 bedrooms, well-equipped kitchen/livingroom with fireplace. Shower, toilet, dishwasher, washing machine. Terrace to the fjord. Quay w/boatrental. Ideal starting point for aktivities like hiking, biking and fjordcruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aurland Fjordhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurland Fjordhotel Hotel Aurland Municipality
Aurland Fjordhotel Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing