We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first trip to Italy and we stayed at this most beautiful and magical palazzo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Farrattini

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amelia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palazzo Farrattini
Ranked #4 of 20 Amelia B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My first trip to Italy and we stayed at this most beautiful and magical palazzo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

As soon as you step into the Palazzo Farrattini you are magically transformed back in time. You are warmly greeted by the two nicest people of this fine establishment and they know all there is to know of the rich history of their country. They give you a terrific tour of the castle and you are in awe of how old and wonderful it is. The rooms are terrific and beautiful and it is such a joy to spend the nights looking up at the beauty of the ceilings as you fall asleep. And if you want to just spend a relaxing time by the pool over looking the amazing country side or just reading by the olive groves, you will be amazed. Walking the quaint streets of the town and shopping in the little shops was a real treat and no matter if you don't speak the language, everyone there are so helpful and friendly that those barriers were not a problem for me. Ettore and Scott were such wonderful hosts that you will find it hard to leave and say good bye. You will just have to return and visit again! I would recommend the Palazzo Farrattini to anyone who is looking for that perfect romantic vacation of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
20
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bantam, CT
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

From the second you drive down the driveway, you will be in sheer awe! The beautiful landscape will take your breath away!!!! Then once you step out of the automobile, you'll walk a few steps to land your eyes on the most beautiful, towering Italian palace overlooking a gorgeous landscape. It literally moved me!!!

Inside the ancient, yet charming palazzo are beautifully decorated rooms, natural light pouring everywhere, you'll think you died and went to heaven. This Palazzo will invite you into every room with fresco painting, age appropriate antiques, and great Tuscan breakfast room offering fabulous Italian gourmet meals!

The terrace is one stunner that you'll never want to leave! We ate our lunches and had cocktails under a grape vine gazebo overlooking magnificent Italy!

Did I mention that you'll also have Wi-Fi if necessary.

My great friend & I watched a movie in the theater and it was such a memorable night!

If you want the whole Italian experience, look no further than this Italian, Tuscan slice of heaven!!!! This palazzo has grace, history and a sense of home and character that will make you never want to leave.
My favorite part of this amazing place was the two charismatic, genial owners and operators. They were the kindest, most charming and sophisticated Italians you could meet!

I can't wait to return and I just got back (CT) three days ago!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaFish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

During the past summer, while studying in the incredibly beautiful walled village of Amelia, a jewel nestled on a hilltop in the heart of Umbria, I had the pleasure and honor of spending time at Palazzo Farranttini in the company of some truly amazing people, most notably our genial and charming host, Ettore Farranttini Pojani. Although I didn't live at the Palazzo full time, I spent many wonderful evenings in the gardens of the palace with strangers who became friends and friends who became family, enjoying the spectacular views and gracious hospitality of Ettore. We enjoyed many fine meals prepared by Ettore et al (thank you Scott), and more than a few bottles of excellent local wine were consumed with gusto. When my wife and I decided to renew our vows, Palazzo Farranttini was the obvious choice as the venue. It was a magical night full or romance and wonder that harkened back to an earlier time. The Palazzo itself provided the perfect backdrop - steeped in centuries of history, with fabulous frescoes, gorgeous antique furniture, towering ceilings, comfortable and well-appointed rooms and steps to the second story deep enough for horses to carry their charges up to bed, which apparently they did in years gone by. (I tried to find a horse to take me up to bed but, sadly, that was the one and only thing missing in our adventures at the Palazzo.) Palazzo Farranttini is a unique and charming destination that is sure to provide something for everyone adventurous enough to try something out of the ordinary. Thank you, Ettore, for special memories that will last a life time, or at least until we return... which will hopefully be very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you have got this far investigating your forthcoming trip to Umbria you must have
some idea of what you can expect here in Italy. Amelia is not a major international tourist centre so if that's what you want, I suggest you look to Rome or Venice first, then turn your sights on the wonderful Umbrian countryside. After two days of non-stop sight seeing, you will appreciate the benefit of complete relaxation at the historic Palazzo Farrattini and while doing so, experience a genuine piece of Italian culture, the slower pace of life in an Italian hillside town.

Not only is this historic palace beautifully maintained, it proprietor Ettore Farrattini Pojani, exudes Umbrian charm and hospitality.

The rooms on the piano nobile of his family’s home are comfortable and beautifully appointed. Tastefully decorated, each one, has the authentic charm of an historical residence, maintaining an overall feeling of timeless elegance. In opening them up to the public, the owner has retained the palace’s personalized charm and ambiance. I love the windows that overlook the beautiful garden, where I can admire the view and take in the peace and tranquility of the hillside surrounding Amelia.

I have had the pleasure of visiting the Palazzo Farrattini each summer for the last two years using the palazzo's garden, with its lovely pergola as a venue for my organization’s annual cocktail party. We also book this residence every year for our conference VIP, who come to Amelia to speak at our annual conference. Palazzo Farrattini always surpasses my expectations for quality of service and venue location. I love the authenticity of the place and its well-chosen decor, inviting common, sumptuous rooms and vibrantly green garden. Each work to create an oasis of calm, luxury and relaxed sophistication. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda_Albertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our experience at Palazzo Farrattini far surpassed our expectations. We had thought that spending some time in such an historic place would be unique, but perhaps a bit lacking in comfort. How wrong we were! From the moment we arrived in Amelia, we realized that this was to be a special experience. Far from musty, the palace, though large, had a "homey feel." This was fostered by the charm, friendliness, and hospitality of the hosts. Our room was large and airy, with the bath cleverly concealed behind a repurposed handsome armoire. The room, on the second level, was accessed by stairs up which horses used to walk. The banquet hall in the center of this floor was nicely appointed, and internet access was available in another room on this floor.

Our purpose in traveling to this area was to visit the Park of the Monsters in nearby Bomarzo. Amelia had not been our actual destination. However, we learned from Ettore that there was much more to experience in the area than we had first imagined. We visited the Amelia Museum, where we learned much more about this Umbrian town's history. This was definitely worth doing. We were very impressed by the bronze sculpture of Germanicus (15 BC - 19 AD).

The palace itself was, however, the high point of our stay. The hosts’ willingness to share the personal history of the palace as well as information about points of local interest made our stay a pleasant and memorable experience. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
180 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The palazzo is hosted by two very gracious gentlemen, one is a renaissance man while the other is an astute antique dealer with a flare making all the guests feel comfortable . The palazzo retains fabulous wall art and ceilings, the original horse stairs, a cellar showing segments of Roman mosaics and a view that encompasses hills, valleys and other hilltop villages in the distance. Our room made me feel like royalty from another era and the en suite bathroom had the most luxurious soaking tub. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and the air in June was filled with the heady scent of roses and jasmine. It is a magical place you usually can only read about.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the second floor at the back...no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

After having a great experience staying at Palazzo Farrattini in 2008 with a friend, I returned in 2013 with my boyfriend. I am so glad I did! The hosts were as gracious and generous on my second visit as on my first. It was also great to see the delicate, authentic improvements the hosts have continued to make to this wonderful venue. The hospitality, accommodations and views at Palazzo Farrattini are idyllic. I highly encourage travelers to give this bed and breakfast location a try!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amelia hotels
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo Villa San Valentino
1.4 mi away
La Gabelletta
La Gabelletta
#5 of 20 in Amelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
B & B 44
B & B 44
#6 of 20 in Amelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Tara
Agriturismo Tara
#1 of 20 in Amelia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Tenuta del Gallo
La Tenuta del Gallo
#2 of 20 in Amelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casale Santa Caterina
Casale Santa Caterina
#2 of 25 in Amelia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Farrattini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Farrattini

Property: Palazzo Farrattini
Address: Via Farrattini 52, 05022, Amelia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Amelia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Amelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Farrattini is a unique jewel of the Italian Renaissance started exactly 5 centuries ago by the famous Architech Antonio Da Sangallo the youngest. Still a property of the family, the Palazzo opens its doors to the guests who look for the authentical charme of the period when it was built. During the summer of 2014 various events will celebrate this important anniversary. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing