We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm restaurant - Excellent meal”
Review of L'Oustaloun

L'Oustaloun
Reserve with
L'Oustaloun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$50
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm restaurant - Excellent meal”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We went to lunch at L'Oustaloun today. The restaurant was comfortably full when we arrived at 1:00. They offer à la carte as well as prix fix menus. I chose the 29 euros menu and ate a fresh goat cheese salad and for the main dish, pork tenderloins. The small deserts on the café gourmand menu were excellent. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judyrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    77
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
250 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good food...BAD service :(”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The food was nice (but not nicer than anywhere else in the area) but the service was a disaster ! We had to wait over half an hour between our main course and ordering the desserts and coffees and another 20 minutes to get the bill despite the fact that we ask for it as the same time as the coffees. The worse part is that everytime we tried to get the waiters attention they were deliberatly ignoring us !!! We were almost ready to get up and leave !!! So maybe try the other nice restaurants around before going to this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner in a charming atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We spent the night at the hotel L'oustaloun and reserved a table for dinner as the dining room looked cozy and had a nice atmosphere. We had a wonderful meal and great service. We loved the Foie Gras Creme Brulee, the sardine appetizer and my lamb was wonderful. The service was lovely and the wine list reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliegreenusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“worth a detour :-(”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

other than the lovely location in the main square of maussane, there were only two things of merit
the lamb (locally reared) was tender and tasty
the bottle of luberon red (€ 28.00) was softly rounded and well worth the money

those two things apart, none of us would go near the place again.

the politest that could be said of the foie gras creme brulee with pain d'epice topping is that it was interesting! - aka pretty nasty

there was also a chocolate mousse-y thing for pudding which was truly disgusting, being more like a grainy solid blancmange made from cocoa powder

as for service - it was effectively non-existent.
the young girl who was meant to look after our table was clearly totally inexperienced and clueless, yet she received no management support at all

now you know why it's nearly always possible to get a table at l'oustaloun without booking!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Oustaloun also viewed

Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Paradou, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Oustaloun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing