We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj
Nearby Hotels
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$574
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$448
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aveda Kumarakom(Kumarakom)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Fields Kumarakom(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coconut Lagoon(Kumarakom)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cocobay Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Palace Family Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$20
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$18
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paradise Resorts(Kumarakom)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,333)
Filter reviews
1,333 results
Traveller rating
894
300
75
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
300
75
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjayanta daspremium temptationbird sanctuarydeluxe allure villavembanad lakeoil lampsrabbitevery eveningboat ridefish feedingheritage propertyopen restaurantthe general managergm mrmain buildingchaiprivate pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
771 - 776 of 1,333 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Superb property of the Taj ! It has only 28 rooms so book much in advance...few rooms have a pool too..few have an open shower...rooms are very clean n beautiful.
The staff surprised us by getting us to cut a cake for our anniversary...they did this for all who were celebrating some occasion. That's what I like about the Taj...they make you feel special ..
The staff is exceptional. .kudos!
There are 2 restaurants. .food is very good!
Greenery all around...surrounded by nature..
Hotel offers complimentary boat ride on the lake ..
On the whole a fabulous experience at the Vivanta by Taj !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SanJai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at the Vivanta by Taj Kumarakom for 5 days in December 2013 and enjoyed every minute. As everyone has said, the property is so beautiful and tranquil, meaning that you can truly relax. The General Manager, Mr Jayanta Das makes the effort to know every guest by name and his attention to detail is superb. Our stay was also enhanced by Mr Prince, the Food and Beverage Manager and Chef Shahab, who gave their personal recommendations from the extensive menus. Chef's daily cookery demonstrations are well worth while and inspired us to bring some tastes of Kerala back to the UK. Don't believe any reviews that criticise the food, we have eaten all over India and not found better, even at the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai!
Our only slight criticism was of the room. It was in the main building and enormous, with a small dining room and two bathrooms, but had no external windows, so we couldn't enjoy the wonderful views of the lake. It also smelled of wood preservative or mothballs, which was slightly disconcerting, but not unpleasant. For our next visit, we will select one of the lakeside villas.
The complimentary boat trip on the lake was good, but for the real Keralan backwaters experience, take the speedboat tour, which was brilliant with so much wildlife to see - kingfishers everywhere and even goats in a boat, it was so much better than the bird sanctuary and we didn't have to get up at 6.00am to see the best of it.

Room Tip: Villas are better than the main hotel and in our opinion the lakeside ones are probably the best value
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Taj Vivanta is a Very Good Hotel and we enjoyed our 3 night stay thoroughly! However, this stay was further transformed into a memorable experience because of the following reasons :

* Personal Leadership of GM, Jayanta Das - He was clearly involved in both the flawless running of the resort and also taking time to interact with each guest individually. He welcomed us, helped upgrade us to the Villa rooms, advised us on the must-dos on the resort and helped us at each stage of our stay. A great ambassador for the Taj Group and with a great sense of humour.
* Hospitable staff - Kudos to Selva & Prince from the restaurant and Raveendran, the activity coordinator. And so many more
* Activity oriented resort - Kids loved the multiple activities - boating, fishing, pottery & feeding the ducks, geese & rabbit.
* Lovely spot on the lake with their own jetty - we did the complimentary sunset cruise; a day cruise through the resort and a short shikara ride through the smaller canals
* The resort shares its boundary with the Bird sanctuary and it is great experience to walk down to the bird sanctuary in the morning and click some amazing pictures
* The spa is basic but the massages are very good; dont miss out and book early as they only have 2 rooms
* Dont miss the evening tea sessions at the lakeside - great conversations over a memorable sunset
* Spacious Villa rooms with open air bathrooms; sitouts & indoor seating area

All in all, a memorable vacation and I will surely be back- just for the sake of the incredible staff

Room Tip: Villa Rooms are worth the price!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RakeshShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I were married in Kumarakom in Jan 2014 and held our mendhi/previous night dinner event at the Taj Vivanta Kumarakom. Some of our guests also stayed at the Taj, even though the event was held at another resort in Kumarakom.

We were originally attracted to the Taj Kumarakom because of its small size and beautiful, rustic grounds. The grounds are adjacent to a bird sanctuary and the overgrown, nature-inspired look of the grounds of the resort bridges the two spaces well. The back lawn on the lake is breathtaking and was the perfect spot for our event which took place in the late afternoon and into evening, taking advantage of the gorgeous sunset. The only downside of holding the event on the back lawn was that there were no public bathrooms in the area, so all our guests had to tramp through one of our guests rooms.

The resort was helpful in accommodating our requests, including upgrading some of our guests to much nicer rooms near the location of the event (probably because of the poorly planned bathroom situation, but regardless the upgrade was appreciated). The suite rooms with private pools are spectacular. Not only are the amenities of the rooms lovely, but the traditional/authentic decor is stylish and lovely. The standard rooms along the lagoon are larger than normal hotel rooms, which was nice, but they were not stylish the way the suites were.

The resort is much smaller than other resorts in the area, which makes planning an event here a bit difficult. The staff at the resort were not able to plan the event details so we were put in touch with an event planner for details like the tent, tables, chairs, lighting, decor, etc. The planner was good- very precise and responsive and clearly had a strong relationship with the resort and good knowledge of the local area and how to source things.

My only disappointment with both the planner and the Taj was that there were unanticipated costs associated with almost every aspect of the event. Food and drink were more expensive than expected, the location was more expensive because of transport costs to the back side of the resort, etc. Discussions about price were not very transparent from the start and there was little room for negotiation (which was surprising for an event of the size, especially given the other resort we held events at were much more accommodating about this kind of thing) so we felt a little duped at the end of it all.

The absolute highlight of the place is the food. I cannot recommend the chef highly enough. We stuck with a traditional Kerala style menu for the event and it was excellent. I think all our guests ate double what they expected. I dream of the beet root pachadi and beef fry. The food was better than home cooking, better than any other hotel or restaurant i've been to in Kerala. It is reason enough to visit!

Despite some plusses and some minuses, we were really happy with our decision to hold the event at the Taj Vivanta and happy with the service we received overall! Thank you to Prince, Aaaron and the rest of the team!

Room Tip: The suites with private pools are expensive but really lovely!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nan1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here in January 2013........this place is so beautiful and we enjoyed it a lot........rooms are very spacious, neat and clean.......we were fortunate to get an up gradation to villa room and that was truly amazing experience......food was ok.......service was very good and all staff were very polite and helpful....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shishir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews