We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Warmth and Hospitality”
Review of Agriturismo Tara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Tara
Ranked #1 of 20 Amelia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Francesca and David have created such a warm, welcoming place at Tara. They are detail people with big hearts—the magic combination of qualities that makes their hospitality the best in our two month trip to Europe. I used to think that if I stayed somewhere with a beautiful room and a beautiful view that was enough. But I’ve come to realize that service and hospitality are the components of a trip that make it most memorable and most relaxing. I read the reviews here on tripadvisor before booking, and I’m so glad I followed the advice of everyone else: go there and you will not be disappointed. We are extremely picky travelers and have been all over the world in very expensive accommodations, and Tara still ranks as one of the best places we’ve stayed. We rented the cottage with our three children, and by the end of the stay I was wishing I could build a house just like it and get rid of our big house in Oregon. It has everything you need and nothing you don’t need, which means you’ll be able to relax while you’re there. The pool is simply fantastic, and everything at Tara is impeccably clean and comfortable. Francesca accommodated every single special request I made, and she and David bent over backwards to always make sure everything was just as we wanted it. They shared apricots from their trees, oil from their olives, wine from their grapes, strawberries from their patch around the frog pond, and lettuce from the garden. They arranged horseback riding lessons for my children. Everything they do they do with a smile and a generous spirit, and their sweet, generous children are the same way. I wish we were their neighbors! We’ve been back home almost a month, and just today my three year old asked to get on a plane and go back to Tara. I felt the same way he did!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca g, Proprietario at Agriturismo Tara, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Sharing Tara's with your family was so nice also for us ! My kids often ask of the "Americans" and we hope to meet your family again to see your and my children growing up ! A big hug also from Cicero "mamma mia" and Mirto and the cats !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We loved our visit to Agriturismo Tara! Francesca and David are wonderful hosts, and we loved meeting them, getting to know their adorable children and experiencing the Italian countryside. The rooms are well-appointed with comfortable beds, quality towels and linens, a mini-fridge, AC unit, and many nice touches such as fresh lavender, daily housekeeping, and cold bottles of water.

The house was historically renovated with personal touches throughout that made it homey and comfortable. Breakfast was great - fresh fruit and yogurt and proscuitto and cheese and toast and fresh-squeezed juice. And great espresso and coffee, of course.

We did several day trips to Amelia and the surrounding towns, including waterfall hikes, a lake, etc. Francesca and David helped guide us with what was happening locally and made great suggestions for our stay. We enjoyed tasting the homemade wine and olive oil with them as well.

The pool was outstanding. Clean and modern lines with a beautiful view. Chairs were vintage wood with large umbrellas. This would make a great stay for a family as Francesca and David have kids of their own, and it feels like you are really experiencing Italian country life. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca g, Proprietario at Agriturismo Tara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

It is a pleasure for us to help our guests to discover this wonderful region, especially the south part of Umbria ! We wait for you next time you will plan a new visit to share again the italian countrylife. Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Peaceful gorgeous setting. Beautiful accomodations with great attention to detail - relaxed and comfortable but also top-quality. The cottage was a perfect space for our family - we were able to prepare meals and enjoy them outside on the beautiful patio. David and Francesca are so friendly and helpful and welcoming. It was the perfect vacation! Lots of swimming in the fabulous pool, horseback riding lessons that were arranged for us, beautiful walks and short day trips. We also enjoyed the plentiful olive and fruit trees, flowers, trees - the entire setting was beautiful. I hope we are lucky enough to return someday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meaghen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca g, Proprietario at Agriturismo Tara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

And we hope to meet you again with your so adorable family ! My kids often speak about yours and have nice memory of the "Cottage guests" ! Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Tara. Francesca & David were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them. The accommodation was of the highest quality. We would highly recommend Tara to anybody, wanting a base to visit the beautiful Umbrian county-side. It is also great for young families - as they have a self contained house for such purposes.

Room Tip: As there are only 3 rooms - all are of the highest quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca g, Proprietario at Agriturismo Tara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for choosing Agriturismo Tara for your Umbrian holiday ! I am glad to read about you....that means that your on-line check-in finally worked !!! Thanks !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful two-night visit in late May. Beautiful setting and wonderful room - very romantic! Francesca and David could not have been more accommodating - the breakfasts and conversation were the best. Amelia is a real find - interesting in and of itself and a great location/base for exploring Umbria. Francesca even called the best local restaurant (La Locanda del Conte Nitto) and asked if they could open 30 minutes early just for us (we didn't realize that they normally opened @ 1930) - she and David are very plugged-in and very highly regarded by the Umbrian hospitality community.
We look forward to a return.
Christy & Rich

Room Tip: The Lavender Room was great but we don't think that you can go wrong with any of the choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you so much for choosing Agriturismo Tara for your stay in Umbria ! We hope to meet you again next time you will visit Italy. Best wishes again from all the family and the pets too...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Francesca and David were so welcoming and gave us excellent information in order to enjoy our time in Amelia -- good restaurant recommendations, insight into olive oil production plus genuine hospitality at their B&B. There is talk of cooking classes and grape harvest. We are ready to return soon.

Barbara and Hank, Virginia

Room Tip: Get information for sign on the turn from road into Tara location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BG1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Driving just past the quaint, walled town of Amelia is the charming Agriturismo Tara. It is located just close enough to the town to enjoy it on a whim but far enough to feel like you are very much in the country (you can actually see the town from Tara's grounds but feel like it is way off in the distance, high above you).
The grounds are quite lovely with a small vineyard and olive trees to both view, as well as taste their products, and purchase upon your leave-taking. Francesca and Davide, the propietors of Tara, were also kind enough to have a bottle of their olive oil in our room as a complimentary gift, as well as holding a wine and olive oil tasting time in the late afternoon. Their products are quite good and we left with several bottles of olive oil (we would have purchased the wine as well but had already done so at the loveliest of B and B's in Marche called Vento di Rose (in Monterubbiano).
Francesca welcomed us into their property with grace and charm. She is a wonderful hostess and was most generous throughout our stay, offering us both her delicious baked goods and the use of her computer and phone when our trip plans hit a snag. She was also very knowledgable about the area and turned us onto the best restaurants, festivals and points of interest.. It helped that her English is quite good. (Davide was equally generous although his English is more limited). It is important to note that the couple has triplets under the age of five, and at first we thought this would be an issue, but they are the most wonderful kids and it felt like a large extended family after a while. In the end, it was a joy that their family welcomed us into their lives.
The room we stayed was both large and tastefully done. It was very comfortable and colorful, with all modern amenities. They have done a great job maintaining the home's old charm and bringing in 21st century needs.(they allowed us to use their wireless IPad a number of times).
Breakfasts were large and tasty, punctuated by Francesca's baked goods (which remained on the buffet throughout the day).
The swimming pool area is magnificent. The pool itself is enormous and the surrounding area with a variety of chairs, umbrellas most comfortable. We actually spent more time at the pool than we had planned as it was quite hot and the pool was a delight.
From Tara, one can run into Amelia in a matter of minutes or find several Umbrian towns/attractions very easily. (Rome is also only 90 minutesor so away.) Francesca turned us on to the most wonderful festival in the small town of Colichello. Also, she suggested Tattoria Collepino where we dined on 2 occasions as it was one of the best dining experiences we have had in the 4 times we have visited Italy.
All in all, we very much enjoyed Tara and would return if we were to stay in southern Umbria.
(Please note that I would have given 5 stars if there had not been an electrical wire grid that ran on the outskirts of the property).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertogiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amelia hotels
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo Villa San Valentino
2.6 mi away
La Tenuta del Gallo
La Tenuta del Gallo
#3 of 20 in Amelia
102 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo San Cristoforo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Borgo nelle Querce
2.0 mi away
La Gabelletta
La Gabelletta
#4 of 20 in Amelia
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
B & B 44
B & B 44
#6 of 20 in Amelia
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Tara

Address: Strada del Pisciarello 3, 05022, Amelia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Amelia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Amelia
Price Range: £93 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umbria - Amelia: 3 wonderful rooms (2 double and one quadruple) in the main building with B&B service. One self-catering Cottage with kitchen; available for disable guests. Tara is a 19th-century stone farmhouse surrounded by the stunning countryside just 2 km from the ancient medieval town of Amelia. Olive oil production and tasting; flower and cooking lessons on request. Outdoor swimming-pool and mountain-bikes available. AgriRelax: new area for fee. The area has: Hammam Sauna Whirpool Tapis-roulant Cyclette ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing