We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff were always smiling!”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Staff were always smiling!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I spent 3 full days (2 nights) at this beautiful, relaxing and first-rate Hotel in January 2012. Arriving at their jetty straight from our houseboat we were greeted by the happy, smiling, highly trained members of Staff and this continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The naturalists took us on most interesting walks around the property and took a considerable time showing us photographs of the bird species to be seen in the area. What a lovely restful time we had. Don't miss it if you are in the area; it is not too far from bustling Cochin!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Rosie_5477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    277
    64
    17
    11
See reviews for
341
556
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Coconut Lagoon is a wonderful hotel. Set on the edge of a lake, with access only by boat, it is the ultimate in tranquility, with birdwatching, susnet lake cruise and trips around the smaller backwaters as highlights of our visit. The cottages are comfortable (although space for clothes could be improved) and the food was excellent. The staff are superb - they take pride in knowing exactly who you are and what your needs are. This is not the place to go for nightlife, but excellent for total chillout in a setting where nature is all around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I visited the Coconut Lagoon Resort in December 2009 and even though after 2.5 year I was compelled to write a review because of the lovely time I had there.
This was my first visit to Kerala with family and Coconut Lagoon was one of the primary reasons, I fell in love with Kerala. After a long drive from the Cochin airport the amazing experience started as soon as we took a boat to the resort. The visitors can only enter the resort by means of the resort boat (was a highlight for my 2 year old son) through the canal which takes you directly to the resort reception. The authentic Kerala experience started as soon as we entered the lobby and were greeted by a warm Kerala style welcome.
We had taken 2 heritage bungalows overlooking the lagoon and the setting was perfect. The interiors were traditional wooden, very neat and clean. Sitting peacefully on the bungalow verandah, looking at the water, doing nothing ...... can become an addictive habit as your experience total bliss.
The good thing was that the bungalows did not have TV’s or wifi connection (when I visited) which gave you a complete peaceful environment. You can however use the TV or wifi in the lobby, which is a great place to meet other guests and interact. There were a lot of activities to choose from and you can take your pick from Kayaking, swimming, speed boating, learning to play a musical instrument, take advantage of the ayurveda spa, or simply take an early morning strole early in the gardens which the staff claim have different trees and many ayurvedic & medicinal plants.
The food at the buffet was a decent spread & the staff was ever polite with pleasing manners.
It was a rejuvenating and peaceful holiday & I would love to return to “The God’s own country” and try out other resorts in the backwaters along with another return to the Coconut lagoon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMM_KAYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Very happy to have read your feedback, to know that Coconut Lagoon and Kerala have stayed in your heart much after your holiday here. We do hope you will come back and experience some of the other destinations that Kerala and CGH Earth have to offer.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

After a week in crazy overpopulated and extra noisy Madra, we landed here at the Coconut Lagoon ! It was like arriving in paradise ! The view is spectacular , the accomodation are very cosy and this resort make sure they take care of the environnement ! Loved the pool, food was amazing and STAFF is A+++ ! Defenatly wanna go back there !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I spent 3 nights at Coconut Lagoon at the start of my trip to Kerala. I joined my Mum and her partner, who have been going back to Coconut Lagoon year after year, to see what the fuss was all about. Well the photos do not do it justice! From the moment you arrive at the dock and get on the boat to the resort, you start to relax. Everyone single member of staff are polite and friendly, nothing is too much for them.
The food was great, we had the buffet every night and every night was different. The musicians are talented, adding to ambiance (although I did avoid the Kathkali, if you've seen it once I suggest just going straight to dinner!).
I had a bungalow overlooking the river and sitting on the veranda as the sun went down was a highlight, and everyone on the river seemed to view us as a tourist attraction too! The bungalow was clean, airy and the open-roofed bathroom a novelty.
There are so many places to sit and relax with different views- overlooking the lake, the paddy fields, the river and the hammocks were one of my favourite locations. The wildlife is fascinating- lots of butterflies, birds and turtles- and the cows that are used to keep the grass down are unique!
If you get a chance to hire a motorised canoe with a guide do- it is a great way to see the backwaters and we went on a Sunday so got to see all the children and families on their way to church.
I can see why people return to Coconut Lagoon, I cannot recommend it enough if you want to get away from it all!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pips_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent a few days in Coconut Lagoon at the end of a two week trip around southern India, in order to have a bit of down time before we took the long flight home.
Having decided to spash out, we opted for a heritage mansion. I'm not sure that this was such a good idea. As one of the other reviewers mentioned, the mansions are two story with slightly suicidal creeky steep stairs to the ground floor bathroom. Not great in the middle of the night. The first mansion we were allocated (202 from memory) was very close to the lake, but very small. It felt a bit claustrophobic, and you could hear the neighbours on both sides. We then asked to move, which did happen after a request and follow up. This mansion was at the end of the same block of four, but far larger with far more natural light. A lot nicer.
In retrospect, there's a lot to be said for the privacy of the bungalows although they are further from the lake.
We ate at the main restaurant in two out of three nights. The food was good, with lots of Indian choices, flavoursome and spiced to a level that was comfortable for foreigners. However, it would have been nice if there had been more than one european choice (pasta with tomato or cream sauce and cheese) on the alla carte menu - after a few weeks in India we were looking forward to something plain. And you don't always want a buffet every night.
There was a wine list (all Indian wines) with a decent red house wine, available by the glass, and beer was well priced. The dinner musicians were also outstanding - apparently they play in the local temples.
Breakfasts were good - plenty of european and Indian choices. Kerala is a great area for interesting breakfasts like dosas.
I really have to mention how good the staff in the restaurant were - super friendly, encouraged to talk to guests when they weren't serving and all in all they gave the impression that they genuinely enjoyed their jobs (thanks for the cricket updates Mohammed) . When we left the resort they came out to wave us off - it might be a standard thing, but it was still touching.
Two last things to mention quickly:
The minibar was quirky - cashews, beer and soda water only - but very well priced.
The two free activitiies we tried - the sunset cruise and bird lecture - were both professionally run, and worth doing.
All in all, a nice experience even if there were a couple of things that I would have liked changed.

Room Tip: If you're in a heritage mansion, ask for a room at the end of a block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

No words, or pictures can explain how peaceful, spectacular, romantic this resort truly is. It is just magical. If you have sone down time, don't miss it. No TV's, no reseason. It is perfect! The yoga classes are amazing, the pool was divine in the evening and the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K212aren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
3.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
5.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.6 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing