We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freedom.. space... and piece....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Doha,, Qatar
Level Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“freedom.. space... and piece....”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a two days stay in this property.
The Reception was simply great. Great walking track and evening sunset view with hot local dish (bajji, Pakodas and tea) was an experience.
Gym is not up to the mark. Spa had fewer staff and needs improvement. Food was good.
Recommend stay in high end private villa with attached mini swimming pool, if you desire exclusive luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chidambaranatha... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    262
    63
    23
    29
See reviews for
519
465
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It's been a long overdue. Stayed with extended family for 5 days, last April. Stayed in the heritage room. Rooms were big, old fashioned, but very comfortable. In fact my kids really enjoyed it. The resort was big, has a large man made lagoon in the middle with facility for boating. But the best part was location, bang on the vembanad lake. Superb lake view and boating facility.
The breakfast was good. The Baker house dinner was also good. But very few veg dishes. Plenty of seafood options.
Plenty of options.one I recommend is the lunch cruise on the Vembanad lake. Not to be missed. Was bit pricey was the boat was very good. Double decker ship with AC option, necessary for hot afternoon. The food was very tasty, home cooked. Served in the dining hall. The cruise was the best. Finished with evening tea. Also next door is the Salim Ali bird sanctuary. Worth the visit. Need to walk for half hour to reach the watch tower, but good.
On the whole very good family vacation.

Room Tip: If possible stay in the heritage pool villa. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dockumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Md. USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our first visit to this part of India and we were not disappointed. It's not posh and luxurious like the Taj Palace in Delhi but it is beautifully situated with a great restaurant and attentive staff. We took the small boat ride thru the canals and then 2 boat rides on the big lake. We spent 4 nights here just relaxing and unwinding after a busy business conference in Delhi.
It is 3 hours by plane from Delhi to Cochin, and then 2 more hours by car to the hotel. Service is outstanding and the food is great, with a very large menu with just about everything for every taste. We stuck with the local fish and shrimp dishes and the wonderful fried breads. The manager of the hotel is so attentive and suggests dishes that he thinks you might like. All were
delicious. Definitely try the peach iced tea! My husband said the Ayurvedic massage was more like a rubdown with oils, not a real massage, so that was a disappointment for him. Otherwise, we had a great time. If you want to splurge, rent a villa. We did for 2 nights.

Room Tip: The AC units in the main building rooms tend to be noisy but we could sleep. The rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxiePotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Everything about this place was a disappointment.

My travelling companion and I arrived at this hotel expecting something pretty good. We had booked two 'heritage' rooms in the main hotel building, and from the time we arrived it was clear that we had got it badly wrong in terms of expectations. Heritage it certainly was not!

The hotel has been refurbished, though defurbished might be a better way to describe it. If you like a lot of matt black paint, lilac, purple, and gold in a lake-side setting - well fine. Except the hotel isn't actually by the lake. You cant see the lake from any of the hotel rooms or buildings, and the grounds and artificial lakes and ponds are tired, dirty, and frankly rather depressing to look at.

The swimming pool was large, tired with cracked tiles and sporting an unkempt and rather sad feel. The pool bar/outlet was firmly closed and there were no staff or guests anywhere in sight.

We did what I suspect quite a lot of other guests have done. We made our way half a mile down the road to the Lake Kumarakom Resort Hotel for a drink and supper - which by contrast did meet our expectations, and we checked out of the Taj and into the Lake Resort hotel the next day. Problem sorted!

Room Tip: Avoid the heritage rooms at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7153Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It is one of the best properties that I have been to…. spread-out yet compact, clean, well maintained and superb staff !!
Maintaining a property with water bodies (that are shared), is quite a task and the Taj team does it very well !!
There is a boat-cruise in the evenings which takes you for a one-hour ride in the Vembanad Lake which is definitely not to miss. There is a tea-with-snacks organised for all after the boat cruise which gives you a chance interact with the fellow guests & hotel staff on a personal basis.
There are other array of activities- paddle-boat in the lagoon, clay modelling, fish feeding and lots more.
You can take a canal cruise in the morning which is part of 'community connect'… we certainly enjoyed it !!
Food is good.
Spa & massage centre could be better !!
All in all, one doesn't need to step out of the resort !!

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms next to the lagoon !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeetSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I hardly write reviews on hotels, and I've travelled the world vastly. But this hotel, service, location everything was magical. Watching the sunset by the lake and enjoying traditional tea was so beautiful and relaxing. Simple yet stunning! Worth a visit you will love it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soyum222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing property,breathtaking views, wonderful staff with exceptional service. Kids loved the pottery and fishing while we enjoyed the most delicious sea food on earth. The general manager Jayant Das is a gem of a personality who ensured all guests are well taken care off.

We so much fell in love with the experience that we extended our stay for one day and literally didn't step out of the property during the 3 day stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vikas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing