We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit shabby for the price”
Review of Aurland Fjordhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurland Fjordhotel
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit shabby for the price”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Get the impression that owners are not investing in the upkeep of the hotel. Carpets are stained and worn. Sauna and steam room are no longer offered. Dining room is dark and dated. Service staff are friendly. Breakfast very good. We ate at Vangsgarden at the outdoor pavilion on the water. Limited menu and expensive as all of Norway, but what we had was good and there is a lovely view of the water. Make sure to check out the tourist info office right at the bus stop to find out what to do in and around Aurland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainy_day_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    56
    48
    14
    12
See reviews for
42
77
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Aurland Fjordhotel is the place I would recommend to everyone who wants to experience the fjords. The village itself is very quiet and has numerous hiking trails with amazing views to offer.

The staff in the hotel is exceptionally friendly - we felt at home. Some of the travellers count the absence of the elevator as a disadvantage, but the staff always tries to make advances can help to carry the luggage upstairs (as in our case). We've got the best room (in my opinion) on the 4th floor with a small balcony and oustanding view over the Aurlandsfjord. The WIFI is only in the hall but I can't count it as a disadvantage, because we had a great company downstairs while checking the e-mail and it's very cosy and comfortable down there. The breakfast was delicious, especially home-made jam and waffles.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny_Lex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel in late June for two nights at the start of a holiday We arrived late but we were given a lovely room with a small balcony overlooking the Fjord. Dinner with a few choices was available until around 9.30 and the fish course we chose was of a very good quality. Breakfast was more than adequate.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

Yes the decor is a little tired in places but we felt the location was so good that overall it didn't matter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

This hotel is probably not suitable for people who have difficulty with stairs as there is no lift beyond the second of four floors. Wifi is available but limited to the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for a Fjord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honestreviewer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Good hotel to stay in Aurland. A bit old and rooms need renovation but That drawback is overcome by excellent service & hospitality by the staff.
The staff never said NO for anything. Pool table & dart games a good way to keep my kids playing.
Room is old fashioned but clean.
Bathroom has good pressure in the shower and consistent flow of hot water. Clean bathrooms.
Parking free - right outside the hotel.
Good breakfast. Free tea - coffee through out the day.
All in all -- completely satisfied.
5 stars for the staff. They are really good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NvNjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for one night in May, the hotel is fine, we had a top floor room that looked over the houses in front and onto the fjord. Rooms were clean and perfectly adequate. Ok buffet breakfast in the morning. We’d stay again if we were passing through.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EalingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Older hotel that tries to keep up but doesn't. Not sure, but the literature in the room said Best Western. Not sure what is up with that.
First problem, upon arriving with a 2 & 4 yr old, we found that the family room is on the 4th floor. Oh yeah, no working elevator. So 4 floors with 2 kids and full luggage. That's always fun. However there is a nice handicapped elevator that says 'staff only'. Really?
Problem 2....in a place where June gives sun at night, their curtains are terrible. They need to get something that blacks out the day so you and kids can sleep!!! And walls are thin. You can hear everyone else. I sure everyone could have heard my 2 yr old cry too.
Staff not particularly friendly.
One suggestion, if you have a broken elevator and I am paying you to stay there, and you put me on the 4th floor, offer to bring my bags up when you see me struggling with 2 kids.
Decent breakfast. Nothing spectacular.
Decided to eat somewhere else for dinner.
No parking at the time. Lot was full and had to park across the street.
Pillows? How about some new ones. Was like sleeping on folded towel it was so thin.
Won't be back here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tabascov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aurland Municipality hotels

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a relatively small and rather dated hotel without all the modern facilities you get used to nowadays. However, all this can be forgiven as the establishment has a immense charm and a delightful atmosphere with very friendly and helpful staff and an appealing "family feel" about the place.
The dinner is OK without being exceptional and the breakfast is basic, but acceptable. The main attraction is the location with its wonderful views over the fjord and proximity to the mountain passes.

The forecourt parking is fine, but get in early as spaces are at a premium when the hotel is full. A coach load of Chinese tourists and a late night pop concert in the village rather took the edge off our stay, but wouldn't prevent us from staying there again when it is a bit quieter!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a balcony and views over the fjord. Definitely get one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurland Municipality
3.9 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
11.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
227 reviews
4.0 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
361 reviews
24.9 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
67 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Finse 1222
Hotel Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurland Fjordhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurland Fjordhotel

Property: Aurland Fjordhotel
Address: Klokkargarden 1, 5745, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wateredge next to the Aurlandfjord, 1 km from the centre of Aurland. 2 new high standard cottages(hytter) for 6 persons. 3 bedrooms, well-equipped kitchen/livingroom with fireplace. Shower, toilet, dishwasher, washing machine. Terrace to the fjord. Quay w/boatrental. Ideal starting point for aktivities like hiking, biking and fjordcruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aurland Fjordhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurland Fjordhotel Hotel Aurland Municipality
Aurland Fjordhotel Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing