We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witsand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mudlark River Front Lodge
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited the Mudlark for 3 nights at the beginning of December with our 22 month old daughter. The lodge is lovely, a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town and everyday life. We stayed in a spacious wooden cabin with its own patio overlooking the Breede River - the room was comfortable and clean and the views stunning. Hilary and Tim are great hosts, friendly and knowledgeable with lots of stories to tell. It was very windy during our visit which really limited activities on the water and beaches, but Hilary and Tim helped us find a charming secluded beach completely sheltered from the wind which was perfect for a little girl to explore. Hilary's food is magnificent, Tim a great barman and Bodger the dog wonderful with children. We really liked the shared dining - we enjoy meeting other travellers and sharing stories/experiences. Plus, it meant more people and children to entertain our daughter! It really was a very relaxing and enjoyable few days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you want to get away from traffic & crowds then this is the place to stay. After driving down the unmade road for quite a way you arrive at this river paradise and feel you could stay forever! Lovely wooden lodges look onto the river, whilst the guest lounge is always open with Bodger the dog keeping an eye on proceedings. Meals cooked by Hilary are delicious and generous and Tims 'bar' is always open for some evening drinks, and a wonderful place to gather before dinner. The fishing trips are also great fun, just let Tim know if you would like to go out, and the birdlife visiting the feeders is amazing. We were sad to leave Mudlark, it was definately the best place we stayed at in SA this time and would go back if ever we got the chance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Mudlark is truly Cape Infanta's best kept secret, a mere 3hr drive from Cape Town. Don't be put off by the gravel road that links Cape Infanta to the N2 (Swellendam) because at the end of your journey a piece of paradise awaits you. Bodger, the resident dog will escort you to the main house where your hosts Tim and Hilary greet you with a warmth that is normally reserved for long time friends or family. From the initial welcome we knew the recipe of their success. Their attention to detail is unsurpassed and this extends to their staff compliment as well. Our room was luxurious to say the least. Clean, modern and comfortable. The view of the river - priceless. Being city slickers from Cape Town, we found the silence quite deafening at first but soon relaxed to the calls of the resident weaver birds which nest in the beautiful gardens that surround the property. These avians are quite spoilt really, as they receive their daily rations of fresh fruit, seeds and sweet drinking water! Mudlark is a social place and pre dinner drinks are served at the bar by Tim who is welcoming, charming, witty and full of good advice. Supper is truly a splendid affair which is taken at a communal dining table (what a great way to meet your fellow travellers). To say that Hilary is a good cook is an understatement. Night after night we were served a delicious 3 course home cooked meal which would put many restaurants to shame. Hilary is a skilled cook who is always willing to accomodate even the fussiest of eaters. Breakfast is also taken at the communal dining table and one is treated to the most amazing fresh farm eggs, muffins and muesli to die for and lots lots more. We fished, walked and took in the natural beauty of all the Breede River has to offer. Will be back - Monique and Glenn (Cape Town)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0niqueCapeT0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A long way down a never-ending dirt road, Mudlark is well worth the effort to find it. Perched above the Breede River are beautiful log cabins with their own private and comfortable patios, perfect for enjoying a sundowner. Meals are cooked and served in the main lodge by Hilary, and Tim is a great barman. Drinks are very reasonablely priced, well below restaurant prices, which is just as well because they go down easily. It's a short drive to the end of the road to the river mouth where we spent a whole day enjoying the whales: a cliff path takes you high enough to see them really well. I would say this is a better place for whale watching than Hermanus and much quieter.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin away from teh lodge which was very private and on its own - the others are in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaktisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been visiting south Africa for several years now and it seems we have finally found a place where we can indulge in our respective obsession's, fishing and sun worshiping.
We were a little apprehensive as the drive is a bit of a commitment and the missus is quiet fussy when it comes to where she will lay her pretty little head for the night, but my need to get a proper crack at some fish was weighing heavily and won out this time.
The dirt track is dirty but just keep the windows up and you will be there before you know it. That grit in your teeth is the perfect excuse for a beer (or 2) when you arrive, no matter what time of day! Tim the proprietor and supplier of beers and fine local wines will be more than happy to take care of this department. He is also a supplier of entertaining stories of his many adventures and the telling of these can go on til all hours! Might be an idea to perfect some stories of your own for the nightly after dinner drinks...
Bird life abounds, we were kept entertained by the constant stream of feathered visitors to the feeders.
There's a beautiful little beach just a few minutes away and more spectacular waters further out where the mighty Breede meets the sea.
I did quiet a bit of fishing, twice from the lodge boats and managed a few grunter and a small steenbras on prawn. I had fly gear with me but had no luck, I'm a novice to salt water on the fly but the potential there is definitely huge. Next time...
The smell of the fynbos while we drifted across the river is a memory that will long stay with me.
Hilary is a wonderful hostess and runs an excellent kitchen. The food was plentiful varied and damn tasty!
We had one of the smaller older rooms which was ok, there are bigger newer ones so we have reserved one of these for our next visit which is only a few months away. Last time we stayed for two nights, next time we are staying for four. I think that prob says it all really!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Thank you Hilary and Tim for a wonderful stay. Mudlark was exactly what we were looking for, for a relaxed and romantic getaway. Mudlark has such a warm, friendly and homely feel to it without compromising on luxuary. Hilary and Tim are so welcoming and we felt right at home. Food was great, home-cooked meals of fish that Hilary's son had caught and dessert was always increadible. Beautiful private rooms and balcony gave it a gloriously romanitic feel and my boyfriend and I enjoyed the sunsets and sunrises from the jetty over-looking the lucious Breede River.

Hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: Room 5! Best View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanehodges55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swellendam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at Mudlark as a welcome break from running our own B and B. We absolutely loved it - no frills and fuss, but stunning views, a great atmosphere, and a warm, hearty welcome from Tim and Hilary. We spent a morning on the river with no success with the fish but it was of no consequence at all, as the peace, the beauty and the kind support of our fishing guide more than made up for it. Dinner was amazing, due to others' success with a rod and Hilary's skill as a chef. Excellent value for money. (Oh and Bodger the dog - what a star!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witsand
14.5 mi away
Malagas Hotel
Malagas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malagas
101 reviews
3.0 mi away
Whale Watchers Inn
Whale Watchers Inn
#1 of 2 in Witsand
61 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mudlark River Front Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mudlark River Front Lodge

Property: Mudlark River Front Lodge
Address: Breede River Mouth, Witsand 6666, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Witsand
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Witsand
Hotel Class:3 star — Mudlark River Front Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mudlark River Front Lodge is situated on the bank of the Breede River. 5 double en-suite rooms with private decks and magnificent views over 5 kms of river. The lodge offers guided fishing, river cruises, 205 bird species, whale watching the best in SA, easy walks through the fynbos and along the coast. Lots of peace and tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing