We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Heavenly ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went during the new year time as a group of 7. The overall experience from getting the water taxi til leaving with the water taxi was beautiful. The service is outstanding. The hotel grounds and rooms are top notch. We were welcomed with coconuts and flowers. The restaurants had lods to offer. Evening entertainment was good too. They had lods of activities to offer but unfortunately we didn't have the time to make most of it. We didn't want to leave the place it was that pretty.

I will definitely be visiting again and this time for at least a week.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    260
    59
    15
    11
See reviews for
321
505
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another cgh earth marvel.
Beautiful hotel on 30 acres ground by the Vembanad lake.
The heritage mansion rooms are beautiful, food is great (especially the Dosa lunch and Fish dinner), the pool is deliciously inviting and the massages extraordinary!
A truly wonderful place.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olivier p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After 2 nights on a fantastic rice boat we were sorry to disembark but that didn't last long when we were dropped at coconut lagoon. This is a truly magical place in a lovely setting with genuine ecological and ethical values. The bungalow was built in Kerela style and kitted out with everything we needed. The bedroom was upstairs and was comfortable and airy and the well equipped bathroom open to the elements downstairs. The pool was lovely and the staff friendly and helpful.

There was also the possibility of doing cookery classes, walks round the resort to see birds or to hear about the eco friendly credentials plus dancing etc. The food too was excellent - top marks all round.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Coconut Lagoon is a once in a lifetime experience. The resort and their dedication towards conservation and recycling and everything to make the planet better is exceptional.
After a short boat ride you enter the beautiful coconut lagoon with its beautiful waterways, heritage traditional houses, private open air bathrooms and natural beauty everywhere. As mentioned Coconut Lagoon is a beautiful once in a life time experience.
Couple of drawbacks of the resort is that there is no room service and a lot of mosquitoes at night. So make sure you carry bug repellant.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Atik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a bungalow and a Pool villa .after getting there we could understand why they have won the best heritage hotel title every year. The rooms, the decor, and every piece of furniture is so well thought of. The staff are very eager to please you. In two days you even end up remembering their names and smiles. The property is blessed with fantastic views and you will never want to return to your old life once you are here. You are offered plenty of activities to keep you occupied for a good three days, that include a property tour, bird watching , butterfly garden tour, sunset cruise, Yoga, Kalari and what not. However beautiful and comfortable the beds were to sleep in, I found myself waking up early so that I would not miss out on the lovely morning views and activities. Never had I enjoyed food to this extent, so many options, and so many creative efforts on the menu ( the banana flower croquettes, Stuffed snake gourd curry). I would look forward to every meal and stuff myself. I even found time to do coffee painting at the recreation centre, which they packed carefully for me to take home as a souvenir. Its the best break you can ask for from a hectic life. So go and get yourself pampered!

Room Tip: Mansions for big families, Bungalows near the lake offer great view and privacy. Pool villas are unm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thushara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed feedback on Coconut lagoon its unique architecture and especially our people.

The entire team is delighted to know that they came up to your expectations. It was a pleasure to service you.
the total Coconut lagoon concept is on the unique characters of Kerala its bird life ,flora and fauna.

We places people at the centre of everything we do, to train and support our team members in their work and to do all we can to keep people motivated and highly engaged, as they are the most important aspect of Coconut lagoon.

It gives me great pleasure to share your gracious praise with the entire team - the team will truly appreciate your generous praise.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Thanking you
Samboo.G
General Manager
9846153842
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set in the backwaters of Vembanad Lake, this is a wonderful property; bungalows in traditional Kerala style; plenty of included activities; excellent food; stunning location; the staff are wonderful and extremely helpful

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed feedback on Coconut lagoon,
The entire team is delighted to know that they came up to your expectations. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

As you rightly mentioned ,we endeavour to live up to our ethos and our philosophy of being authentic and unique..

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Coconut lagoon.

Please feel free to write to me for any assistance for your future stays with CGH hotels.

thanking you
Samboo.G
General Manager
9846153842

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

4 of us in our group had a upgrade to a suite and it was huge. Room 254 was a living room, bedroom, big bathroom and even a small private pool. Fridge worked fine with freezer compartment. Could not figure out how to shut off the AC in the living room. No TV. Internet wifi was fast and easy. Has safe big enough for laptop. Welcome drink was juice in a fresh coconut. They have a ton of various activities, do see the butterfly area. Could have easily stayed more than 1 day just to relax.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradziker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.2 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing