We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Oustau de Moungran
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I loved our stay here. We were warmly greeted and were very comfortable in our room which was airy, spotlessly clean, and private. We had visited a nearby winery and enjoyed our bottle of wine and olives in the garden before strolling into the village for a delicious dinner. Our breakfast was outside under an olive tree on a stone terrace surrounded by fragrant flowers. We stayed two nights and I felt I could have stayed longer. We recommend this lovely Chambres d'hotes very highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have never written a review before and felt compelled to do so after an amazing stay in L'Oustau de Moungran. Initially we wanted to stay in St Remy but struggled to find anything suitable with our required dates. This ended up being a surprise blessing! From the moment we arrived the owner treated us to a glass of his own homegrown wine and black olive tapenade whilst we enjoyed the last of the sun sitting on the pool terrace surrounded by flowers and olive trees. The rooms have the old world charm, all white bed linen and furnishings and basic amenities. What the room lacked in amenities (hand held shower and older style bathroom) it made up for in service and charm from the owners and the property itself. The breakfast was basic but still gorgeous (bagueets/croissent/pane chocolat) with juice and plunger cofee on the pool terrace. It was walking distance into Maussane and a great base for touring the rest of Provence.I would stay again for sure and will be recommed!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

room was crowded, bathroom facilities old and very low maintained. Bed was uncomfortable. no radiator or such heating device, just an old air-con that over heated and dried the air so you had to turn it off in 5 minutes and then felt cold again. no bathroom door. no knobs, handles or hooks to hang personal clothes / bags. in the toilet there wasn't even a handle to place toilet paper on. it was on the floor... the towels were stiffed and unpleasant and smelled old and weired. there was no furniture (no table or armchair or anything that helps you feel comfortable). poor to non existing internet connection (although they claim to have). Lousy breakfast, no variety, nothing special. no sitting chairs for babies in the dining room.
It felt cheap although the price was surely not. Do yourselves a favor and look for something else.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChenM772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We were fortunate to "find" this little gem after we checked out of the Chateau de Roussan, which was in the midst of a major slump. The grounds of this B&B are limited but the pool is lovely and surrounded by olive trees and comfy chaises. The rooms are simple but clean and the bathrooms are nice with big fluffy towels and a great deep bath. Breakfast is served at the family's large farm table -- typically Provencal with fresh fruit, croissants right from boucherie, French coffee, and juice. You have a real feeling of privacy and it's so easy to get around using this town (Maussane les Alpilles) as your hub. You're only about 10 minutes from Les Baux, 15 minutes from St. Remy, and 30 minutes to Avignon. And, the price tag can't be beat!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Provence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank feo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Doudou1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maussane-les-Alpilles hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Aurelia
Best Western Aurelia
#2 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castillon des Baux
Castillon des Baux
#4 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Magnanarelles
Hotel Restaurant Les Magnanarell...
#6 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Val Baussenc
Val Baussenc
#1 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'oustaloun
L'oustaloun
#3 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mas Des Marguerite
Mas Des Marguerite
#1 of 8 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oustau de Moungran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oustau de Moungran

Address: 221 Chemin du Mas D Astre, 13520 Maussane-les-Alpilles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Maussane-les-Alpilles
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Maussane-les-Alpilles
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L Oustau De Moungran It' My Grand Father House With An Autentic Family Of Provence Since 5 Generations.a Guest House With Autentic And Modern Life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Oustau de Moungran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Oustau De Moungran France/Maussane-Les-Alpilles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing