We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quirky”
Review of L'oustaloun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'oustaloun
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quirky”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a very comfortable and quirkily stylish room with a great view over the Place de l'eglise.
The bathroom was well appointed - apart from the lack of a toilet roll holder, which can make things surprisingly awkward !
The cooking in the restaurant showed flair, for example, in an exquisite tatin d'aubergines and beautifully presented desserts. However, the menu doesn't seem to change often so there was, in effect, little choice over two days for those who eat fish but not meat.
Welcome and service were friendly and relaxed.
We thought the breakfast very ordinary for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peony42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    36
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
250 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch during our annual trip to Mouriès and not only the food was excellent with fresh food, but the service was helpful and friendly so much that we decide to go back there 2 days after and then again everything was perfect. The kids menu was very yummy as well and the rosé wine very nice. I strongly recommend you stop there for lunch, the little place of Maussane is very nice and it is the perfect spot to stop and spend a lovely time in this beautiful area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The location of this hotel and the town itself couldn't have been better. Maussane-les-Apllies is a great base to explore not only the national park, but also the nearby Camargue.
The hotel was charming, clean and the hotel owner was very friendly. The hotel is located in the centre of the town next to the local church, which has a tendency to chime 7am this times. We never did find out why. Outside the hotel are a number of good restaurants located around the square all serving reasonably price wine and food.
My only criticism is that although we stayed in June to avoid the sweltering heat of August, we experienced unseasonal temperatures of 41c (106f). The rooms were not air-conditioned so we
catnapped during the night and did what the locals do. Namely had a siesta each afternoon.
This was one Englishman who did not face the noon day sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have stayed three times in L'Oustaloun. The rooms are very charming, and the beds are very comfortable. If you get a room with a view on the Place, you can watch the scenery from above. I just spent four days in room 5. A very large room, and a modern bathroom and a view of the Place.

The food is probably the best in Provence. Open for lunch and dinner, (closed on Wednesdays and Thursdays) and you will enjoy a plate du jour during lunches. The chef is great. Enjoy, enjoy!

The owner speaks perfect English and he and his wife are charming!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_Yaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This hotel is a bit funky, but a pleasant quaint atmosphere makes up for the several flights of steps. The owner was kind enough to carry my bag up to my room.
I stayed in Room #8 which is what they call a quadruple room. It had two full beds and a large nice newly renovated bathroom. It was comfortable and nice to spread out for 17e more than a double. This room also has a nice view out to the town square. What really makes this place is the restaurant though. We had a terrific meal, with great atmosphere and wonderful service. Every table was full on a Monday night. If you are in the area, check out their restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose room 8, it's worth the extra amount. My friends stayed in room 6 and they thought it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliegreenusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is quaint and very charming, and the restaurant is fabulous. We had the best meal we've had in France yet, after being in southern France for 4 months. It is obvious that the locals enjoy this restaurant also. The service was great, and the food was interestingly prepared. We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We Reserved 4 days quite a while ago. Pictures do not honestly portray this place and we were troubled by mold or something that created severe respiratory distress and wanted to cancel the remaining 3 days. Only after a really ugly confrontation did the owner let us cancel the 3 remaining days. We would not be leaving this negative review had he not made such a scene regarding cancellation. This is only the 2nd negative trip advisor comment I have ever made but the ugliness of the situation warrants this comment. Great location in a great little French town but this really put a downer on a great trip. We felt the need to cancel for health reasons, not because we changed our plans and the owner was really ugly over this change. We stayed at several places during our trip in this price range and they all met or exceeded expectations. We moved on perhaps less than 20km away.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Daveofstaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maussane-les-Alpilles
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Magnanarelles
Hotel Restaurant Les Magnanarell...
#5 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
#6 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Val Baussenc
Val Baussenc
#1 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castillon des Baux
Castillon des Baux
#4 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Aurelia
Best Western Aurelia
#2 of 6 in Maussane-les-Alpilles
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#2 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'oustaloun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'oustaloun

Property: L'oustaloun
Address: Place de l'Eglise, 13520 Maussane-les-Alpilles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Maussane-les-Alpilles
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Maussane-les-Alpilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — L'oustaloun 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L_Oustaloun, means the Little House in Provencal language, in the past was in turn a 16 th century abbey and Maison Commune of 1792-1817 (Town Hall and a Jail), a Carpentry and finally the first Hotel - Restaurant in the center of the village of Maussane les Alpilles.After a detour to the Haute Savoie in this young age and studied at the Hostellerie high School "Savoie-Leman" in Thonon les Bains, Thierry Fabregoul dicided to came back in 1990 in the area Marielle her wife was first a Pharmacy preparative in Avignon and she has always enjoyed in the idea to managed a restaurant in the Alpilles . when you can received your guest like at home with a touch of love and above all the idea of cooking and pleasing others. A great success for over 27 years, Marielle and Thierry have continually renovate and embellish this beautiful house to offer to all their guests a moment of quiet and simple happiness. They had the pleasure in September 2014 to received a Quality Tourism label and see all their efforts rewarded by this acquisition ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'oustaloun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Oustaloun France/Maussane-Les-Alpilles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing