We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable stay at this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A memorable stay at this resort”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Kerala is a great place for a honeymoon couple. Places like Munnar, Kumarakom, Kovalam will leave behind special & lasting moments. Our stay at Taj Kumarakom has been memorable. Thanks to the great service and personal attention given to us. Unwind Holidays, a Kerala based holiday maker had planned our honeymoon trip. We will always remain thankful to them for those special moments.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titus_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback that you have provided.
We are indeed delighted that we could make the special moment in your life memorable.
We understand the relevance of special moments in one's life and how they stay back with individuals for ever and thereby try to do our bit to help create memories
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort sometime

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    256
    63
    22
    29
See reviews for
502
460
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Having been to two other Taj properties the last two years, our expectations were sky high. From the moment when we entered the resort to see the beautiful lagoon to the moment that we left the property while 3 Taj Staff waived us goodbye, it was blissful.

Every evening 4 ladies light up the night with hundreds of lamps that create such an incredible atmosphere. Late afternoon a wonderful cruise on the lake ends with a snacks and coffee session at the tea-shop. The food is something to die for. It is incredibly homely and has great variety. You wake up to the most wonderful sounds of birds chirping. We were upgraded for a night to the Premium villa with pool and had a gala of a time. The villa is so aesthetically designed with its switches that remind me of my grandfather's house.

Taj is the culmination of spectacular greenery, music from thousands of birds around, exquisite food and homely genuine hospitality. Its a strong recommendation for anybody looking to get back to nature and yet not sacrifice on luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuck_stream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Date of Stay : July 8th - July 11th 2011

Positive's :
1. Property manages to capture Kumarakom in a Nutshell,
2. Historical connection, this property was an English Christian Missionary's home. It's been amazingly restored
3.Amazingly Jungle feel, the walk down to your room at night is out of the world and the sounds coming from the nearby Bird sanctuary will thrill.
4. All sorts of birds flying around due to location next to the sanctuary
5. Rooms have an unmistakable ancient Kerala theme
6. Activity line up is both interesting and relaxing
7. Service and Hospitality is brilliant. Being a Taj innercircle member, I am biased about their service but really they have got it down Pat.
8. Look for offers on pricing - their billing is very clear,upfront and I did not experience any hidden costs.
9. Fantastic location for in house Restaurants.
10. Enjoyable complimentary Boatride every evening in the lagoon with games and Mehendi.
11. Either go for the cottage facing the inhouse lake or the premium temptation villa ( I satyed in both and they are swell - not sure about the others)
12. The semi out-door bathroom's are brilliant and totally cool.
13. Shiby (the GM) gives you personal attention and makes sure you have a good stay.

Negative's
1. Being beside the bird sanctuary, means the property requires an extremely high level of maintenance which is a challenge that the hotel faces daily. They are doing a good job but you will notice bits and pieces, here and there which require touch up's from a look and feel perspective.
2. Food is not bad, Ample Kerala cuisine however there is no non-veg other than eggs(Sausages/Ham and the like would have been nice)in the break fast menu and some items were good but not mind blowing (if you know what I mean)
3. Evening Entertainment by the restaurants is excellent if you like classical Kerala fare every night. Having stayed there for 3 night's I enjoyed it the first time and was hoping for a bit of a change on the subsequent nights.
4. House boat is pretty expensive, I am sure it's a luxurious one but they probably could have a scaled down option witha another vendor as well.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the in-house lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarunKrishniah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India-Chennai-Delhi-Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights - got upgraded to the Temptation Premium Villa.Unbelievable experience and good service

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMARKAMPANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the splendid feedback that you have provided for the resort.
We are indeed glad that you had a memorable experience with us.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort sometime in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We took a 3 days, 2 nights package at Vivanta by Taj, Kumarakom and our first pleasant surprise was at the time of check-in when they upgraded us to the Deluxe Villa! The rooms and outdoors were extremely spacious and excellent. The evening boat cruise and the chayakada (tea and snacks) after boating provide a fine touch and personalized experience. We had an activity coordinator who organized fun activities, and we even won the first prize! We did pottery, boating within the lagoon and cycling to top our activities within the resort. The open bathroom was a unique experience but we felt safe and secure. The weather was humid but the monsoons had not yet set it very well; so we relished our stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padmaprabodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad that you had a memorable experience with us.
As you have rightly mentioned,we have a host of activities lined up to keep the entire family engaged during their stay with us.
Though the resort and its setting offers a very calming and relaxing effect by itself,we have activities lined up to cater to various segments of our guests who may have different interests.
The activities are more geared towards the little ones engaged.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I must say that I was overwhelmed with the service at this Taj property which I can confidently say that it was one of the best I have ever experienced.
The cottages were spacious and offer an excellent view of tha lake which is within the property.
I want to like to say a special thanks to Mr Murali Krishnadas who went out of his way on all the 4 days that we were there to make sure we enjoyed our meals. I was travelling with my 2 year old daughter, wife and parents. Mr Murali ensured that my daughter gets her khichdi just the way she likes it. He also realized that my mother was not comfortable with the buffet spread so he got some light veg preparations to make her feel comfortable.
Further, I must say all the staff gave us excellent service with a smile on thier face.
We enjoyed the boat rides in the evening and all the cultural activites in the hotel. Infact we just stepped out once out of the property to visit Kottayam otherwise we were very content to stay indoors and enjoy the property which is spread over 15 acres.
There are bicycles available for the guests whic makes it very convenient to go around the property and the hotel organizes lot of activities to keep the guests busy
I would strongly recommend this place to any one who is travelling with either children or elders.
Truly enjoyed my stay and would like to thank the team at Taj Kumarakom who went out of thier way to ensure we had a good time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niyuami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Guest,

We are indeed delighted to note that we could make the vacation memorable for you and your family.Our endevour is to ensure that every member of the family is looked after in some manner or the other especially the little ones because if the little ones are cared for,the parents are rid of half their worries.
Look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a great time staying at Taj Vivanta in Kumarakom. Its a very calm and quite place and their service is very good. I would suggest staying at the cottage rather than taking an expensive villa.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hydcompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.You are indeed right in stating that our cottages are in fact as beautiful as the villas because of the setting and the ambience they offer.
We are glad you had a wonderful time with us
Look forward to welcome you back to the resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
639 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing