We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for all the tourist attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castillon des Baux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castillon des Baux
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location for all the tourist attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Recently stayed here for 4 nights short break. Hotel was very nice the proprietors were extremely accommodating and welcoming despite my feeble attempts to speak French . Hotel rooms are basic but normal furnishings for this part of France . Room was clean with a balcony and a nice view of the pool and the country side across Provence . Breakfast was good with a wide range of choice though at an additional cost . Swimming pool area captured the sun all day if you wanted to chill out though the pool was extremely cool and not many of those staying could manage more than a few lengths before returning to the sun beds . Hotel has a large car parking area off road .the hotel is in easy walking distance of the village centre and the restaurants around the main square . The hotel is ideal location for Les Baux Avingion and Arles and only a 1 hour drive from Marseilles airport . Only criticism I would have of the hotel is that after 8 pm they rely on a code system to allow you access,unfortunately on our last night they failed to tell us that they had changed the code which resulted in us spending 15 minutes trying to get work out how we would gain entry lucky for us another couple returned to the hotel that had the right code otherwise this unfortunate oversight it could have been a very long night on the front step which for an older couple could have been distressing. Despite this I would recommend this hotel for the convenience of location to all the attractions of Provence .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpfc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Despite having previously been put off this hotel by the appalling colourl, in view of its high rating on Tripadvisor, we decided to give this place a go....

We booked a Chambre Privilege triple room which turned out to be in an annexe adjacent to the hotel. The furnishing was basic with some of it being unfinished mdf and there was no safe in the room. On the way in there was a very strong smell of gas ~ we were told that their boiler had just been repaired and were assured that it was safe but.....

The in room info threatened a surcharge for clean pool towels but this was not charged

The owners were reasonably pleasant but their demeanor was more that of youth hostel wardens than of professional hoteliers and they seemed to be checking up on their guests all the time

Whilst there was nothing terribly wrong with Castillon des Baux there are numerous much better hotels in the village

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castillondesbaux, Propriétaire at Castillon des Baux, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Google Translation
Ces clients, habitués à séjourner dans des hôtels de luxe 5*, comme en témoignent leurs autres contributions, ont porté leur choix sur notre établissement en ne retenant comme seul critère de sélection que les avis majoritairement favorables postés en ligne.
Le Castillon des Baux est un hôtel 3*, dont les prix sont 4 fois inférieurs aux 5*de la région, et de ce fait, n’a pas la prétention d’offrir le même niveau de prestations que ces établissements de luxe.
Si nous regrettons sincèrement qu’ils aient eu le sentiment d’être trompés, nous déplorons l’aspect excessif et à la limite de la courtoisie de leurs commentaires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

A very good choice if you want to discover the 'les Baux" area. Conveniently located but sufficiently distant from the main road to enjoy the calmness. The people who run this small hotel are very friendly. Nice pool area where you can relax and unwind. If we could make a suggestion: give a bit more attention to the breakfast with more diversity.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsjevanbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed here 5 nights beginning July 2012. Our hosts have been owners since a year and a half. They were very kind and welcoming. The garden is beautiful and swimming pool was nice at 25°c. The hotel (20 rooms) has been partly renewed but more investments still to be made. There was a lot of choice for breakfast, but rather expensive at 11,50€. We stayed in the annexe building, our room was very big, bedding was fantastic. We had two private terrasses and a very large bathroom. The hotel is nicely situated: we visited Les Baux de Provence and Les Carrières de Lumières, St Remy de Provence's market, local winneries and olive producers. There are many restaurants situated near the hotel, so there is enough choice. A very enjoyable stay, relaxing and appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HClaireH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed one night at Castillon des Baux to evaluate the Hotel as we were trying to find a place to accommodate some of our guest for our wedding in Summer 2012.

The hotel is very nice, clean and cosy, with a pool area, a very nice garden and idealy located very close to the beautiful center of Mausanne. The Hotel also offer complementary WIFI which we highly appreciated.

The owners (who took over the hotel in spring 2011) were incredibly helpful and did whatever they could to help us organising some stuff in relation to our wedding, pre-booked some of the rooms etc. So a big compliment and thank you again - we will come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnylandolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel after a week further north in Provence. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, and the owners were friendly and helpful. Maussane is a lovely town with all the basic amenities (cafes, bars, restaurants, groceries, etc). The pool was a welcome relief after touring the area in the hot sun. Our rooms were on the ground floor, so we had doors opening onto a patio area. Les Baux and Glanum are nearby, and there are also some wineries to visit.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gusfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed three nights at this hotel and found it friendly and comfortable. The owners could not do enough for you and were so nice. We had a lovely little patio of our own and ate breakfast each morning either in the restaurant or on the terrace. There was plenty to eat and the eggs - once you had worked out how to cook them yourself- were lovely. The pool was a pleasant place to sit and the gardens charming. Pistache the cat was very welcoming also! There is a lovely restaurant nearby called "Fleur de Thym' which we recommend and we are planning to return again both to the hotel and the restaurant.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ELLIOTTSPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maussane-les-Alpilles
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aurelia
BEST WESTERN Aurelia
#2 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Magnanarelles
Hotel Restaurant Les Magnanarell...
#5 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
#6 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#3 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Val Baussenc
Val Baussenc
#1 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'oustaloun
L'oustaloun
#3 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillon des Baux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillon des Baux

Property: Castillon des Baux
Address: 10 B avenue de la Vallee des Baux, 13520 Maussane-les-Alpilles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Maussane-les-Alpilles
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Maussane-les-Alpilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castillon des Baux 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Le Castillon des Baux" is located in Provence at Maussane-Les Alpilles, a small, picturesque village in the South of France with plane trees, a shaded village square, cafes and a wide range of restaurants. Perched on a small promontory and set back from the main street of the village, "Le Castillon des Baux" is a charming hotel where you can appreciate a slower pace of life and a magnificent view over Provence and the Alpilles. The Provencal garden is planted with olive trees, the swimming pool is surrounded by a patio with sunbeds where you can enjoy the sun of Provence in a calm and quiet atmosphere, sheltered from the Mistral. We hope that in this quiet corner you will find some precious time to relax and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Castillon des Baux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillon Des Baux France/Maussane-Les-Alpilles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing